We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible staff and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Incredible staff and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The staff in this hotel will make you feel like their most important client. Always catering to your needs and remembering your name and preferences. I have stayed there dozens of times and now go out of my way to stay here instead of other hotels in the area. The best hotel in the Newark / Wilmington area for sure. As someone who stays in hotels every week, this is truly a notch above the rest.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdrawas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
jdrawas, we want to thank you for leaving a nice review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Delaware. We are very happy to hear that you continue to have an excellent experience when you stay with us!

From reading your review, we saw you mentioned that you felt like our most important client! This is absolutely wonderful to hear. We’re very lucky to have a hardworking and dedicated staff who go above and beyond to make each guest feel like a VIP! We’re truly appreciative that you think we’re a notch above the rest, and we look forward to your next stay with us!

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to write a kind review. We hope you realize how much it means, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We can't wait to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    747
    270
    116
    55
    38
See reviews for
290
256
72
504
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

After a tough drive through New York and New Jersey we pulled off the Interstate and found this gem. Ivy, at the front desk, was SO accommodating! I think this property used to be a country club and it still retains the grace and elegance of a former life. What a treat!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GatorRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
GatorRandy, we want to thank you for leaving a nice review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Delaware. We are very happy to hear that you had an excellent experience at our hotel.

We’re glad to hear that Ivy was so accommodating for you! After a tough day of traveling, we’re thrilled Ivy was able to help alleviate some of that stress! We have a wonderful staff and hearing your comments truly confirms that. We’re also satisfied to hear how much you loved our decor and ambiance, and we will be sure to pass your comments along to our team!

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to write a kind review. We hope you realize how much it means, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We can't wait to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landenberg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Every time i loose power, i stay here, the beds are nice, the rooms are quiet, and the food is great. i love design of the hotel where the hotel itself wraps around the pool. BUT a couple of incodents of loud noises.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor lead to the pool faster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Spencer R, we want to thank you for leaving a nice review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you continue to have an excellent experience when you stay here.

From reading your review, we’re happy to hear you love the beds in our rooms. Getting a good night’s sleep while you’re here is extremely important, so we’re happy to hear that you were impressed. We will also pass along your comments regarding the noise incidents to our team.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to write a kind review. We hope you realize how much it means, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We can't wait to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Rica, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a business trip with my husband. The hotel is decent. Definitely needs an update, the decor, furniture, carpet, etc... just looks worn-out and tired. The bathroom was tiny. Front desk staff was ok, depending on who you had to deal with. There seems to be a major breakdown in communication between staff members, as we were told entirely different things regarding shuttle times, room service, etc. by different staff members. Not impressed with front desk. Hotel is in a good location, a few miles from the Christiana Mall and several area restaurants. Would stay here again, only for the location, not the hotel itself.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Monica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayonne, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

My son's hockey organization has booked this Hilton for a the last few years, and it's likely that they will continue. The rooms are good quality, and the service is great! While at the hotel, I frequent the fitness room, bar and outdoor eating area, and my son hangs with his friends in the pool. A+ rating!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
John B, we want to thank you for leaving a nice review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Delaware. We are very happy to hear that you and your son continue to have a fantastic experience at our hotel.

We’re so happy that you continue to come back and that all of our amenities continue to impress!
We saw in your review that you gave us an A+ rating, and we are very appreciative! Our entire staff works to make sure all guest have an enjoyable experience, and we will be sure to pass along your comments!

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to write a kind review. We hope you realize how much it means, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We can't wait to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I took advantage of the hotel shuttle service and went to the Christiana Mall. When I called to ask for a return ride, I was told that the shuttle was engaged and that my options were limited to public transit and waiting an extra hour for the shuttle.

Not wanting to wait the hour, I decided to take the bus. Imagine my surprise when the shuttle pulled up to the bus stop. The driver, Ms Ivy Williams, had heard that I was taking public transit back to the hotel and, of her own accord, decided to take time out of her very busy schedule to get me.

I cannot begin to describe how grateful I am for her thoughtfulness.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard/ pool can be a bit noisy if there is a function.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Carolyn B, we want to thank you for leaving a nice review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Delaware. We are very happy to hear that you had an excellent experience at our hotel.

We’re thrilled to hear how pleased you were with the service you received from Ivy. We’re lucky to have her as a member of our wonderful staff! We will definitely pass your kind words along to her.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to write a kind review. We hope you realize how much it means, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We can't wait to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

good special rate in an upscale floor (concierge) to have a relaxing visit and read a newpaper in total quiet. It's closet hotel to I-95 but has excellent soundproofing in public areas as well as in sleeping rooms.

Room Tip: ask for fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghostshunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
ghostshunter, thank you for writing a nice review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Delaware. We are extremely happy to hear you had an enjoyable experience at our property

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave a thoughtful review. We hope you realize how much it means, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#5 of 24 in Newark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
5.5 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Wilmington / Christiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Wilmington / Christiana

Property: Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Address: 100 Continental Dr, Newark, DE 19713-4327
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#4 Family Hotel in Newark
#5 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Wilmington / Christiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Christiana is ideal for both business and leisure travelers. Our overnight guest rooms and suites envelope you in comfort, featuring soft colors, and conveniences such as wireless Internet access. Guests on our Executive Level enjoy access to a private lounge with a complimentary cocktail reception consisting of beer, wine, and light hors d'oeuvres Monday - Thursday from 5pm - 7pm, and refreshments throughout the day. Delight in the cuisine of the Brasserie Grille, our steak and seafood restaurant serving up aged certified Angus beef grilled to perfection. Whether dinner in the Brasserie Grille, sunset cocktails in the Hunt Club Lounge, or enjoying seasonal live music on our outdoor Patio, relaxation is never far away. Rejuvenate with a workout at the gym or a swim in our shimmering outdoor pool. World-class attractions, such as Longwood Gardens and Winterthur, are just minutes away. Take advantage of tax-free shopping, also just minutes away, at the Christiana Mall and Christiana Fashion Center. Our meeting facilities and innovative meeting enhancements ensure your event is highly memorable. We pride ourselves in our landscaped Courtyard and Patio which are absolutely perfect for outdoor events. Whether you are planning a corporate conference or a magical wedding in our gazebo, our team will make sure that everything goes exactly as planned. Why trust anyone else? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Wilmington / Christiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Newark
Newark Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing