We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served it's purpose and then some.”
Review of Oceanus Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oceanus Motel
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Served it's purpose and then some.”
Reviewed 27 August 2010

I thoroughly read reviews here before selecting this hotel. Based on what I'd read, the hotel met my expectations. Our room was east facing on the first floor directly across from the pool. And if we looked hard on a clear day, we could actually see the ocean from our room. I called to make the reservation and was hesitant about getting a room right next to the pool. I was concerned about the possible noise. But during our one night stay there was no noise to speak of at all. I ended up appreciating the proximity to the pool for the convenience. I don't usually use hotel pools. But this one was very inviting - clean and well kept.

The staff was very pleasant and welcoming as others have said. We actually stayed on the property, in the pool and parked in the lot, about an hour or more after we checked out. And we weren't harassed about leaving.

The room was clean as expected. Nothing extraordinary about it at all. The beds were comfortable. It looked exactly liked the pictures on their website www.oceanusmotel.com. The rooms had a contemporary look which was nice.

The greatest thing about it is the location. Every restaurant you could want is within walking distance. The boardwalk is 2 (long) blocks away. But it's the part of the boardwalk where all the action is.

What I liked least? I don't like motels. I prefer hotels with rooms that open to the interior of a building. But for a motel, this place was just fine.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MochaMama40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    129
    19
    2
    12
See reviews for
244
161
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hazleton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

spent a night here on our way home without any reservations.was able to check the room out before booking and even got a great deal 149 instead of 229 for a night in august ,"didn't even have to ask".Close enough to the beach two city streets , and shops and restaurants steps away.It also has a very nice pool, lcd tv's,and free wifi .I would definitely recommend this motel .

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josejitsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We only stayed one night but the front desk staff was wonderful and so friendly. Normally I'm not a "motel" kind of girl but we wanted something close to the action for 1 night and this fit the bill and budget. Great price! And the pool area is very simple and clean and nice. Our only drawback was construction going on at the motel next to our room so that woke us up nice and early. That was a huge drawback but it's probably done by now. I would reccommend staying here if you are visiting Rehoboth Beach.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We have been coming to the Oceanus for nearly 20 years. It's always been clean and comfortable and well located only two blocks from the Boardwalk. Over the years they have upgraded various things. Every room has a little refrigerator and microwave, iron, hairdryer etc. This year they added new flat screen TV s and new bed linens. Not sure if the beds are new but they are comfortable. They have all kinds of packages for off season discounts. We always enjoy coming in the fall when the beach crowds have abated.
We did miss the one thing we always got with the room, which was the free continental breakfast. It was simple but tasty and convenient. They still offer free coffee and tea.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dvera45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanhope (Byram Township), NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

This is our third summer vacation trip back to the Oceanus. We just love it. The rooms are clean and I am really picky and they pass my tests. The staff is great, really, really great and very accomodating and friendly. The location is awesome. We park our car when we get there and leave it. The motel is within walking distance of everything in town and the beach. Our kids are 4 and 7 and we walked to Funland and the beach every day and finished the day in the pool at the motel and then walked to a local restaurant for dinner. With a microwave and fridge in the room we made breakfast and lunch in the room which saves money rather than eating out at every meal. The price of the room at the Oceanus is reasonable, I think, considering they really are in a great central location in Rehoboth. I priced hotels that were closer or right on the beach and the prices were crazy. I also checked the prices of some of the hotels out on route 1 and they weren't that much less expensive and were out of the center of town. We just love the Oceanus and hope to make a long family vacation tradition of going there each summer. :)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2009

The Oceanus has the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in at a motel. They were amazingly comfortable with down comforts and lots of pillows! Good location near everything; immaculately clean. Nice 32" flat screen and Wifi access too. The staff couldn't have been nicer as well. Overall, a great place!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monahoysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

The Oceanus was definitely a great choice for us. Two blocks to the beach, near all the stores, restaurants, and the boardwalk. Very, very clean and quiet. Felt "at home".

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jswedek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#16 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
580 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
2,007 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#11 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanus Motel

Property: Oceanus Motel
Address: 6 2nd St, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oceanus Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Oceanus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanus Motel Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Oceanus Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing