We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for an easy rest.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good place for an easy rest.”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

My wife and I just stayed at this property while traveling back to our home from visiting relatives during the holiday season. Our overall impression was great. There were a few small issues, but nothing out of the ordinary.
The first issue that was more of an annoyance than anything was the static electricity that built on us while just walking down the hall. The Hotel has beautiful new carpets. The problem is that in my walk from my door to the elevator, a huge static cling would build up, which would then discharge as soon as I touched the elevator call button. Maybe I was dragging my feet too much. This though was a minor annoyance that will likely fix itself over time as the carpets wear a little or I learn to take higher steps.
The only other issue was that we specifically requested a crib for our daughter and instead had a roll-away bed waiting for us. I called the front desk and they fixed the issue immediately.
There were plenty of good things to say about the hotel and its staff. All staff were quite courteous and approachable. They were also very responsive to any requests we had.
The hotel was extremely well kept up. The room was clean and the bathroom was spotless. Considering dinner and breakfast are included on weekdays, the price was also a good deal. This especially goes for travelers with kids who don't want to fork out $50+ just to have to drive somewhere and buy food at a restaurant.
Overall, I really liked this place and would definetely stop back if I am going through the Wilmington Area again.

Room Tip: Get a suite, there doors to the outside hall way are not that well insulated. A suite would give yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank X61624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    112
    40
    22
    14
See reviews for
236
59
20
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Room was very clean with many amenities . Food and food service very good. Front desk people nicest ever encountered. Highly recommend staying here to all travelers, as it is close to highway exit and close to UD.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnRino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Stopped in on the Dec. 27th on our way to D.C. Rooms were in very nice shape, very clean. Front desk was helpful and courteous. Pool was clean and not over chlorinated. Breakfast was very good, though they did take away the waffle maker early that day. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmocjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Daniella and Carla were fabulous! They made us feel like family! The home cooked breakfast was excellent! We had a large family Christmas gathering and felt very comfortable. Rooms were very clean. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdmuchowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2012

I travel to Wilmington on a weekly basis and prefer the Homewood Suites in Newark. The rooms are perfect- huge, comfortable, fridge, microwave, stove, two TVs, etc. Plus you get a complimentary breakfast and dinner in the lobby. They post the dinner schedule on the fridge so you can make up your mind beforehand. The staff is great, especially Bobbi in the morning. They truly make you feel at home, and that's important considering I am never at my actual home. That alone will bring me back here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nando_D511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Great service, Room was very clean... The young lady who manages the Breakfast I believe her name was Bobby was terrific. Rooms are very well kept and well appointed-- Well done all the way around. I had a king suite with a full kitchen area... although I didnt personally use it I can certainly see where it would come in handy for anyone staying for a longer period of time

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

I stayed there for almost three weeks. Very nice place. Free breakfast and free dinner (mon-thurs) was a great addition to an already great place. Friendly staff, great lady working the kitchen during dinner. Friendly, great service!!! Comfortable rooms. Washer dryer and a very small convenience store on site. Going back to DE in six months. Will stay there again! Close to I-95. Last exit southbound before toll booths!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlmostAProAtThis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
262 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
Address: 640 S College Ave, Newark, DE 19713-1315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newark
#2 Business Hotel in Newark
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Newark/Wilmington South Hotel Newark
Homewood Newark
Newark Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing