We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time to enter 21st century!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We just got back from a 3 night stay at this hotel. We booked it sight unseen, based on the 4 star rating. We arrived early and could not check in, and a very old woman at the desk told us she would call us when the room was ready. We took a long and leisurely walk on the boardwalk and she never called us. We came back to the hotel at 3pm, which is their check in time, and the room was not ready. I don't know how many housekeepers there are, but there is an endless line of employees at the front desk. We checked in at 3:30, not a huge deal, only 30 minutes late. The man at the front desk was very apologetic.

The entire hotel and the rooms are obviously decorated in the Victorian style. That's nice, I guess, if you need to visit that era. This is the BEACH, however, and this style totally does not fit with the environment. This is not Victorian England. Our room was a "special" room, on the 4th floor, which requires a special swipe of your room key in the elevator to even access this floor. In the corner of our room was a jacuzzi, which we never used, and which took up a good portion of the room. The "bathroom" consisted of a toilet, which, when sitting on it, your feet are immediately up against the shower door. Not to mention that the toilet itself is so low to the ground that you need the leg muscles of Arnold Schwartzenegger to get up each time. The sink, which all around the world would be in the bathroom, is out in the room itself. But for me, personally, the worst thing was the bed. It was, despite being from the Victorian era, one of these modern beds being 4 feet off the ground. I'm a 5'5" tall woman and i have wrenched my neck, literally, trying to even get ON THE BED. It was so high i couldn't even swing my leg onto it easily. I dreaded getting into bed every night. And I was afraid of falling out!! Between the low toilet and the unbelievably high bed this was an Olympic workout for me.

There were 2 very stiff wooden chairs to sit on, but no sofa of any kind. So this made the room very uncomfortable to be in. If they would take out the jacuzzi which occupies 1/4 of the room and put in a cozy couch this would go a long way to improving the room.

I want to also say that i've travelled all over this country, on all types of beaches, and have travelled extensively to Europe as well, and never had this kind of high altitude bed anywhere, or a sink that was in the room, away from the bathroom. Instead of worrying about copying a decor that doesn't even fit the beach, the owner should think more about the comfort and safety of the visitors.

I get the feeling from some of the other unhappy comments on Tripadvisor that instead of apologizing, the owner is obviously arrogant and defensive about his hotel. Other general managers at other hotels actually go out of their way to make customers happy and are able to APOLOGIZE for their discomforts. OH, and one more thing, don't leave the porch door open for any length of time because you will have an army of flies in your room in no time, since there were no screen doors in the Victorian age, apparently. It's time to come into the 21st century and make the rooms more comfortable, safe and appropriate to the location.

Room Tip: If you don't need a jacuzzi then make sure you get a room without one, it's a total waste of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Gabriele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

757 - 763 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2011

This hotel is extremely consistent w its Victorian theme. Very attractive entrance to a beautiful flower filled lobby. Photographs and pictures abound on the lobby walls, almost unnoticed due to the very tasteful period furnishings throughout. Very attentive and informed staff. Bring your camera!
Celebrated our 35th anniversary in a beautiful double double on the 4th floor. Very tasteful decorating offered us many ideas for our own home! Elegant wallpaper, even in the bathroom. And, probably the first bathroom we have ever viewed (in 35 years of travel) to have coordinated color towels. Definitely, first class.
Very comfortable bedding and pillows.
This hotel may be pricey in season, but off season rates drop to be quite reasonable. Why stay in a typical chain, when this luxury is available. Will be first on our list to check at the Delaware Eastern shoreline.

Room Tip: Not your typical rectangular room floorplan! Can't go wrong w standard room if budget is a conc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We took our 2 daughters, ages 6 and 9, for an overnight to Rehoboth. My husband was in town on business, so our stay was covered by his company....bonus! The hotel staff was wonderful and the girls loved the birds throughout the hotel. The parrot in the lobby can do tricks and talks up a storm! Our only negative was the 2 people in the pool/hot tub area. They gave my daughters dirty looks and acted as if it was a "child free" hotel. Other than that, we had a wonderful, short trip!!

Room Tip: You can ask for a waterfront room and watch the waves roll in!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katieandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We spent 3 lovely days and nights at the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel the week of October 10th. The room was beautifully appointed, with every convenience and amenity. The staff are exceptional, attentive, and friendly. The hotel restaurant has first class service and the best meal we had in Rehoboth. It will be our hotel of choice in the future.

Room Tip: Ocean views would be my choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

This hotel is wonderful...all the charm of the Victorian Era greets you when you step inside the front door. I loved everything about this hotel. Our room was a suite on the fourth floor directly facing the ocean - what an outstanding view! The restaurant was charming with excellent food, the pub was comfy and cozy, the staff was more than helpful and the parrots were the perfect touch at the front desk. I will definitely stay here again. The location is great because you are within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants in town. We were quite content to sit on our balcony in the morning with a cup of coffee and watch the sunrise, with a dolphin or two thrown in for good measure. If you are looking for something to do besides the usual, take a ride to see the Wild Horses of Assateague Island. Just a 45 minute trip, you will see horses roaming freely on the road, on the side of the road, in the dunes and on the beach - they're beautiful.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms have sweeping views of the ocean with suites having much more room The fourth floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hummingbird2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

This hotel was wonderful. It is classic, steps from the ocean, and good food - although the crab cakes (which tasted good) were a bit underdone. The beds are wonderful and the rooms are very quiet. Inspite of the rain, we had a very nice time and a very restful weekend at this hotel. Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelcityguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Lovely to find a classic, romantic, steps from the ocean, 4-5 star accomodation with superb service, fabulous food- with indoor/outdoor spa-closed to children after 8 pm---and open to adults the entire night- room with the whirlpool bath oceanside is divine- room service has been delightful-- steps to the beach and the ocean--- as well as to the boardwalk and Rehoboth Avenue- where shopping and discovery of "much" is yours--

Room Tip: traveling alone or with a special one?--- choose oceanside king with- in room jacuzzi- no regrets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rodneysgirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#20 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
628 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,924 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rehoboth
Hotel Rehoboth
#7 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
587 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
0.3 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Address: 2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range: £70 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Plaza Hotel – think of us as a beach house – with 84 bedrooms!At the Boardwalk Plaza, we are fortunate to call the ocean’s edge our home, and happy to offer you a unique and comfortable respite from the world where you can truly get away from it all. From the moment you step under our antique wrought-iron canopy and enter the lobby, our staff stands ready to offer you exceptional service. Whether you choose a suite with a private balcony, a deluxe accommodation that adds a whirlpool-for-two – or something in between – you’ll find an artful combination of freshly updated, Victorian-reproduction furnishings and can’t-do-without amenities like free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. From heavenly bedding to downy-soft bath towels and robes to remarkable room service with a smile, we do everything possible – and then some – to make you feel pampered. All of our guests can enjoy all-day dining in our oceanfront restaurant and relax in our heated indoor soaking pool. For adults traveling without children, our keyed-access concierge level offers accommodations enhanced with genteel extras and use of the private rooftop sundeck and spa.Like the ocean, we never close! Both the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel and Victoria’s Restaurant are open year-round. Join us for a weeklong vacation or a romantic escape – from a summer beach holiday to a cozy winter getaway. You pick the season that suits you best and we’ll take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boardwalk Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Plaza Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Boardwalk Plaza
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel Rehoboth Beach, Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing