We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WONDEFUL TRIP”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

The hotel was fantastic. It was located where we could go, and visit our families with with ease.
The staff was extremely wonderful everytime we stayed there. The rooms were lovely.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JA95606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    107
    36
    22
    11
See reviews for
219
56
20
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed in a 2-bedroom, 2-bath suite on a AAA-room rate during Spring Break. This hotel is not far from the University of Delaware campus and from downtown Newark, DE which has many eateries/stores thanks to the college students in the area. It's a little further from the main tourist attractions in the Wilmington-area, but my family decided the larger room size (we have a family of five with three teens) and indoor pool was a worthy tradeoff. Hotel was not as "busy" as the larger chains during our stay, which we definitely preferred.

Room was very well appointed and clean. (Hi-Def) LCD TVs in every room, 1 King Bed, 2 Queens, small kitchen, living room.

The hotel recently upgraded the gym to include a few Precor exercise machines, as well as free weights.

The pool was very clean and very clear. The pool employee was obsessed with keeping the water in very good condition for hotel guests (that's a GOOD THING).

The weekday evening manager's reception was enough to have for dinner and was among the best we have had at any Homewood Suites we have stayed at. Beer and wine (2-drink limit) were included.

The daily breakfast was a good assortment of hot and cold items and had enough that everyone found something to like.

The employees tending the evening reception and breakfast area really tried to make you happy (I thought a nice gesture in return was leaving a gratuity at each meal).

Overall, highly recommend this hotel. Definitely a very good hotel value.

Room Tip: Don't forget to use your AAA card when booking to get a better rate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SW-NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

This hotel was very nice! I stayed here for two nights- I love the suites, great for business travel (not just stuffed in one room). The breakfast in the morning was quite nice- everyone working there were friendly and helpful in whatever way. The location is pretty good- not that many restaurants around - but you are close to the highway. I would stay here again if I was in the area!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel8363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Just like any other hotel but not dirty, gross, or very bad. Soft water in shower makes for a slippery shower. Be certain to have breakfast before 10:00 p.m. because after that, the staff gets a little prickly. Toilet stopped up at around eleven at night and we called the staff and they came in about two minutes, and when we offered to plunge it ourselves but he insisted he do it which was nice. Also we were missing a blanket for the sofa bed at midnight and they came up immediately. An overall good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reneaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

This wasn't my first trip to Newark but it was my first stay in the Homewood Suites. I was very impressed by the staff from the front desk clerk to housekeeping to the general manager. Everyone I interacted with was friendly, courteous and definitely out to make my stay as pleasant and productive as possible. The room was spacious, well laid-out and very comfortable. I have recommended this hotel to my business associates as the best place to stay for our project work in Newark and I will look for Homewood Suites in my future travels.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC Area
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Our party (3 adults and two kids) stayed overnight here on our way to visiting Philadelphia for the weekend. We had a very comfortable two-bedroom suite (king in one room, 2 queens in the other). The location is convenient to the highway and to the University of Delaware campus. You can't really walk to anything, but there is a TGIFridays right in the parking lot.

We arrived around 10 p.m., and appreciated that the indoor pool was open until midnight, as the kids and I got in a quick swim, which released some pent-up energy from the drive. Officially after 10 p.m. it's adults only, but we were the only ones there.

Good-sized flat-panel TVs in both bedrooms and in the sitting room area. There was a delay each time you changed channels which was a bit irritating.

The beds were quite comfortable. The shower was a little weak (the diverter was not 100% effective so some water continued to come out of the tub spout), but acceptable.

Breakfast was a perfectly acceptable, if not particularly special, buffet with waffles (make your own), scrambled eggs (one with meat, one without), bacon, sausage, fruit, yogurt, toast, etc.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DancingBearMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irene f, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you for your feedback. It is comments like yours that help our Team achieve the quality service expected. I retrieved your room number from our reservation system so that our Maintenance Engineer could verify the bathroom shower system to ensure it is working properly. Our goal is to deliver highly-personalized exceptional service to each of our guests. I was pleased to read that you scored our property so well.

Again, thank you for selecting the Homewood Suites Newark, Delaware we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

My husband and I needed a comfortable place to stay in Newark, DE during the birth of our second grandson and hospitalization of our daughter. My husband had previously stayed at a Homewood Suites while traveling for business and recommended that we try to find one close to the hospital in Newark. This hotel was fabulous, it was clean, comfortable and the breakfast and managers receptions made it a great time saver. The staff went over and above to meet our every need so we had absolutely nothing to worry about but being with our family during this happy time. I highly recommend this hotel and we will stay there again when we visit.

Room Tip: The king suite was the perfect size for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irene f, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you for your feedback and Congratulations on the birth of your Grandson! It is comments like yours that help our Team achieve the quality service expected. Thank you for the favorable score.

Again, thank you for selecting the Homewood Suites Newark, Delaware and we hope that you continue to stay with us when visiting the Newark area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
5.5 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
Address: 640 S College Ave, Newark, DE 19713-1315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newark
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#2 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Newark/Wilmington South Hotel Newark
Homewood Newark
Newark Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing