We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Catonsville, Md
2 reviews
“Great Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was the perfect family getaway. The hotel is clean, staff were helpful and friendly. We drove in from Maryland and met other family members from Jersey. We enjoyed the indoor pool all weekend. Christiana Mall is only 10 minutes away with great shopping and several nice restaurants. We will visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank JL A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    112
    41
    22
    15
See reviews for
237
59
20
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Hiawatha, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed at Hotel for a Hockey Tournament and Hotel was Clean, Breakfast was good. People were friendly. There is a TGI Fridays Next Door and Hotel is right across from the University of Delaware. Not much other things to do for the kids other than Movie theater / Hockey / or Campus activities...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Shaun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is our third time staying at Homewood Suites in Newark on our way back from Florida. We love staying here as it is very comfortable and clean. We enjoyed the manager's dinner and the breakfast that has so much choice. We are travelling with our pet and this place is just great compared to other hotels that accept pets. The staff is very nice and helpful. We certainly will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quebec123go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Homewood Suites was one of my favorite hotels to stay in in the Newark area. The hotel itself is very clean and all of the staff are helpful. The majority of the rooms are modern and every room has a full size refrigerator and a microwave, perfect for a longer term stay. The hotel is right off the University of Delaware's campus, so if you're in Newark for that purpose, the location is great. All guests get a free buffet style breakfast and dinner, which is by no means a five star meal, but is perfectly good enough for a hotel of this class. Overall, not a bad thing to say about the Homewood.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

A really nasty odor greets you as soon as you open the front doors and continues into the lobby. Not sure if its from the kitchen, carpet, or air conditioning. Maybe a combination of all three. It smells like mildewed gym socks that a fisherman was wearing a long time. We remarked to the front desk person and all she said was, "Really? I dont smell anything." Now a top hotel would apologize and at least get housekeeping to spray some Febreeze around. But she just seemed annoyed with us mentioning it. When I bought things from the Suite Shop I never got a smile or a thankyou. Again it seemed she was just annoyed with me interrupting her other more important work.

The front door was dirty with lots of old hand prints and rather than stripping the old paint over the years they had just painted over paint. Lots of old chips and the door had been painted so many times they didnt even seem to fit right. Horrible first impression.

The room was fine but probably getting close to needing an update.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Falconfixer86261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The staff at this Homewood is absolutely great! The facilities are very nice - typical Homewoods...but the service of the employees is what really sets this hotel apart! Would definitely stay here anytime I am working in the area!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank jimjeanjessi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We were in town for a wedding and stayed overnight. Really nice hotel, nice staff. Our room was not ready, but they upgraded us to a King Suite and it was very nice. I would request an upper floor, there is some noise in the neighborhood since it is in a busy hotel area. My only concern is that the tub was extremely slippery, and could use some sort of preventative measure put in to help people from sliding. Just a thought.

Room Tip: Room 614 was a King Suite and quite nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M3Mechanicsburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
5.5 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Newark South
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
Address: 640 S College Ave, Newark, DE 19713-1315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newark
#2 Business Hotel in Newark
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Newark/Wilmington South Hotel Newark
Homewood Newark
Newark Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing