We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delightful & Relaxing Vacation!”
Review of At Melissa's B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
At Melissa's B & B
Ranked #4 of 14 Rehoboth Beach B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Delightful & Relaxing Vacation!”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We adore Rehoboth Beach and have been coming here for many years now. What matters most to us are being close to the beach and a great place to stay. At Melissa's B&B met our needs.

This is our first time staying At Melissa's. It's a comfortable beach house that became our wonderful beach home for the week of July 25th, 2011. We stayed in Room 3 on the second floor, and it was spacious, cool and clean. Our rest was quiet, relaxing and peaceful. Our private bathroom was across the hall and it was always clean.

Continental breakfast was plentiful and tasty - freshly made waffles, hardboiled eggs, sausages and bacon, fresh fruits and so much more.

There are available for us beach gear such as towels, umbrellas and an outside shower in the backyard with eco-friendly soap, shampoo and conditioner. The outside shower was an absolutely treat for us after a long hot day at the beach!

The best part of At Melissa's is Melissa herself. She's a warm, wonderful hostess and innkeeper. She is the heart of this jewel of a B&B.

We had a truly relaxing family vacation and thanks to Melissa, we also now have a new annual family tradition. The only place for us at Rehoboth Beach will be At Melissa's.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedLadyBug_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
51
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

You cannot beat the location, only 1 1/2 blocks to the beach and a short walk to great restaurants and bars. Melissa is the consummate host. So generous and friendly. The B&B was always pristine and the continental breakfast was fresh and tasty. (Loved her quiche!) She has beach chairs, coolers and towels for all to use. You MUST try out the outdoor shower. Just fantastic!

We loved coming back from a late dinner or walk on the beach to relax on the porch with a glass of wine (complementary BTW). The area is surprisingly quiet at night given its close proximity to the boardwalk, shops, etc.. At Melissa's is also gay friendly with a nice mix of people of varying ages. Just a really wonderful experience overall.

We will definitely return!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OKletsgo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This was our family's second stay at At Melissa's. We enjoyed our first stay last year so much, that we had to visit again. This summer we spent five days at the Inn and could not have enjoyed our stay more. Melissa simply makes you feel right at home. She almost seems to anticipate your every need. From the bountiful continental breakfast, with loads of fresh fruit, yogurt, bacon, hard boiled eggs and make your own waffles, to the free wine, beer and soda, not to mention our morning's Mimosas, Melissa has everything you could want. The Inn itself is just a block and a half to the beach and boardwalk, with Melissa supplying all the beach gear you need. Great restaurants (Melissa's recommendations) are also just a short walk away. The rooms (we stayed in 5 and 6) are nicely appointed, clean and comfortable. And the front porch, with cool sea breezes, is a great place to have breakfast or an evening glass of wine. We are definitely planning a trip for next season. Truly a lovely beach Inn, with a wonderful innkeeper, in Melissa.

Room Tip: Rooms 5 and 6 on second floor, room 1 on first floor and room 4 for large groups on third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KportCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This is our second stay At Melissa's and it truly makes the beach experience perfect. The rooms are bright and clean, the open air front porch is an ideal place to spend the day, and the location is equally perfect for access to the beach and shops/dining.  Even more, Melissa offers a delicious breakfast, access to wine and snacks galore, and always offers knowledgable recommendations. Simply could not be better!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mroinest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We have been going to At Melissa's for many years now. We started because it is one of the very few B&b's in Rehoboth that accept children. There are so many reasons this place is special - The sheets are heavenly, the toiletries are organic and help save the bees and smell fabulous - the breakfast is amazing with the best belgian waffles everyday and tons of fruit and coffee, capuchino, etc whenever you want, rooms and bathrooms that are updated, quiet and super clean, and charm in every corner of the place. A very large front porch is an extremely popular meeting place for all quests so it is a wonderful place to meet new and different folks from all over but if it is quiet you crave there is a wonderful backyard space too and plenty of spots to just be the two of you. Bookshelves full of books that have accumulated over the years ensure that you will find something you like. Less than 2 blocks to the beach and shopping and lots of restaurants makes it easy to get around. Melissa has all the beach gear you might need so don't pack the chairs and blankets and coolers and umbrellas.Great outdoor shower when you get back too! Free sodas, water, etc and snacks are always around. But most of all enjoy your hostess who is charming herself and is a fountain of information about all that is Rehoboth Beach

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryH0297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

I discovered At Melissa's several years ago and since that time, it has been my favorite place to stay in Rehoboth Beach. Melissa, the owner of this wonderful B&B, is a very gracious host. She provides a yummy, expanded continental breakfast with a beautiful presentation - many kinds of juice, fruit, yogurt, cereal, muffins, hard-boiled eggs, and even make-your-own waffles! Coffee, tea, bottled water, and soda are available all day as well as wine for a delightful Happy Hour on the comfy front porch! There are many more amenities such as beach chairs and towels and a pretty backyard with a grill.
At Melissa's rooms are clean, comfortable, bright and sunny - and the location sure can't be beat - about 2 blocks from the beach!
My partner and I travel with friends; but, all of the guests that we've encountered have been friendly and interactive.
I believe that the warm energy here simply encourages good feelings in all.

Room Tip: Rooms are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebrennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2010

At Melissa's is a delightful little B&B on a quieter side street in Rehoboth. It is very close to the beach, restaurants, and shopping yet tucked back for a little R&R and people watching. It was lovely to sit out on the front porch and sip a glass of wine before heading out for dinner. Melissa's friend, who was watching the B&B for her the weekend that we were there, was very nice, knowledgeable, and accommodating. My only disappointment was our room. While it was very tastefully done and had a private bathroom, our room was right next to the main door to the B&B and had a window that opened to the porch. We could hear everyone and everyone could hear us. I was able to look at a few of the upstairs rooms and they were much larger and much more private.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CT_Yankee_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
846 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#2 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,707 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
2,059 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#16 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantis Inn
Atlantis Inn
#12 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Melissa's B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Melissa's B & B

Property: At Melissa's B & B
Address: 36 Delaware Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2219
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At melissa's, a 100+ year old beach house, situated one block west of the beach and 1 block north to dining, shopping & entertainment. No cars needed here. Reminiscent of days gone by, this 100% gluten free b&b boasts a gracious front porch for whiling away the hours, be it chatting, reading or enjoying a cool refreshment. Each room, tastefully decorated has private baths, internet access and individual ac. A charming backyard with a wonderful outdoor shower, ideal when returning from the beach or just to laze about. Complimentary bike rental to enjoy the many parks and trails all around. A beautiful place where guests become friends and still continue after 22 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your At Melissa's B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Melissa`s Hotel Rehoboth Beach
At Melissa`s Bed And Breakfast
At Melissa's B & B Rehoboth Beach, Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing