We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed feelings - probably more like a 3 1/2 rating” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Oaks Family Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Oaks Family Campground
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings - probably more like a 3 1/2 rating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This year was our third time to BigOaks. We usually take two campers and like sites side by side. We love the bike trail to the beach and also enjoy taking the trail into Lewis. It's really the only campground in the area besides the state parks. It's clean and friendly. That being said, as I read in other reviews, sites are tight to say the least. This year we opted to stay in the lower level. It seemed a little more private. Let me start by saying that the two sites we got for our 30 foot campers were next to impossible to get into, even for a seasoned driver. Secondly, my camper door opened out to a huge garage that is used to hold their garbage truck ( not a pretty site). On top of that, we were paying top price for the site because it came with 50amp, water, sewage, cable and internet. The cable never worked (despite trips up to the front desk to get tips), the internet never connected ( we were told we wouldn't be able to get internet unless we were right outside the camp store) and lastly, the STENCH of the garbage holed up in the garage in hot weather, was constant and unpleasant to say the least. If you ask me, those sites should be discounted due to the aforementioned. To top off our trip, one of the members in our group broke their leg getting caught up in a pile of debris left on the site. Thankfully, The owners were willing to refund our money since we had to cut things short. Though I think they probably should have come down to see how the leg was broken and clean up the debris. What it comes down to is either have a little more room and have to deal with stench and less amenities or stay up top and camp on top of your neighbor. I will chose the latter next time. Would I come back? Considering the limited options for campers, YES, we love rehoboth and try to spend most of our time at the beach anyway.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
When these sites were booked it was discussed as to where the sites are located, and that it was next to the maintenance shed. These were chosen due to the shady location, with trees. They are 30 amp sites. We went down to check for debris after it was reported, and did not see anything out of the ordinary on the site. If there were branches or debris reported, we would have taken care of it immediately. There is a wooded area behind the site, so maybe that is where she fell. We have free wi-fi in the park, but it does not reach everywhere, we have broadcast it out, but the trees do cut the signal to certain areas. We have a no refund policy, but we refunded the balance of their money, no questions asked. We do appreciate their business, and we want coming here to be a good experience, and hope that next time will be uneventful, and back to what they have enjoyed in the past.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    25
    17
    21
    22
See reviews for
79
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed there two nights, and it was only because the state park down the road was full because another state park nearby was closed for renovation. We paid $55 a night (cash only), outrageous for a sandy mobile home site. This is a trailer park, lots of permanent residents and campers that I assume they have on property and rent to those that want to stay in a rustic setting. The dump station was set up so that you would have to pump your waste uphill to the inlet, horrible design. Staff was pleasant. Will not return.

Room Tip: Hope that the state parks nearby have space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
The state parks are heavily subsidized by our tax dollars, therefore they can charge less than private campgrounds. Their RV sites have no electric and no sewer and many of them also do not have water. We are providing at least a 3 point hookup on all of our RV sites (water, electric and sewer) and many of our RV sites also have cable TV hookups. For the amenities you are receiving and the location, our rates are very reasonable. To get a hotel room, be prepared to spend $200 or more per night. Our season is short, and we have to charge enough to maintain the property, but our prices are comparable and even less than some of the other parks in our area. We have very few permanent residents, although we do have seasonal campers, as well as transit sites for travel trailers, motor homes, pop-up campers and lots of tent sites. We also have cabins and mobile homes that we rent. So, we have a little bit of everything to try to accommodate the different needs of our guests. We are glad that you gave us a try and we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rehoboth Beach hotels

Alexandria
Level Contributor
144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Big oaks numerous times over the past 15 years. We started out in a in a tent. We enjoyed the location and the campground so much that the next year we purchased a new travel trailer and left it there for the season. Jeff and Dana are friendly and courteous. There are very specific rules and regulations and they are strictly enforced. I find this to be a good thing. It helps to maintain the family atmosphere and keeps things running smoothly. Whenever we have had a problem or concern it was always handled in a courteous, professional, and timely manner. We are looking forward to staying here again in our newly purchased motorhome.

Room Tip: Make sure to bring cash. Credit cards are not accepted for payment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don50alexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for sticking with us over the years. We appreciate your business! Our rules and regulations are certainly in place to keep the campground family-friendly and it is very important to us to make sure those rules are enforced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrisdale, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We had a very nice time at this campground, we took a RV, an parked right across from the office, which was nice everything was handy, love the pool!!! Make sure u take cash, to pay, was disappointed , they do not take cc, or, check, an had to get close to the office to pick up the (freewifi) yes we will stay again!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie Summerso... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for coming to stay with us, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbury, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

My family and I stumbled upon this place by accident 16 years ago and it has been a tradition every time we go to the beach to stay here. My husband and I continued this tradition 5 years ago when we got together. We have always used the tent sites and have never had any issues and this year was the first year that we chose to stay in the cabin's. When I called luckily there was a cancellation so we could stay in the cabin. The cabins were beautiful and very comfortable contrary to others reviews. People need to remember this is a family owned and run campsite not a 5 star hotel however their accommodations are more than one can ask for. The gift shop is nicely stocked and the pool and bath houses are very clean. The area we were in was very quite and I felt completely relaxed while we were there. The fridge and microwave were a very nice accommodation for us to be able to store and cook things in. While it may inconvenience others I like the idea of calling rather than doing online reservations. (The last time I paid for something online I ended up getting charged double) The staff (my husband and I interacted with many) were friendly at all times and helpful when we had questions as well. My husband and I will continue our yearly trips to the beach and will continue to use Big Oaks for years to come. Thank you to everyone for making our stay relaxing, affordable and stress free!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amhunter17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
We love to see families return every year to spend their vacations with us. We work very hard to provide clean, affordable, and relaxing accommodations for our guests. Thank you for the kind words and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed at this campground for the very first time this past weekend and we enjoyed our visit. Yes, the camp sites are very tight together, but if you have a larger travel trailer or RV, then I would suggest you request a site up in the front. The roads that take your further back the campground are very narrow. Our site was in the front part of the campground near the store and we had no problems at all. We did not utilize the bath houses, but while out on a walk, I had to take my little one to the bathroom and I must say that the bath houses are nice and clean. The pool is very nice...they keep it very clean also. The landscaping around the campground is well maintained and gives it an inviting appeal. Shuttle services is a great option that is available also. All in all, we had a great experience with this campground and will use it again in the future. They do have a lot of Confederate items in their store for sale. I myself am a Civil War enthusiast, but not for one side over the other, so I kind of wish they had more Civil War items, not specifically "Confederate".....maybe items that relate to both Union and Confederate. However, I do understand that it is part of their heritage and they choose to display and sell items related to the Confederacy. I don't see a problem with this.

Room Tip: If you are pulling a larger travel trailer or RV, request a site in the front area of the camper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patty0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! We work very hard to keep the campground clean and maintained for our guests and love to hear that our efforts are appreciated. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Souderton, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

The low-budget web site, lack of online reservations, no credit card for reservations, etc. should have clued me in on what to expect at this campground. From the time we made our reservation until we checked out at the end of our stay, we had the distinct impression that their main objective was to spend as little money on their facility as possible and pack as many people into their facility as possible. Pool was tiny, playground minimal, camp store way overpriced, lots of signage to make sure all visitors paid/no outside firewood brought in.... just seemed like they were trying to squeeze every dime they could. Our campsite was basically a parking lot of travel trailers - no privacy or ambiance whatsoever. We had just come from a MD state park campground and our kids literally cried when they saw the set up at Big Oaks. There was a very nice and clean laundry facility and the bathhouse was clean as well. Other than that, I wouldn't recommend this campground unless you don't mind being packed in like sardines.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Not taking online reservations or credit cards does not mean that we don’t put a lot into our business. We spend a lot of money on maintaining our property and keeping it nice for our clientele. We have been a family-run, private business since 1968, and cannot afford to run our campground like the state runs theirs, as they get subsidies through taxpayer money. Being this close to the beach, property is at a premium, so we cannot have huge sites and be able to charge reasonable prices for families to afford. Many businesses in the area do not accept credit cards and we do tell everybody up front when they make reservations. Regarding visitors, the reason we have signage everywhere and charge a guest fee is so that paying customers have full access to our facilities. If we just let everybody in to visit for free, the pool, restrooms, parking, etc. would be packed and the people who have paid to stay would not be able to enjoy them. The reason we do not allow outside wood has absolutely nothing to do with profit and everything to do with keeping our numerous big shade trees alive. Moving firewood puts our trees at risk of attack by invasive insects and diseases. Please check out dontmovefirewood.org for more information. We’re sorry that our campground wasn’t for you, but we are glad that you found everything clean and we thank you for giving us a shot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rehoboth Beach
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
1.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.8 mi away
Heritage Inn and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
3.2 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#17 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Oaks Family Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Oaks Family Campground

Property: Big Oaks Family Campground
Address: 35567 Big Oaks Ln, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-9607
Region: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Rehoboth Beach
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Oaks has been family owned and operated for over 40 years. We offer camping for tents, popups, trailers, motorhomes, as well as cabin and mobile home rentals. We are only 2 and a half miles from Rehoboth Beach and the boardwalk, and only a mile from the Tanger Outlets. We are a stop on the local bus, and only a quarter mile from the Breakwater bike trail to Rehoboth or Lewes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Oaks Family Campground Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Big Oaks Family Campground Rehoboth Beach, Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing