We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE ROOM/ONLINE BOOKING”
Review of Oceanus Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oceanus Motel
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE ROOM/ONLINE BOOKING”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Dont book your room online. We have been staying at Oceanus for over 40 years. When we we complained to the woman in the office, her only response was that we should NOT have been allowed to book this room online??? Okay??? Then don't put us in there because we don't want that room! They did nothing about their mistake such as putting us in another room or discounting the room. This was the most depressing motel/hotel room we have ever stayed in. There was no sunlight, or chairs in front (like all the others rooms have) and it faced a concrete wall near the soda machines. Oceanus should also have a description of this room on their website explaining that this is a corner room with no sunlight and a view of a concrete wall. This room was not fit for a dog. We paid $1,000.00 for a three night stay! Sleeping in our cars would have been better accomodations with the exception of not having a bathroom. Oceanus should have compensated us monetarily for mistakenly allowing us to book this room online. We have been customers of theirs for over 40 years and this is how we are treated.

Room Tip: Don't book your room online...you may wind up in one of these horrible corner rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnrManagement, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
The Oceanus Motel has always provided our guests with the best customer service and honesty which is evident in the 100+ reviews below. The guest made their own reservation online for the specific ADA room which is located on the first floor. The room is in no way different than the rest of our rooms and one that many guests prefer. Unfortunately we were completely full when they arrived and we did our best to try to change the room to satisfy their needs. My staff and I are always willing to help and accommodate our guests needs to the best of our ability. We wish that if you return to stay with us in the future that you will call us direct so that way we can help you reserve the room that you want.

Sincerely,
David Beebe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    132
    21
    2
    12
See reviews for
252
167
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The staff service was friendly and helpful. I enjoyed the coffee that was freshly made and was located in the front office where you check in and out. The hotel is in a central location of the town and there are plenty of competitive places to stay. This place is one of the better ones.

Room Tip: go with poolside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Oceanus is a couple blocks from the beach, so you can walk...also to restaurants in the area. I park my car the entire time. There is a pool out front, so this is a lot of fun for kids, especially. I've been back many times.

Room Tip: First floor if walking up stairs is an issue. I like all levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kaydi_niadancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is an older property but quite clean. Beds were very comfortable, not great but "sleepable". The property is only two blocks from the boardwalk. The beaches were very very crowded but the motel pool was a fairly good size and very clean. Local restaurants were clean and affordable. Rate was a little high but within on-season expectations of cost.

Room Tip: 3 floors....NO elevator,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RJB97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had stayed at the Oceanus years ago and after staying at other places in Rehoboth decided to check out the Oceanus again! When I read the reviews on Trip Advisor, I noticed that many people stated in their reviews that it was very clean and once we got there we could understand why. We were so impressed with how neat and clean the Oceanus was, and housekeeping is the reason that we will be returning there. Our room was absolutely immaculate, and you could tell that housekeeping went of its way to make it nice. Besides being extremely clean, it's also in a good location - right around the corner from shops and restaurants and minutes from the beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank pvp67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at several hotels in Rehoboth Beach over the past few years, and the Oceanus is by far my favorite.
I just returned from a 5 night stay, and I couldn't have been more pleased.

The Oceanus is in a great, central location; it's just off the Rehoboth Ave. (the main strip), and only two blocks from the beach.

The property is clean and well-maintained, and the staff are all courteous and friendly.

Our room was clean, and housekeeping did a thorough job each day. The beds were quite comfortable. The sheets and towels were of better quality than I've experienced at other comparable properties.

The free WiFi service was excellent! I have two kids who are iPad junkies. They had no complaints about the service -- it was consistently fast. The room also had cable TV with a decent offering of channels, including HBO.

The pool is small, but very nice. My youngest finds the ocean a bit intimidating, so he really enjoyed swimming in the pool each afternoon.

I was truly impressed with the Oceanus. If you're looking for clean, comfortable accommodations in Rehoboth, and you don't need lots of fancy extras, you'll be pleased with this motel. I plan to return soon.

Thank you to everyone at the Oceanus for making our stay so enjoyable!
I

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moiragw414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very accommodating and friendly staff. Cleaning crew went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. Excellent location to town, shops,restaurants and beach. Will definitely stay again! Pool was a bonus as well as washer and dryer.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssp63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
846 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#16 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
590 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#2 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
2,051 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanus Motel

Property: Oceanus Motel
Address: 6 2nd St, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oceanus Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oceanus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanus Motel Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Oceanus Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing