We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Always cautious of smaller independent hotels I booked for a weekend get away with my sister. From the moment we arrived the staff was friendly, courteous, and seemed anxious to please. The bellboy that carried our bags to our room offered to get ice, got us more coffee, and never seemed put out. The room was immaculate ( and I check every crevice), we got an ocean view and we had a perfect view of the ocean don't know that oceanfront wouldn't have been any better. A bitterly cold weekend we decided to stay in the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed the pub where the bartender kept a friendly banter and the food was superb!!! I've stayed at five diamond hotels that were no better. When we left the manager was on his knees trying to find us discount coupons for the outlets we were headed too, and extremely apologetic that they were out. I not only recommend this hotel full heartily, I will indeed go back. Forget all I posted, don't go, stay away, don't want to not be able to reserve a room when I want!!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view or Ocean Front you must see the Ocean!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (900)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

546 - 552 of 900 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

I've stayed here every winter for the last five years or so. I must say that as usual the hotel accommodations were wonderful. I love the Victorian decor, the rooms are spacious and extremely comfortable, the location is great, and the staff is just delightful. They are very accommodating; when we had to leave a day early because of a coming snow storm, there was no problem and we were not charged for the room. We will definitely stay there again. We went to the Pub on Saturday night and that was fine, too, although I do wish they would stay open later than 10 p.m. It would seem that staying open to 11 p.m. on a weekend night would be something their patrons would like.

The only problem I've ever had at the hotel was in the restaurant. In my review last year, I complained about the restaurant's service and we had a problem this year, too. My travel companion ordered a crab omelet for breakfast. When it arrived it was clear that there was no crab meat in it. When we complained to the waitress she said that the crab meat was cooked into the egg but it was very evident that there was no crab meat in it. They did bring some cooked crab meat but still, they should be able to get an order right, especially for breakfast when they weren't that busy.

Room Tip: If traveling with several friends or family members consider the ocean front or view suites with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1890girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you so much for your continued patronage, and for your candid review. Although we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, we were very sorry to hear that we let you down in the restaurant on more than one occasion. Please know that we take every guest comment to heart and take action based on your experiences. Please accept our apologies for where we fell short. We look forward to welcoming you back to an improved experience in Victoria's and the Boardwalk Plaza, as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I usually try to stay here at least once every year during the winter season. I have always loved the hotel, restaurant, and the staff. However, this year the hotel decided to do away with the their very best Sunday brunch buffet and moved to the ordinary a la carte menu. While the food is good, it is no comparison to the variety of the food offered during the brunch buffet. Also gone is the more leisure atmosphere offered in the buffet setting. The Sunday brunch buffet was another special feature of this hotel. I was very disappointed to see it move to being no different than what other hotels offer. I'm hoping this is just an experimental period for the hotel and they will bring back the gem that made the hotel special.

Room Tip: The ocean view suite with Jacuzzi is my favorite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you so much for your review, and for your comments regarding our new a la carte Sunday Brunch. Over the course of three years, we thoughtfully considered the move to a la carte Sunday brunch, as we had many comments about the price and guests commenting that they did not want that much food. This year we decided to follow the industry trend and make the change, offering entrees at different price points and doing away with set seating times so guests would not have to wait. We truly appreciate your opinion as we evaluate the pros and cons moving forward into the future!

P.S. We do still offer the full, extended buffet for holidays such as Thanksgiving, Christmas, Easter and Mother's Day and hope you will come visit us then to enjoy it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My wife spent Friday night at the hotel. It is a great facility. Clean comfortable room with an ocean view. Had breakfast in the restuarant. Great service and quality of food at a reasonable price. The hotel is right on the boardwalk and within easy walking distance of many shops and restuarants.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

First-time stay January 2014 for a much needed restful weekend. Pleasantly surprised to find that I never needed to leave the hotel. Wonderful restaurant and pub, and excellent room service. Every meal was delicious. At the pub had the beach burger - best burger ever!. During the entire stay staff was extremely helpful, courteous and friendly. Wonderful room with gorgeous ocean view. Nice and clean - it's the first thing I inspect - no worries there - immaculate. Also, it looked like people were thoroughly enjoying the indoor pool - maybe next time. Highly recommend Boardwalk Plaza if you're thinking of visiting Rehoboth. Even if only for the day, it'd be worth the trip to enjoy a delicious meal with an ocean view in the resplendent Victorian dining room or pub. The only thing better would be a stay during the summer with just steps to the beach and boardwalk. Five stars all around! ,

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you so much for your 5-star review. We're delighted that you discovered us for a cozy wintertime getaway! Every season has its own charms here in Rehoboth Beach...we hope to host you again soon in the springtime, summer, and fall seasons as well. In the meantime, all the best to you in 2014. We look forward to welcoming you back once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

What an AMAZING place! From the moment I entered, I felt as if I had gone thru a time warp; not only in appearances and accommodations, but also with service. I have never before been treated with such hospitality and respect. Although we live a mere 30 minutes from the Plaza, I truly felt I was a million miles away; in an entirely different century. My husband and I were literally treated like royalty!

ACCOMODATIONS: Surperb!!!!!! The ocean front suite was sooo warm, welcoming, well furnished, and spacious. The view was PRICELESS. Comfortable beds, sofa, chairs. All the amenities of an UPSCALE hotel! The pool/spa was remarkable and a relaxing addition. Victoria's restaurant was outstanding. All of our meals were divine!

SERVICE: The concierge, Tom was a breath of fresh air and went over and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. Our waitress, Jennifer, the maître d, Bobbie, the barkeep Tim, the housekeeping staff, room service staff, and front desk staff were pleasant, courteous, and attentive. Everyone FAR EXCEEDED the definition of hospitable and honestly added to our experience.

Finally, the Plaza is the epitome of cleanliness!!!! It actually became my quest to find dirt, dust, stains, etc. (and I checked behind and under furniture, in the intricate wood moldings, on lamp shades, pictures, drapes, etc) NONE, NO WHERE TO BE FOUND!!!! Truly a breathtaking experience!

Room Tip: I truly can't think of any BAD rooms. Other than logically staying away from elevator and ice ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKAHOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Fantastic! Thank you so much for the 5-star review. Our team just loves to hear that we are meeting our hospitality goals and your comments are sincerely appreciated. Thank you, also, for reinforcing our message that "you don't have to go away, to get away" -- we are tickled that you discovered our vacation getaway that's close to home, but worlds apart. We hope to host you again, soon. Again, our thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We spent another night at the Boardwalk Plaza, and again, enjoyed it very much. Our room was very clean, and ready as soon as we got there. Our view was to the southeast, not a direct ocean front room, but we still had a perfect view of the ocean and the beach. The Atlantic Sands next door was under construction, but it never bothered us a bit. Coffee maker in room with K-cups was a definite plus!

Room Tip: Even a ocean view room gives you great views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for coming back to the Boardwalk Plaza, and for another great review of your stay with us. Our repeat guests are one of our biggest compliments, and we look forward to welcoming you back many times in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,894 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#20 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
625 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rehoboth
Hotel Rehoboth
#6 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
0.3 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
2,226 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Address: 2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range: £61 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Plaza Hotel – think of us as a beach house – with 84 bedrooms!At the Boardwalk Plaza, we are fortunate to call the ocean’s edge our home, and happy to offer you a unique and comfortable respite from the world where you can truly get away from it all. From the moment you step under our antique wrought-iron canopy and enter the lobby, our staff stands ready to offer you exceptional service. Whether you choose a suite with a private balcony, a deluxe accommodation that adds a whirlpool-for-two – or something in between – you’ll find an artful combination of freshly updated, Victorian-reproduction furnishings and can’t-do-without amenities like free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. From heavenly bedding to downy-soft bath towels and robes to remarkable room service with a smile, we do everything possible – and then some – to make you feel pampered. All of our guests can enjoy all-day dining in our oceanfront restaurant and relax in our heated indoor soaking pool. For adults traveling without children, our keyed-access concierge level offers accommodations enhanced with genteel extras and use of the private rooftop sundeck and spa.Like the ocean, we never close! Both the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel and Victoria’s Restaurant are open year-round. Join us for a weeklong vacation or a romantic escape – from a summer beach holiday to a cozy winter getaway. You pick the season that suits you best and we’ll take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Kognitiv US Corp, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boardwalk Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Plaza Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Boardwalk Plaza
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel Rehoboth Beach, Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing