We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stink Bugs /But Good Management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The Staff was very pleasant .But the stink bugs were out of control, i had like 4 in the room. But the Hotel accommodated us and apologize for insects and gave me an my family an extra night stay.
I tell management truly can make or break a Hotel

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed for two nights and although there were no major problems, we weren't thrilled with the hotel. The room was very small compared to other Courtyard Inns, the internet is wired which is inconvenient at best, but when your computer does not have an ethernet port, you can't connect to the internet at all. A call to the front desk offered no apology or alternatives. The TV also went out one night, but a call to the front desk resulted in it coming back on in a few minutes. The TV was also off to the side, so you had to turn to watch it in bed, because it wasn't straight ahead. If you need to be in this location, the hotel is fine, but if you don't, I would look into other alternatives.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWM310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jason_abbey, Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry you were disappointed in our lack of wireless internet in the room. Since your stay we have installed wifi in all the rooms, as well as our pool area, courtyard and lobby area. Additionally, we added fiberoptic cables to increase the bandwidth of the hotel to assure our guests will have the speed they need. This installation was completed on May 19, 2012. Please contact me at jason.abbey@marriott.com if there is anything I can help you with in the future.
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Easy access to the highway and was in a good location for me. Staff was very pleasant and accommodating.

Top on my list is that it was very clean; bathrooms and sleeping area. . refrigerator in the room. Free internet..wired in the room ..wireless in the lobby...

A very good hotel for the price

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VoyageursNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I stayed here in Novenber 2011 and was very impressed. Then I needed to stay here this past week for one night and my experience was totally different.
When I checked in I was not welcomed. I walked to the desk the woman said "name" I gave it to her she handed me the key and said "you should park around back that entrance is cloer to your room"
I know this is not coming across the way it happened but she was cold and had to inflection in her voice. Parking around back and using the rear door was a bit scary.
I probably will go back just because I want the Marriott points but I wish there was another hotel closeby.

Room Tip: If you are traveling alone. Request a room that is near the main entrance. Had to walk past men slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LazyShore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jason_abbey, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

I'm very sorry that you experienced such an unwarm welcome. We take great pride in our service and this is definitely not the first impression we want to give any of our guests. I would greatly appreciate it if you could contact me directly at jason.abbey@marriott.com or by phone at 302-456-3800 ext. 601 so that I can better understand what happened and follow up with my staff.

Sincerely,
Jason Abbey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I stayed at this Courtyard at the beginning of 2012. It is a nice property with a newly-renovated lobby and Bistro Cafe as well as a pool and other amenities. My room was the smallest I have ever had at a Courtyard, but was quite nice. The Bistro is convenient for drinks, light dinner, and breakfast. Check-in and check-out are a breeze.

The only problem that I had was with the complimentary internet and TV in my room, which are provided by LodgeNet. The TV signal was terrible, and I could not get online. These rooms have complimentary wired internet, which I have used at other Courtyards.

When I went out to dinner, I told the front desk person about the TV, and she said that she would call LodgeNet. After I returned, there was no change in the TV reception--until I moved the TV! The internet connection was not working at all. Contacted the not very friendly front desk person, who finally did contact LodgeNet, which did a tech support call. I was able to connect that night, but not the next morning. Why advertise complimentary internet if you cannot fulfill that claim? The usual instruction card was missing as well.

I had breakfast as part of my room package, and it was terrific--and packed up for me to take along on my assignment. The staff at the bistro was very warm and welcoming.

I told the morning front desk person about my problem when I checked out, and she added points to my Marriott account, and also informed me that there will be in-room wireless soon. I hope so--I plan to return there in the next couple of months for business. I also hope the evening staff person gets an attitude adjustment, or another job where she does not have to be on the front line.

It's a very nice property and a terrific value.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrPWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed one night on the 3rd floor. Room is on the small side but had everything I needed. If I was staying more than a night or two or had someone else with me I would have requested a larger room. Is nice to check in to a hotel and be treated like a VIP--cudos to a great staff.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have balconies--you must request one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LazyShore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We spent three nights here over the Columbus Day weekend while visiting our daughter and family in Wilmington. While the rooms are somewhat small, they are immaculate and most have balconies. I observed one of the housekeeping staff and she was meticulous in her cleaning tasks. The lobby has been recently renovated and is lovely---several types of seating arrangements with tv's, free Starbucks coffee, etc. The breakfasts were good and the staff is very cordial. The pool and fitness areas were very clean. We'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
0.2 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Newark
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
5.7 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall

Address: 48 Geoffrey Dr, Newark, DE 19713-3603
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range: £75 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Courtyard Wilmington Newark Hotel near Christiana Mall provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. Our Newark, Delaware hotel lobby features inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our new Newark, Delaware hotel lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect., providing guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Located just off I-95, our Newark hotel near Delaware Park is just minutes to shopping, dining and entertainment attractions at the Christiana Mall, revitalized Main Street in downtown Newark and plenty of family activities near Wilmington. Each of our spacious hotel rooms feature Marriott bedding, large workspaces and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Your stay at the Courtyard Wilmington Newark, Delaware Hotel is sure to be more comfortable and productive than ever before! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall Hotel Newark
Courtyard Newark
Newark Courtyard
Newark Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing