We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boardwalk Plaza on the beach at Rehoboth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Washington
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Boardwalk Plaza on the beach at Rehoboth”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Even out of season it is a bit pricey. But it was well worth it. Lovely staff, clean rooms, wonderful squeaky sun conure and grey parrot in the lobby. The birds lend to resort feel on the boardwalk. A bit dated but still very comfortable for a romantic get-away. Staff goes out of their way to banter and play while keeping things in good order. Very quiet. Rooms let out onto ocean balconies. What more can we ask for. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackBlack1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    157
    53
    19
    16
See reviews for
233
409
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I love how this hotel has a "concierge" floor meaning "no kids allowed". The floor was nice and quiet. More hotels should do this. The hotel has an old charm and its in good condition. The main customers at this place are older rich people who need to be catered to hand and foot. People who need to get tucked in bed, have food delivered, have the newspaper delivered and people who need robes. People who need oodles of attention, which I didn't really need. In fact, I find that annoying. Every time we would pass the lobby to go to the elevator everyone would be staring at us or ask us personal questions like "are you going to eat dinner?".
But thats who the hotel is catering to--older rich people who need attention and love to talk to everyone about everything. Not independent people who do their own thing. The hotel was clean, very clean, and the toilet flushing power was pretty good. The balconies were nice, but they were a little too high because when u sit down, you can't see the beach. The beds were very comfortable.

ON A SIDE NOTE: During my stay, there were some trashy loud people who took over the whole bar area and brought along their kids with dripping wet clothes and didn't watch their kids at all. I don't know why the bartender didn't just kick them out. They ruined the whole atmosphere being so loud and bringing their kids to the bar, it was ridiculous.

Room Tip: Concierge floor doesn't allow kids, which is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlygirl321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Brunswick, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The Boardwalk Plaza was a wonderful vacation - from the moment the door was opened as we approached the door to the seamless checkout at the end- everything was taken care of by a great staff. The pink cottage next door was set up for coffee service every morning which was so nice. With their porch swing in front with the ocean view it felt like you were renting a summer home. The restaurant catered to all our requests and the room attendants listened when we didn't want the bed spread put out every day. The 4th floor was superb and the roof level view of the ocean was wonderful as we watchd dolphins swim one afternoon. The hot tub was to hot for me so I didn't go in . Only problem for 5 days was we could not use the indoor pool as the pump was broken but not anything we could do about it. Both my husband and I really enjoyed the vacation and we hope to return next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at boardwalk plaza. The concierge Tom.. Fantastic. Room clean. We had no view but we were on the boardwalk. People very friendly. Pool is indoor/outdoor. I did not use. We went in sept and I had to rent umbrella... $12. Just love Rehoboth. Room soundproof!

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooftop. It is $20 more or goes with people on 4th floor. For adults only and beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The quiet end of the board walk but still accessible to everything in walking distance. Staff were above and beyond friendly, graceful, polite, accommodating, and helpful. The fact that there were times for adults to use spa pool without children and it was accessible all night was a huge plus and very exciting for us! (5 children!!) Also, the fourth floor and roof top is something that we will be back for! Tom (concierge) gave us an opportunity to visit the roof top- he and the staff are an asset to your hotel. An amazing getaway for us!!!!! Thank you!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Castingcares13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbine, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is probably the nicest oceanfront hotel in Rehoboth Beach. It's done in a Victorian style, from the very eager serving staff to the room decor to the pictures of Queen Victoria adorning the walls of the restaurant, which is aptly named Victoria's. It all has a bit of a theatrical feel to it; like walking onto the set of Miss Marple. Personally, I prefer a more modern hotel, but it's clear that there is a loyal clientel to whom the Victorian theme appeals.

The hotel is located right on the beach overlooking the boardwalk. Our room was a two-room suite, with sitting area (with balcony overlooking the ocean) and separate bedroom. The rooms were moderately sized. The beds were firm and comfortable and there was free wifi, though it could be slow at times. There was a television in each room offering a large selection of channels, though no premium or pay-per view movies.

We ate breakfast at Victoria's restaurant one morning and unfortunately found it to be sub-par. The potatoes were cold, the eggs under done and the portions rather small. Our kids didn't bother finishing their meals, which is highly unusual for them. Fortunately, there are a good many other places to eat in close proximity.

On the whole, I would recommend this hotel for those staying in Rehoboth, mainly for the location. At $500+ a night for suites during the summer season, it isn't cheap. There are other cheaper options nearby, but not directly on the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We needed to attend a wedding in Rehoboth over the Labor Day weekend. Rehoboth beach was very crowded but this hotel made the entire weekend remarkable. They have the most unbelievably comfortable beds and pillows. We have stayed at five diamond, five star hotels that didn't have near the comfortable beds as the Boardwalk! It is pricey, but worth every penny!

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms with the Jacuzzi tub right in the bedroom is awesome. The view from the balcony is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingGranny_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#16 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
591 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#2 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,707 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
269 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Property: Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Address: 2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Plaza Hotel – think of us as a beach house – with 84 bedrooms!At the Boardwalk Plaza, we are fortunate to call the ocean’s edge our home, and happy to offer you a unique and comfortable respite from the world where you can truly get away from it all. From the moment you step under our antique wrought-iron canopy and enter the lobby, our staff stands ready to offer you exceptional service. Whether you choose a suite with a private balcony, a deluxe accommodation that adds a whirlpool-for-two – or something in between – you’ll find an artful combination of freshly updated, Victorian-reproduction furnishings and can’t-do-without amenities like free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. From heavenly bedding to downy-soft bath towels and robes to remarkable room service with a smile, we do everything possible – and then some – to make you feel pampered. All of our guests can enjoy all-day dining in our oceanfront restaurant and relax in our heated indoor soaking pool. For adults traveling without children, our keyed-access concierge level offers accommodations enhanced with genteel extras and use of the private rooftop sundeck and spa.Like the ocean, we never close! Both the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel and Victoria’s Restaurant are open year-round. Join us for a weeklong vacation or a romantic escape – from a summer beach holiday to a cozy winter getaway. You pick the season that suits you best and we’ll take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Boardwalk Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Plaza Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Boardwalk Plaza
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel Rehoboth Beach, Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing