We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view, very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic view, very friendly staff”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The location is fantastic. It's not easy to find a good spot on the beach, so we were excited to try this hotel out. Having the hotel this close to the beach really helped for us. When our kids needed to go to the bathroom, we had the hotel bathroom available. This was way better than in the past when we had to use the public beach bathrooms, which always grossed me out.

The hotel provides towels, but only one per guest.

Parking included.

The biggest negative of the hotel facilities is the pool. It's not what I would consider a pool. It's more of a large hot tub.

The hotel does have a restaurant. We ate breakfast one day. It's an expensive place to eat. It would be great to see a package that included breakfast.

Upon arrival, the staff was very friendly and very helpful (especially the younger people). Brought our bags up to our room, explained various functions that the hotel has, and offered to grab ice for us. Very helpful.

The decor is what I would expect from an old school boardwalk hotel. The kids had fun saying that the black and white framed photos on the wall were ghosts.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crimscrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    157
    53
    19
    16
See reviews for
233
409
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The people were great. The staff at the desk were very friendly and our room was nice. We did not use the pool even though we had kids as they played on the beach all day. The restaurant was average at best. We only had breakfast there but the servers were not efficient or helpful and did not really know what was expected. I would not recommend it as the service was poor, and way over priced. The next morning we went to a coffee shop on the main street off of the boardwalk which was much cheaper and higher quality.

Room Tip: If I stayed again I would get an ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

A relaxing and wonderful experience! A friend and I, both teachers, just wanted to get away to someplace warm and fun without the hassle of a tourist destination, Rehoboth Beach while it is a summer getaway place is at a different pace than other shore communities. The Boardwalk Plaza Hotel was just the place for us to get away! While it is a modern hotel in construction and amenities the decor is very Victorian. Furnishings are both original and replicas of the time period and make for fun conversation! The staff at the Boardwark were warm and welcoming. Our registration went smoothly. Any questions were answered with courtesy and clarity. We stayed on the concierge floor so we had access to the roof and hot tub as well a other perks. The on premise restaurant was cozy and Victorian with much attention to detail and the food both for breakfast and dinner was delicious. A definite must return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wondosi327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you so much for your 5-star review! We're happy to hear that you discovered us and that you enjoyed the "wonderful and relaxing" pace of both the hotel and our lovely home town of Rehoboth Beach. We hope to host you again, soon -- be sure to consider us during other holidays from school, all year long! All our best wishes for a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I had a quick getaway and made last minute reservations through a booking group. It turned out that the reservation failed to go through although I received a confirmation. When I got to the hotel, the hotel said that I didn't have a room, but the gentleman bent over backwards to make arrangements for me to stay. I got an upgraded room...apartment, really, with great views and I couldn't have been happier! The accomodations were quite clean and well kept, which is great in a beach town. Staff was wonderful all the way around and I hope to get back there again.

Room Tip: Ocean side rooms have wonderful views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Choirlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This beautiful hotel was located was located on the Boardwalk only steps from the beach and featured a great restaurant for both breakfasts and dinners. The decor was definitely Victorian with many original antiques as well as some charming, quirky items such as several pet birds who interacted with the guests. Our room was delightful and well equipped. I highly recommend this hotel for a stay at the beach.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We arrived really late to check in on Sunday night. The front desk was quick and efficient since we were exhausted. The bell hop walked to our car with us, showed us a great place to park and took our bags from the car right to our room. On our first full day after hitting the beautiful beaches we went back to the pool. Although the pool was small it was perfect for our small children. The best part of the pool was Andy the pool attendant who was great playing with all the children. Andy helped get everyone drinks, towels and pool toys. She even hopped in the pool with our kids and played with them. We ordered breakfast room service which was reasonable, great and quick! The front desk was also very helpful with recommending restaurants and novelty stores. Both restaurants recommended were exactly what we were looking for. I will recommend this hotel to all of my friends.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mbuco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for the 5-star review! We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and the amenities of the hotel, and we certainly appreciate your recommending us to your friends. We pride ourselves on providing excellent service to our guests, and we are happy to hear that from the desk staff, to the bell staff, to the pool attendant that is what you received. We hope you will come back and see us again, soon! Have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had a lovely vacation at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel! The staff were so patient and kind when I changed the date of our arrival one hundred times. This is the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed at on the beach! The pool was comfortable and the people working at the pool were helpful and inviting. I can't wait to get back!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a fridge in your room. Some rooms do not have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JenSMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#17 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
593 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#2 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,711 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
269 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#12 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Property: Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Address: 2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Plaza Hotel – think of us as a beach house – with 84 bedrooms!At the Boardwalk Plaza, we are fortunate to call the ocean’s edge our home, and happy to offer you a unique and comfortable respite from the world where you can truly get away from it all. From the moment you step under our antique wrought-iron canopy and enter the lobby, our staff stands ready to offer you exceptional service. Whether you choose a suite with a private balcony, a deluxe accommodation that adds a whirlpool-for-two – or something in between – you’ll find an artful combination of freshly updated, Victorian-reproduction furnishings and can’t-do-without amenities like free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. From heavenly bedding to downy-soft bath towels and robes to remarkable room service with a smile, we do everything possible – and then some – to make you feel pampered. All of our guests can enjoy all-day dining in our oceanfront restaurant and relax in our heated indoor soaking pool. For adults traveling without children, our keyed-access concierge level offers accommodations enhanced with genteel extras and use of the private rooftop sundeck and spa.Like the ocean, we never close! Both the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel and Victoria’s Restaurant are open year-round. Join us for a weeklong vacation or a romantic escape – from a summer beach holiday to a cozy winter getaway. You pick the season that suits you best and we’ll take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Boardwalk Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Plaza Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Boardwalk Plaza
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel Rehoboth Beach, Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing