We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Rehoboth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed three days here on a return trip home from the South. We have stayed here before and find it a beautiful well-run hotel. The staff is wonderful from housekeeping to the wait staff--friendly and professional. The food at Victoria's is excellent and the view superb. Special thanks to Pamela at the front desk and Tom, the Concierge, for making our stay enjoyable. I would have given this a 5 star rating were it not for the unreliable internet service. This seems to be a city wide problem, not just the hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your return visit to the Boardwalk Plaza! We appreciate your kind comments about staff, facilities and dining. We apologize for the inconsistent Internet, and wanted to let you know that we are in the process of a completely new Internet installation and should have all of the bugs worked out very soon. We look forward to hosting you again in the future and earning 5 stars next time. Have a wonderful spring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

490 - 496 of 876 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

My Aunt and I had a pretty rough winter and just wanted to get away for a couple days. I'm so glad we chose the Plaza Hotel on the Rehoboth boardwalk. My aunt is using a walker due to a couple fractures from falling on snow and I use a walker due to back problems. At check in, the employee at the desk was very helpful. She told me the handicap rooms are ocean view only and don't have balconies. I said the ocean front view and balcony were what we were excited about, so we decided to stay in the room we'd booked rather than try to switch to a handicap. At that point, she offered to send a shower chair to our room. She also let me know there were hand rails in the tub. The bellman helped with our luggage and was very helpful in pointing out features in our room. While the rooms weren't huge, we both had no trouble navigating our walkers between the bedroom and the sitting room facing the ocean. It was chilly out so we spent a lot of time here, looking at the beach and ocean out our big front window. There was a folding table in our room where we played cards and ate pizza we'd ordered from a local pizzeria. The bathroom was small and the sink was actually outside the bathroom. There was a cute gift bag with everything from a nail file to make up remover pads. The sofa and wicker chair in the sitting room were comfortable and the rooms were decorated in Victorian fashion. We only ate one meal in the hotel and that was breakfast. Prices were a little high ($9 for a bowl of oatmeal ??? ) but service was excellent and the food was very good. We loved the homemade breakfast breads they served with the meal. The hotel and restaurant were very clean. There was an honor bar in our room that we didn't use, but prices for snacks seemed reasonable. My Aunt used the indoor/outdoor pool and she said it was almost as warm as bath water - she loved it. All in all, it was a wonderful hotel experience. I was really impressed at how everyone associated with the Plaza was so darn nice !! I wish I'd booked for more than 2 nights and we are already talking about a return visit .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluehenfan077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This was one of our best hotel experiences. Every employee we encountered was polite and helpful, and the view from our oceanfront suite was amazing (although unfortunately very foggy most of the weekend). The Victorian theme is not particularly our style, but our room was still very clean, comfortable, and large, and the bathroom and vanity seemed recently updated. We really enjoyed the heated pool on our rainy and cool weekend. The complimentary underground parking was much appreciated during the rain storms, and in nicer weather, the hotel is within walking distance of several restaurants and attractions. I also appreciated that a concierge promptly called me after our online booking to discuss a room preference. I was very impressed with the excellent customer service that we received in the booking process.

Room Tip: During nicer weather, it is worth it to stay on the fourth floor "adults only" floor becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This hotel is billed as being a bit of nostalgia and going back to the Victorian era. Indeed, you do feel that way as you enter the hotel. It's a charming, overly furnished lobby with some parrots to greet you. The one, a multi-colored bird is extremely friendly, but the other is not to be tampered with. The rooms are comfortable, although cramped. The bed, in true Victorian style is on stilts! You have to practically pole vault to get on it, if you are challenged in height. Know beforehand the difference between "ocean view" and "ocean front". There's quite a difference. The latter is the pricier spread with a full frontal view of the ocean, while a "view" is just that--a "view" which is from the side of the building and may be looking directly across the street at another hotel with a slice of the ocean off to the side.

In this day and age, furthermore, you'd expect the TV to have at least either HBO of Showtime. Not here. And there is no On Demand feature for watching movies, if you want. There are DVD players in the rooms but the nearest Redbox is about 2 miles away. Not a bad walk, but you'd think there would be something closer in a resort town, and not having the "amenities" of cable on demand was kind of disappointing. That's one of the frivolities I indulge in when away from home.
Parking was convenient, since a free spot is provided per room. Nice! Particularly in the summer, since parking is quite a premium both in availability and cost. Ample parking throughout the resort during off-season, however.

Rooms are cramped, as I mentioned, and if you get a king with ocean view, there is a straight-back chair at the desk and captain's chair by the window, both of which were extremely uncomfortable. So when in the room, all you could sit on was the bed.

The hotel does not have a pool indoor or outdoor. There is a spa, but we didn't bother, since we have one of our own at home, so it wasn't that big of a deal. It was nice, though.

Vacationing at the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel in Rehoboth Beach, Delaware is not bad, just be prepared for some of the inconveniences which most hotels don't have these days.

Room Tip: Ocean front is the top dollar. Rooms on the south side face another hotel directly across the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

A late March stay and it was wonderful, staff, service, hotel and food are the best in Rehoboth. Can't wait to come back maybe in the Spring before the summer rush. This is the best hotel in Rehoboth hands down.

Room Tip: All rooms are clean and quiet, can't go wrong here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you so much for your 5-star review! We truly appreciate your feedback and kind words. Don't forget that our Swing Into Spring package runs until May 22 -- a great deal for your return visit in the spring! Again, our thanks. We look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The Boardwalk Plaza is our favorite mid-Atlantic beach hotel. We stayed in an ocean front suite this time, however, the ocean view suites are also very nice. There is plenty of room in the suite for a family with two teenagers. We arrived late, however we had enough time to enjoy a late night swim in the pool. The beds are very comfortable, and I like that the sink area is located between the bedroom and parlor instead of inside the bathroom. Breakfast in Victoria's was delicious and our server was excellent. All of the employees we encountered on this visit were polite, friendly, and provided excellent customer service.

Room Tip: You can't beat the view of the ocean front suite, however, there is also a nice beach view from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kracg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for choosing the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel for your family's getaway! We appreciate your visit and your 5-star review. Come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is our 3rd time staying at the Boardwalk Plaza and it just keeps getting better each time. The staff was so helpful and courteous! We never wanted for anything the entire weekend.
We stayed in the Ocean view Jacuzzi suite and it was amazing! The living room area was just right for reading while the separate bedroom with the pocket doors was private and quiet.
If you are looking for a romantic getaway then you need look no further because this place is perfection!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are wonderful and still provide more than just a peek of the ocean. Plus the one w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KTMessick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Wow! Your title alone let us know we hit the mark! We appreciate your choosing the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel for your March visit to Rehoboth Beach. We do strive to provide perfect accommodations for couples and for families, too, and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Again, our thanks. We hope to host you again, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#20 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
616 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,833 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rehoboth
Hotel Rehoboth
#7 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
574 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
281 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Address: 2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range: £68 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Plaza Hotel – think of us as a beach house – with 84 bedrooms!At the Boardwalk Plaza, we are fortunate to call the ocean’s edge our home, and happy to offer you a unique and comfortable respite from the world where you can truly get away from it all. From the moment you step under our antique wrought-iron canopy and enter the lobby, our staff stands ready to offer you exceptional service. Whether you choose a suite with a private balcony, a deluxe accommodation that adds a whirlpool-for-two – or something in between – you’ll find an artful combination of freshly updated, Victorian-reproduction furnishings and can’t-do-without amenities like free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. From heavenly bedding to downy-soft bath towels and robes to remarkable room service with a smile, we do everything possible – and then some – to make you feel pampered. All of our guests can enjoy all-day dining in our oceanfront restaurant and relax in our heated indoor soaking pool. For adults traveling without children, our keyed-access concierge level offers accommodations enhanced with genteel extras and use of the private rooftop sundeck and spa.Like the ocean, we never close! Both the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel and Victoria’s Restaurant are open year-round. Join us for a weeklong vacation or a romantic escape – from a summer beach holiday to a cozy winter getaway. You pick the season that suits you best and we’ll take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boardwalk Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Plaza Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Boardwalk Plaza
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel Rehoboth Beach, Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing