We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveller rating
214
92
37
25
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
92
37
25
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred roofhoward johnsonfront deskroom was cleanlove stayingwafflesthe general managerneeded a place to stayrooms are nicenice breakfastgreat customer servicecleaning staffgreat place to staynon smoking roomcoffee makercontinental breakfastthe breakfast area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
340 - 345 of 401 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Room was very clean, staff was friendly and polite, and had a nice spread for breakfast including hot and continental items. It was a nice place to find for the price. We checked in late and the bed was comfortable enough that we fell asleep almost immediately.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard Johnson N, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We always enjoy hearing about someone who had a nice stay and will be back to visit us again. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

One of the best places to stay in the area for a very good price. Would recommend it to anyone. The people at the front desk are very polite and are always happy to assist you. The rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xc800tm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard Johnson N, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Clean, comfortable with friendly team members.... that's us! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed there on the weekend visiting my son. The rate was great and close to UD.The room was clean and spacious. Our room service experience was positive and they could not have been more accommodating. Excellent service at check-in, I believe Sara assisted us. She was very helpful, most efficient, and patient. We didn’t get breakfast in house so I don’t have any comment.
I will stay there again and recommend it to travelers.

Room Tip: Confusing building. I know our room was on the second floor closer to entrance 2.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank madeline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard Johnson N, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for such a wonderful review! Sara takes good care of our guests and always has a smile. Maybe next time you visit you'll have breakfast with us. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

on the way to NJ shore we booked 1 night at this place at which time we advised of late chk-in. get into room...no sheets on beds, everything was a mess in there..back to desk, apologies, into another room on another floor. some guys dirty sock on floor, bathroom cleaning has been poorly done for a while (brown urine around the toilet and behind) 1 towel !!! (we were 6) rusting bath, awfull blanket for pullout sofa..looked as it had been used in the parking lot or something!!..nxt morning we could see how dirty windows were...kids and dog like..fingers streaks and whatnot...breakfast..was just okay. there was an employee standing there..we all had to tell her that this and that was empty, carpeting there was full of crumbs...so many that they were from yesterday cause we were among firsts at buffet. Wi-Fi sucked. Happy this wasn't my vacation..will never stop there again, and now have a bad opinion of red roof inns all around!.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank celinej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard Johnson N, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time. I apologize that you didn't have a good experience with our hotel. We would like to invite you back and if you can please call me, I'll personally take care of your reservations. You're next stay with us will be quite a difference experience. ~Roxanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Red Roof Inn an... N, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews