We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Ice Cream”
Review of Starkey's Cones

Starkey's Cones
Ranked #17 of 28 Dessert in Rehoboth Beach
Restaurant details
Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
1,209 reviews
684 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,808 helpful votes
“Good Ice Cream”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I must admit in all my years of visiting starkey's, this is my 1st time getting ice cream there. I usually get the frozen chocolate banana or a funnel cake. However, since they expanded their ice cream selections, I decided to try their blueberry cheesecake ice cream. They gave me a free sample before I bought it, which I thought was nice. It was pretty good. It was a creamy blueberry ice cream with pieces of graham cracker in it. I got a pretty decent sized scoop for $3.50. On top of that we got a bonus ice cream for FREE!! Someone before us had ordered a cup of ice cream and decided not to get it, so the owner gave it to us for free. It was starting to melt a little, but we didn't care. We thought that it was great to get a bonus cup of ice cream! My husband ate the soft serve, since I had the hand dipped blueberry. He said he really enjoyed it...more than Kohr Bros!

Overall, good food, decent prices and quick service. Will keep coming back!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daisyferret1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    4
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
1,209 reviews
684 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,808 helpful votes
“NOW More Ice Cream Flavors & still LOVE the chocolate frozen banana!”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stopped by here the other day for one of my favorite boardwalk treats on a hot day--the frozen chocolate dipped banana. Was waited on in a matter of minutes, the banana dipped before my eyes & I was on my way. The price of the banana has gone up to $3.00 this season, but it is still worth it. I love that it is a refreshing cool treat that doesn't melt all over your hands. Plus you don't feel as guilty as you would devouring a huge sundae! Noticed that the one location has added TONS of ice cream flavors to it's menu. They also have popcorn, cotton candy, sno cones and etc. It's a nice boardwalk stop (take out window) for a cool treat.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daisyferret1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unique flavors!!”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Loved being able to try unique and unusual flavors!! Love the chocolate eclair ice cream!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Yummy Funnel Cakes!”
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Yummy Funnel Cakes!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“With all due respect – are you kidding me?”
Reviewed 9 February 2010

With all due respect – are you kidding me? Starkey’s??? The generically named “ICE CREAM STORE” at #3 Rehoboth Avenue (right next to Candy Kitchen) serves ice cream from Woodside Farm Creamery, which IMHO is the best ice cream in the world – they have exotic flavors (including BACON), but all the classics and an amazing “Cake Batter.”

Starkey's has "good" ice cream (is there bad ice cream?) - but it is strictley an overflow place if you don't have time to wait for heaven on earth

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DCNative2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Starkey's Cones also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Starkey's Cones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing