We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of At Melissa's B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
At Melissa's B & B
Ranked #4 of 14 Rehoboth Beach B&B and Inns
Basking Ridge, NJ
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Home Away from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Melissa really thinks of everything! We had such a lovely experience traveling with our four year old son to Rehoboth this summer and staying "At Melissa's." There were beach towels, chairs, sand toys, and umbrellas for the beach and even bags to carry your stuff in! We loved being able to come back from the beach and shower in the lovely outdoor shower (with fresh towels always ready to go for you). Melissa also always has beverages and coolers available for you to take to and from the beach as well. The outdoor fridge was always stocked with beer and there was an indoor wine fridge. It's a "help yourself" attitude which made it nice to come back to and just relax on the front porch with a cocktail! The house overall is cozy and laid back. My son loved hanging out in the living room with the other children staying and watching movies. Breakfast was always delicious and plenty of options! Location is a plus as well - a block away in all directions from all the great stuff Rehoboth has to offer. Plenty of places to dine out at, or use Melissa's grill and kitchen to prepare your own dinner and eat out on the back patio. House is quiet and we felt our room, albeit, small, was comfy and welcoming. We are looking forward to making this our annual place to stay and continue making more memories in Rehoboth while staying here!

Room Tip: If you're traveling with children, make sure to ask Melissa for a room big enough to accommodate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orange044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
50
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed at this wonderful B & B in Rehoboth DE. Melissa is so charming and welcoming, you feel like you found a long lost friend and you were going home. I highly recommend this B & B to everyone who needs to get away and be treated like family at the same time.. Sitting on the porch, at Melissa's having a glass of wine hearing the ocean in the distance is a little piece of heaven. We are so glad that we found this great B & B we will go back again in a heart beat. Trust me you won't want to leave. The food was so good the smells will wake you up with the smells traveling thur the house. This is the BEST B & B we ever stayed at, and we are going back for sure.We even made new friends, that we all went out for dinner the last night we were there.The only thing bad about it is time fly's right by you and next thing you know it's time to leave. You feel like you are leaving your childhood home. I could go one forever, but you must see for yourself. You won't be disappointed. I promise you....Go and have a good and relaxing time. Just park your car and you can walk to everything, shopping, dinner, and the boardwallk

Room Tip: . All the rooms are beautifully decorated. We stayed in room #1 with a king size bed and a private b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeckyNally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We had a wonderful stay "At Melissa's" in July of 2011. Our main reasons for visiting Rehoboth Beach were to go to the Dogfish Head Brewpub on Rehoboth Avenue and the Dogfish Head Brewery in Milton, DE, and to have some beach time as well. The location of "At Melissa's" is perfect: only 1.5 blocks from the beach and boardwalk, and also just a short walk from the shops and restaurants downtown; we didn't need to use our rental car for anything that we did in Rehoboth. Melissa provided a wonderful selection of breakfast items each morning; I am a vegetarian and my husband is an omnivore, and we were both very happy with the delicious breakfast offerings: hard boiled eggs, waffles (make them yourself using batter already prepped), the pastry/baked good du jour, the meat item du jour (bacon or sausage) fresh fruit, a choice of juices, coffee, tea, etc. Complimentary wine, soda, and beer was available whenever we liked. There was an adorable sitting and dining area in the backyard. Melissa's also had a beautiful front porch porch, which was lovely to sit at for dining, talking, or just relaxing. We stayed for four nights. On our first night, we stayed in the room with the daybed and a separate (but not shared) bathroom. For the next three nights, we stayed in a room with a private bath within the room. Both rooms were lovely, comfortable, and clean. The toiletries, towels, and linens provided were perfect, and our room was attended to daily. Melissa was very helpful in providing directions and suggestions for beach spots and dining suggestions when we requested them. Beach chairs, beach umbrellas, coolers/ice, and beach towels are all available for guests' complimentary use, which was very helpful. On our first beach day, we found that the particular umbrella that we had chosen from At Melissa's wasn't very functional, and the chairs were a little low for our liking, so we ended up renting both chairs and an umbrella at the beach on our second beach day instead (there are little rental kiosks all along the beach, and the rental staff will put the umbrellas into the ground for you...the rental umbrellas are very sturdy, so we found this service to be worth the money for our purposes). Melissa was extremely accommodating of our late-arrival time on our first night there due to a late flight arrival. We felt that the price was very reasonable for a place so close to the beach and Rehoboth Avenue. If you are looking for a quiet, charming place that is also convenient to the beach, boardwalk, shops, and restaurants, then I highly recommend "At Melissa's." We loved our stay "At Melissa's," and will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Rehoboth Beach!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveMyGrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Fishkill, New York
Level Contributor
153 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

My fiancee and I stayed here in the summer of 2011. We didn't make our reservation until only a couple weeks before we intended to go, and were surprised that Melissa still had a room available. Our room and the house in general were furnished well and comfortably. We had great nights' sleep in the (to us) very large bed. Melissa was personable and available, interacting with all the guests (around 8 of us in total, give or take) morning, afternoon, and evening. She had good recommendations for restaurants, things to do, and places to visit. The breakfasts were tasty, and the afternoon snacks were a treat. We appreciated the beach equipment (umbrellas, chairs, toys, towels, etc) she had for us to take to the beach with us - only 2 blocks away. The house is also only a couple blocks off the main drag, yet it was peacefully quiet at night. We had a really enjoyable time here, and so it seemed did all the other guests, many of whom had been coming back to Melissa's repeatedly and for several years. The price was no worse than anything else in Rehoboth Beach during the summer beach tourist season, and lower than the impersonal giant hotels that line the boardwalk (again, only a couple blocks away).

Room Tip: We liked the front corner room on the second floor, for the sunlight and the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singerislandsummer
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Lovely, charming, welcoming, classic, comfortable, exquisite, unique Bed and Breakfast has to be experienced to understand how it manages to combine fun and warmth with all the amenities and comforts you could possibly imagine from a 5-star accommodation.
At Melissa's has a special feeling that can only be chalked up to Melissa's
expertise in hospitality and her overall wonderful personality.

I can't say enough about this delightful house with it's perfect porch, friendly feel, interesting and beautiful authentic and historical look and character, a true Rehobeth Beach classic!

You won't find any better in a B&B, it really does feel like having your own beach house, perfectly kept and stocked for your every comfort.

Great location, a block and a few doors from the beach and all the best restaurants and shops. If you don't know where to start, Melissa is so helpful in recommendations and advice, that she will leave you as educated as a local. Her breakfast is super healthy and there is a huge bountiful buffet of fruit, yogurts, hard boiled eggs, juices, quiches, sausages, even a waffle iron! There is always access to gourmet coffee machine that is a snap to use, and if that is not enough, a whole refrigerator full of free cold beer, a parlor full of wine and wide array of yummy snacks and even a bloody Mary station.
Being vegetarian and gluten free myself, Melissa was so helpful in steering my husband and I to some perfect restaurants, and made gluten free waffle batter just for me, along with providing some gluten free pretzels, crackers and cheese snaps. If there is any thing you need or are interested in, it magically appears!

Our room, #5, had the most comfortable California king matress
and super high thread count linens. Big fluffy towels, top of the line spa products, beach towels, anything you need for the beach, coolers, chairs. The thing I also loved about this room was that it had tons of drawer and closet space, and a
comfy little sofa. I also loved the big airy brightness with sunshine, ocean air, hardwood floors, the exact way a beach house should feel! You can regulate the temperature yourself and there is also a ceiling fan.
All rooms have a private bathroom, ours had a huge one with closet, vanity with drawers, cupboard, bathtub, and shower with glass doors that created a 'steam shower' effect. (there is also a huge covered outdoor shower in the spacious back yard). Ample parking, even a grill and a soda/water machine that is free to fill up your cooler for the beach. There is literally nothing you will need but your clothes here.
We were the only non- repeat guests, but that won't be for long!
We will definitely be back soon.
Had the best, memorable stay!
@ Melissa's is definitely our new favorite, and by far the most fun, easy time we've ever had at a B&B!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singerislandsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

At Melissa's is a cute, old-fashioned beach house two blocks from the beach and boardwalk along Delaware Avenue, and is within two blocks walking distance of all the shops on Rehoboth Avenue, as well as restaurants. The home is about 100 years old, with gray clapboard and a big front porch with cute white wicker furniture. Our room on the second floor was nicely decorated with a king-sized bed and extra day bed, in sunny yellow and blue colors with a teddy bear. The bath was directly across the hall and came with a key so you could lock it. While we didn't spend a lot of time in the room, it was still pleasant to come home to after the beach, or after dinner each night. The bathroom was small, but nice enough, except it tended to get steamy and hot in there, as there was only an electric fan on the back of toilet to take the humidity out, and could be a little claustrophobic, but served its purpose. Clean towels are available upon request, and the room is cleaned daily. Melissa herself was very friendly and helpful and provided whatever you needed (including a parking pass for the Henlopen Acres beach parking lot) as well as wireless Internet. Each morning she served up a nice buffet breakfast which was ready when you woke up, with wonderful waffles and a waffle iron to cook them with yourself; blueberries, strawberries, sausage, eggs, cereal, juices, yogurt and other fruits. The breakfast menu varied slightly from day to day, but was always delicious. Guests could eat on her front porch, or in the dining room where there was a big table with several chairs, as well as a smaller table; or gather just to talk, and spend time in the dining room, as well as the cozy living room where there was a TV inside of the armoire, along with toys for children to play with. The back of the home had a marvelous kitchen, and there were also some picnick tables outside and a grill, as well as a soft drink vending machine, with free drinks for your trips to the beach. Parking was a little tight along the back and side of her home, but she still managed to squeeze in five or so large cars there, but backing in is required from the street into the driveway and your assigned spot. There are beach chairs, towels and umbrellas too, that you can use daily. The beach chairs however had been soaked with rain, and had a bit of rust on them which was something to be careful of so it didn't come off on your towel, clothes, or car. The house itself had had narrow stairs with two rooms at the bottom of the stairs, as well as three or so on the second level, and a fourth one up another flight of stairs on the top level, large enough for a family. The hallway to the rooms was also very narrow, so carrying luggage could be a little challenging, but still doable. All the people who stayed at the B & B were friendly and nice, with a variety of ages, including families as well as friends - with some who returned each year because they had enjoyed their stay at the house so much, and had become good friends with Melissa! Melissa also gave lots of good restaurant recommendations, which we took advantage of - eating one night at The Oyster Bar down the street, and at another nearby restaurant too. She keeps all the restaurant info and menus stored in her front entrance hallway. All in all, it was a fun, quaint and comfortable place to stay - and we would recommend it to anyone looking for a B&B at the beach. We previously had stayed at The Corner Cupboard Inn which was on the other side of Rehoboth, in Henlopen Acres (on Park Avenue), but is no longer open as an Inn. At Melissa's turned out to be a great alternative, and we were very happy with the choice!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rehoboth_DCfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

I have stayed many times at this B& B. It is truly a splendid place. It is very comfy and cozy and well cared for. The front porch is a delight for all. Everyone seems to enjoy it so much. The location is just a block and a half from the ocean and easy walking distance to restaraunts, bars and shops.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachbumsoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#16 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#14 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Admiral Hotel
Admiral Hotel
#7 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Melissa's B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Melissa's B & B

Property: At Melissa's B & B
Address: 36 Delaware Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2219
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At melissa's, a 100+ year old beach house, situated one block west of the beach and 1 block north to dining, shopping & entertainment. No cars needed here. Reminiscent of days gone by, this 100% gluten free b&b boasts a gracious front porch for whiling away the hours, be it chatting, reading or enjoying a cool refreshment. Each room, tastefully decorated has private baths, internet access and individual ac. A charming backyard with a wonderful outdoor shower, ideal when returning from the beach or just to laze about. Complimentary bike rental to enjoy the many parks and trails all around. A beautiful place where guests become friends and still continue after 22 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your At Melissa's B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Melissa`s Bed And Breakfast
At Melissa`s Hotel Rehoboth Beach
At Melissa's B & B Rehoboth Beach, Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing