We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious middle Eastern dishes”
Review of Ali Baba

Ali Baba
Ranked #14 of 355 Restaurants in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$16
Cuisines: Israeli, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious middle Eastern dishes”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We were looking for something unusual for dinner and were glad we found this listing. It was even better than what the other reviews suggested. Cushioned banquettes and stools around ornately decorated tables create a great atmosphere. We noticed other diners had their tables piled with so much food, they had to take home several containers. The portions are very generous. We ordered the vegetable platter and were impressed by the wonderful flavors of the Baba Ganoush and stuffed grape leaves especially. Then the two of us shared a marinated chicken dish. No leftovers for us.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Annette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    29
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You eat here once and you come again!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

The food here is awesome. I'm a die hard fan of their hommus, morrocon chicken and kofta kabob. They are just mind blowing. The ambience gives you a middle eastern touch. I love this place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Athie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bear
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food and Entertainment”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

If you like Middle Eastern food, then this place has wonderful authentic cuisine, and plenty of it!
You might catch the exotic Belly Dancer show on the weekends, and reservations are strongly recommended since the place is small.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joyce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
238 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

As soon as we entered I felt transported to the Middle East. The decorations, music, smells, guests, staff...and oh the food! It reminded me of a college study abroad experience through Jordan and Israel in the early 80's.

The small tables made for an intimate squeeze.

Hookah bar adds to the novelty.

Tabbouleh: Fresh and zesty
Parsley, tomato and onions

Chicken schwarma ($? - not sure because our out-of-town friend grabbed the check...I'd didn't fight hard for it)
(Insider tip, this is not on menu, ask with a smile)
Perfectly seasoned chicken, crunchy on outside, tender in middle

Hummus: smooth and tasty
Sadly, because the service was a bit slow, the Pita bread got stale, but the first half was warm and chewy.

The unknown white dipping sauce offered a deliciously powerful garlic punch.

Shrimp kabob: ($16)
Thoroughly enjoyed the two sticks of grilled plump, moist butterflied shrimp with peppers, onions and cherry tomatoes.

We left 'fat & happy'.



Helpful?
1 Thank Mpfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Middle Eastern Cuisine and Good Times”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This is one of my favorite little finds on Main Street Newark. The food is fantastic and the prices decent. Nice décor and good atmosphere. The customer service is great and staff very personable. They have hookah available as well for a comfortable evening of socialization in their outdoor seating.
Try the Baklava!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SadWhiteWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ali Baba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing