We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You eat here once and you come again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ali Baba

Ali Baba
Ranked #14 of 353 Restaurants in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$16
Cuisines: Israeli, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You eat here once and you come again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

The food here is awesome. I'm a die hard fan of their hommus, morrocon chicken and kofta kabob. They are just mind blowing. The ambience gives you a middle eastern touch. I love this place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Athie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    28
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bear
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food and Entertainment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

If you like Middle Eastern food, then this place has wonderful authentic cuisine, and plenty of it!
You might catch the exotic Belly Dancer show on the weekends, and reservations are strongly recommended since the place is small.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joyce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
231 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

As soon as we entered I felt transported to the Middle East. The decorations, music, smells, guests, staff...and oh the food! It reminded me of a college study abroad experience through Jordan and Israel in the early 80's.

The small tables made for an intimate squeeze.

Hookah bar adds to the novelty.

Tabbouleh: Fresh and zesty
Parsley, tomato and onions

Chicken schwarma ($? - not sure because our out-of-town friend grabbed the check...I'd didn't fight hard for it)
(Insider tip, this is not on menu, ask with a smile)
Perfectly seasoned chicken, crunchy on outside, tender in middle

Hummus: smooth and tasty
Sadly, because the service was a bit slow, the Pita bread got stale, but the first half was warm and chewy.

The unknown white dipping sauce offered a deliciously powerful garlic punch.

Shrimp kabob: ($16)
Thoroughly enjoyed the two sticks of grilled plump, moist butterflied shrimp with peppers, onions and cherry tomatoes.

We left 'fat & happy'.



Helpful?
1 Thank Mpfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Middle Eastern Cuisine and Good Times”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

This is one of my favorite little finds on Main Street Newark. The food is fantastic and the prices decent. Nice décor and good atmosphere. The customer service is great and staff very personable. They have hookah available as well for a comfortable evening of socialization in their outdoor seating.
Try the Baklava!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SadWhiteWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
130 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“great Food; Warm and friendly service!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Our family absolutely loves this place. we've tried almost every dish and have yet to be disappointed! The owners and wait staff are personable yet professional.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Redreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ali Baba also viewed

 

Been to Ali Baba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing