We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough, but not my favorite in the area.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Oaks Family Campground
Reviewed 9 July 2009

First, it's a nice clean campground. The bathrooms were cleaner than I would have ever imagined. Infact, I think I've stayed at some hotels that their baths are dirtier. They have a nice playground, bunny and pool. We went to the pool one afternoon and it was way to crowded so we left. That certainly is not the fault of the campground though. It was over the fourth and they had some live music. Nice touch. We asked to be near the bathroom and they accomodated that with a generously sized campsite....just wished that there were more like ours as many were much smaller. It made the campground feel very tight. The only negative was the quiet time hours. They started at 11 p.m. and when you're tent camping with a 5 mo./2 yr/5 yr. it's hard to get them situated with loud noise that late. It is definitely a multi-cultural campground, which is great...but they do have many, many confederate flags flying, on their merchandise and stickers on their bumpers. Personally, I don't have a problem with this nor did I notice anyone else having a problem. If this offends you, you may want to stay somewhere else. The following statement is a reflection of the guests, not the campground: One other thing that bothers me a tad other than the noise, was the amount of liquor people were drinking when it is a non-alcohol campground. There were also a lot of smokers and parents swearing at their kids. If you don't mind smoking, drinking and listening to people swear until all hours of the night.....go for it. Besides, their bathrooms are clean.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Unfortunately, sometimes we get the occasional camper that is not a great neighbor. We are but a phone call away 24/7 if this happens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Big Oaks Family Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 132 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2009

My husband and I just got back from renting 3 cabins this weekend with some of our friends. We had stayed at one of the cabins a few years ago and liked how convienent it was to the beach and the cost was great considering the summer rates with the hotels. Because of the location and price we convinced our friends to make a weekend out of it over Father's Day weekend.

When we first arrived, the first thing we noticed was the confederate flag flying right at the entrance. This was a little concerning considering my friends are African American and have small children. We chose to ignore it and as we drove through the campground, we saw several more. Our first night we were sitting out front of the cabin playing cards and one of their security guards kept walking by our cabin while carrying a confederate flag. This was extremely hurtful to myself and my friends and could not believe that in 2009, there are still people, more specifically businesses that engage in such tasteless crimes towards humanity. Needless to say regardless of location or price, we will never return again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank afelkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

I can tell you with 100% certainty that this is a very tall tale. Nothing changed between the first stay, which they evidently enjoyed, and the second stay. No one walks around waving flags. The flags that are displayed on flagpoles etc. are a symbol of our heritage, and are in no way a symbol of hate in our eyes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2009

So after driving nine hours to get to Rehoboth Beach, DE, I had to find the campground manager, who eventually led us to a small site near the front of the campground. The site we had reserved and paid a deposit for was much nicer and closer to the bathrooms and showers, while the alternative site was noisier and right near the bus stop. The staff was moderately friendly. We will return again in the future, but we sincerely hope our next stay there will be better than our first.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyCamperNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Sometimes things happen that are beyond our control. We try to rectify these situations to the best of our ability and hope that the next stay goes more smoothly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

This campground is close to everything. Very clean. Nice pool. Many shaded sites and quiet. The sites can be tight but that was to be expected with camping at a beach location. The Rehoboth shuttle comes into the campground to take you to the outlets, the beach or the boardwalk. We didn't use this service but I think it is great that they have it. We can not wait to come back next year. I am so glad I took a chance on this place. I didn't know anyone who had stayed here. I found it in the Frommer's camping guide and on the internet.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Beavers18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

So glad that you enjoyed the campground. We hope that you come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2008

Another great stay at Big Oaks Campground! We have really fallen in love with this place! Always clean and well maintained! Pleasant staff. Great location!
Cabins: In previous years we have stayed in the “new” cabins (higher numbered) located in a small cul de sac next to the large bathhouse. This year we were in cabin #6 of the original cabins. In design, the cabins are identical but we found the original cabins are located in a small loop next to the maintenance shed. While the location was fine the cabins are very close together. (In future I will request one of the higher numbered cabins only because we like to spread out a little more.) There is a small bathroom/shower located in this section for the cabins/tents. It was clean and well maintained BUT only one shower and one stall.
Each cabin is equipped with a dorm size refrigerator and microwave. The covered front porch has two chairs and small table. Upon entering the cabin there is a double bed immediately to the right. To the left are the fridge/micro and a small “tea” table and two chairs. A ceiling fan/light completes this room. Second room is comprised of two sets of wooden bunk beds. A/C is located in this room. Walls and floors are hard wood and easy to keep clean. Cabin comes with a broom and dustpan.

Site: Each site is equipped with a picnic table and fire ring. Water spigot usually located between two cabins and shared by those two cabins.

Overall: We stay at Big Oaks to be close to the beach (2.5 miles!). We leave early and return late in the day. Therefore we do not normally use any of the other facilities. There is a large (and again well maintained) playground, a relatively small pool, snack bar and well stocked camp store. There is a WaWa located just up the street. Shopping/Dining are seconds away on Rte. 1.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OBXBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thanks for the kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed staying in the cabins!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rehoboth Beach
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
341 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
662 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#18 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
393 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
0.9 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#7 of 7 in Lewes
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Oaks Family Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Oaks Family Campground

Address: 35567 Big Oaks Ln, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-9607
Region: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Rehoboth Beach
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Oaks has been family owned and operated for over 40 years. We offer camping for tents, popups, trailers, motorhomes, as well as cabin and mobile home rentals. We are only 2 and a half miles from Rehoboth Beach and the boardwalk, and only a mile from the Tanger Outlets. We are a stop on the local bus, and only a quarter mile from the Breakwater bike trail to Rehoboth or Lewes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Oaks Family Campground Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Big Oaks Family Campground Rehoboth Beach, Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing