We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid, reliable business hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Branchville, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Solid, reliable business hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Like a lot of Residence Inns, it is a good hotel with comfortable rooms and friendly, unassuming service. The staff was warm and helpful, the breakfast was reasonable.

Despite being located next to a freeway, the hotel rooms are fairly quiet, and it provides easy access. It would also be a good choice for someone who was driving up I95 to stop for the night, and much more reasonably priced than hotels in the DC or Philadelphia area, although it is not commutable from either one. Easy commute to northern Maryland.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor in one of the middle buildings are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SShimeall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    35
    28
    18
    6
See reviews for
45
18
6
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

This was my first time staying at this hotel. I drove by it plenty of times and even chose to stay at other hotels instead; mistake on my part because this hotel is great. We had 2 suites; a 2 bedroom and a 1 bedroom. I've stayed at several other extended stay hotels in the area, and this hotel definitely stands out. The rooms are very clean and spacious. They feel and look like your own mini apartment. The 2 bedroom suite has an upstairs loft; which makes for even more space. The rooms have a FULL kitchen complete with normal size 4 burner stove as well as an oven. Each room has a flat screen and the beds are very comfortable. The living room has a pullout sofa for extra sleeping space. There is a basketball court, gym, laundry facility, and outdoor pool. Next to the pool there are additional tables and chairs overlooking a mini pond. The kids loved looking at the turtles in the pond while we sat outside eating dinner. I love the outside entrance to each room, but what stood out for me was the staff. Each person I came in contact with was extremely friendly, polite, and went out of their way to help a guest. I had issues at other extended stay hotels with extending our stay if an event was in town. The management here went above and beyond to make that process of extending our stay stress free. Since losing our home to a flood its been hard on my children, but staying here has made the situation a lot easier to deal with. I would MOST DEFINITELY recommend this hotel to anyone with a family or someone looking for a great place to stay on business.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaybay302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

I was on a weekend trip just relaxing and driving along the Delaware coast and decided to stay near New Castle. This hotel was near by and I had some Marriot points. The staff was young, probably students from the near by school, but very helpful and professional. When I signed in I had to sign a notice stating I understood their noise policy. I guess it's designed to keep party animal and loud college kids away. The property was of the beat of path but not remote; nice plants and pond. I walked around to stretch my legs and was glad Residence Inn kept the old style properties like this once; very nice and relaxing. The room was nice but the AC was a little loud. The only problem I had was breakfast was a little late; there were people standing around waiting for one person to prep the breakfast. Perhaps the front desk could have helped out. All in all, good stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Last weekend we checked into the hotel for my son's lacrosse tournament. I usually don't write reviews about standardized chains but the pleasent experience compelled me to write. the grounds of the hotel were beautifully maintained - really nice flowers. WE were given a choice of a large bag of potato chips upon check-in. The two bedroom lofted suite is what you would expect from a nicely maintained residence Inn. But frankly what made the stay so unexpected was the staff. From the lovely women who handled breakfast -- helping you out, on-top of cleaning, etc; to the front desk who responded promptly to an issue with a "running" toilet; to a third staff who helped out a little kid get a bucket of ice --- it really made a difference.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendallwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

great service the accommodations where clean and comfortable. the rooms are very large and have a real wood fire place. the hotel has a nice basketball court. the staff was very friendly and accommodating overall a great experience

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linlan60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Convenient location off of I-95, but you could hear the traffic from our room. The bed was very comfortable and clean, but the carpet and bathroom floors were not. Front desk staff was very pleasant at check-in, but when we asked about late checkout on Sunday morning, we were told none was available. I'm a 10-year Elite member of Marriott, and that combined with a 3/4 empty parking lot at the property... that response surprised me.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HockeyAndTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Upon arriving I was upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite because they had ran out of 2 queen suite. The room was soo nice it felt like a little apartment. It had 2 baths and 2 bedrooms with a little kitchen area. It is close to highways. I try to stay here every time I come down to DE.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FloLala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#5 of 24 in Newark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
3.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Wilmington Newark/Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana

Property: Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana
Address: 240 Chapman Road, Newark, DE 19702
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Wilmington Newark Hotel Newark
Residence Inn Newark
Newark Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing