We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls weekend”
Review of Henlopen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Henlopen Hotel
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Wrightsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Girls weekend”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Went with some girlfriends and this place was perfect. Had a balcony overlooking the ocean and beach. Watched 2 weddings on the beach...pretty cool. Had a nice breakfast included...nothing fancy but perfect for us. We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaS1714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    96
    69
    26
    23
See reviews for
116
73
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, VA USA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed here to attend my niece's beach wedding. It has the feel of an old hotel that is past its heyday. It does feel like it's had a facelift in the last few years, with new tile flooring in the lobby and rooms. It's a low-service hotel but a very good value. We stayed just one week before Memorial Day and got an $85-a-night rate (I think that's below rack, since we were there for a wedding in the hotel), which jumps to a minimum of $249 in high season.

We arrived to grab a luggage cart for self-service; the hotel has no bell staff. I rolled our full cart up a too-short ramp to the front door. Make sure you have a friend who can hold the door, which despite an apparent renovation was still a swing-open door--no automatic sliding doors to help you get your cart through.

They still use metal room keys, the first ones I've seen in decades at a hotel. They are standard Schlage keys, easy to lose, as we later found (oops). The room doors open to an outdoor hallway, and on the rainy afternoon when we arrived water was dripping incessantly from the hall ceiling so we were sprinkled on as we opened our doors and got the luggage into the rooms.

We booked two rooms, one with two double beds and one with a king. They were connecting. The room was modestly but neatly furnished. There was an open area near the door with a clothes rod but no closet, and no in-room safe. Only one room had a suitcase stand. We found little surprises throughout the stay that betray a lack of attention to detail by the housekeepers. Most notably there was a cigarette pack on the nightstand shelf, empty save for a burned butt, and there was popcorn on the floor under the bed. We also felt that management had skimped on the details when renovating. The hangers were the plastic tube hangers like you get by the case at the Container Store, which are OK for shirts but not as good for pants and suits. The bathroom shower heads were cheap household builder's grade, as were the toilet paper holders which were not securely attached. The drapes across the balcony door were heavy to help block the light, but there was not the typical lightweight curtain behind them if you wanted to allow light in the room but still have some privacy. The rooms had LCD TVs, although 24" which is the smallest I've seen in a hotel. Granted, we never had time to watch much TV and didn't mind, but just another sign they seemed to be cutting corners.

There is no WiFi available in guest rooms. A secure WiFi connection is available in the lobby.

The rooms had a side view of the ocean, and the sounds of the waves breaking was very atmospheric. But the same lack of soundproofing that allowed the soothing sounds of the breakers also lets through the jarring sounds of late-night revelers lingering in the hallway, and children shrieking and running at 7:00 AM. I called the front desk at 12:15 AM to tell them about the hallway party, and either the party burned itself out or someone came up to investigate, but 20 minutes later all was quiet.

The rooms are non-smoking but they allow smoking on the balconies. We did not notice any smell of smoke in our rooms despite the evidence that a smoker had stayed there.

The location is prime for Rehoboth, at the north end of the boardwalk. It was only a few minutes' walk down the boardwalk to Rehoboth Avenue.

A continental breakfast is included in a breakfast room which you have to walk down an outdoor walkway to access. Breakfast included a coffee dispenser machine (thanks for including decaf), another dispenser with OJ and apple juice, an assortment of commercial individually packaged muffins, danish, and cereal bars, fresh unpeeled fruit, assorted yogurt, and a freezer with Jimmy Dean sausage biscuits and breakfast burritos that could be heated in a microwave. There were no fresh-made items but the room was very well attended and stocked and they never ran out of anything.

I've listed several picky details but overall I can't complain. It's just that management could lift the experience significantly if they went just an extra step here and there. The stay was mostly comfortable, and the hotel met all our basic needs. I might balk at spending $279 for the same room in July/August but I'm not familiar with the Rehoboth market so perhaps that's what you have to pay for a basic room at a basic hotel that happens to have a great location.

Room Tip: Beware of 7th floor rooms--nice view but the big party room is on 8. Ice machines are only on some f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff_and_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niskayuna, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We have been coming to Rehoboth for over 50 years since I was a small child and now my adult children also make it an annual (or more) event. Those years when we dont have time to rent a condo or house,we always stay at the Henlopen. From year to year,they remember us and remember our room preference on the 7th floor. While it may not be as posh as a neighboring hotel,it is infinately friendlier and more welcoming than the other boardwalk hotels and the price is very reasonable considering the boardwalk location. Even during weddings,it is not very noisy and the boardwalk location is much quieter than any of the other boardwalk hotels.The rooms are always clean and wlecoming and the staff are so accomodating, The breakfast is not meant to rival any or the big box chain "free breakfasts" so it should not be comapred to them,but more just a courtesy continental breakfast. It is worth the walk to any number of interesting breakfast places or a short walk to the market or cafe papillon to bring back french pastries and coffee. That is part of the magic of Rehoboth,to explore some of the neatest and excellent restaurants within walking distance, We love to come to the Henlopen time after time and over all these years have never regretted a stay. I have traveled alot around the nation for work before I retired and, I find the Henlopen offers a nice stay for very reasonable prices,considering its location and the prices of other boardwalk hotels, Always a good experience and I always feel safe there.We have tried other hotels further down the boardwalk and have found some to be bordering on sleazy and noisy beyond the point of being tolerable. The Henlopen has never been like that at all.!!! We highly recommend it to you,

Room Tip: Seventh floor ocean front rooms are wonderful,quiet and great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 509melaniep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is an amazing place. On the beach, one of the best beaches anywhere, withing a short walk into town where everything you could want is for a vacation. Easy parking and excellent location for anyone at the beach.

Room Tip: It's all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I must say that we were a bit hesitant about going to this hotel after reading the reviews here but it exceeded my expectations by far. The hotel is really on the beach and if you have the chance book a room with ocean view. It is just simply the best. If you like new decor and high end furnishings this hotel is probably nothing for you but the room we stayed in was very clean and spacious. Carpets were spotless, fresh coat of paint and the bathroom got an upgrade and had a separate bathtub and shower and was very nice and big. There was even a double vanity!. Bed was comfortable and there was a flatscreen tv. There was also fridge, microwave , coffee machine and iron board. Very nice balcony to enjoy the beach, sea and boardwalk view. Located on the quiet part of the boardwalk but still a very short walk to Rehoboth Ave.

The staff is really helpful and very friendly. You really unwind here. Breakfast is continental and basic but there is yoghurt, cereal, milk, orange and apple juice, coffee, a selection of packed muffins and danish, oatmeal, kellogg's bars, bagels with cream cheese and several kinds of jelly. The breakfast room is spotless and and the hostess is so friendly.

Again this location is just amazing. On forehand I doubted to go for the Comfort Inn or Hampton Inn along route 1 close to the Tanger Outlets. Believe me if you can go to this hotel if you want to be close to the beach and unwind. I just simply love this place.

Room Tip: Go for an Ocean view room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkusvdB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The location of this property could not be more ideal. My husband and I stayed here one night for a wedding reception in the hotel restaurant. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. We, luckily, had an oceanfront room, which was fantastic. The room had all the necessities, including two showers, which was a surprise. There was a frig and microwave and separate sink, nice amenities. But everything seemed to be old and worn. With a facelift this hotel could be a real competitor to Boardwalk Plaza. The food at Salero was delicious. The views were even better. Overall, an enjoyable place to stay if you are not a nit picker.

Room Tip: Go for oceanfront if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Passwordnotavailable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed there for the Dover race last weekend and it was aweful. They put us under a wedding do we couldnt sleep,the room was so small for the ridiculous price i had to pay...i go to the Dover race every year but this hotel.. NEVER AGAIN

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rehoboth Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#16 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
580 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
262 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#11 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
328 reviews
2.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#15 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
379 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henlopen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henlopen Hotel

Property: Henlopen Hotel
Address: 511 N Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2162
Region: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Henlopen Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Henlopen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henlopen Rehoboth Beach
Henlopen Hotel Rehoboth Beach, Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing