We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We’re not going back”
Review of Hobos Restaurant + Bar - CLOSED

Hobos Restaurant + Bar
Price range: US$10 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Bountiful, flavorful, organic food lovingly prepared entirely from scratch by Executive Chef Gretchen Hanson in her sassy Global Eco-fusion style Season and local menu chemical and preservative free.
Delaware
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“We’re not going back”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We dined here a week ago. Prior to our visit we heard some good and bad things about the restaurant. For us unfortunately, the bad things out weighed the good things.
We dined outside and not inside. We did go inside to have a look around and it seemed nice, but it did some more like a café than a fine dining restaurant. By the prices I would say this is a fine dining establishment.
The food was expensive and it’s average. None of our meals were outstanding, just average. Our waitress was very persistent and kept pestering us and wanted to rush us through dinner, but we wanted to relax and enjoy ourselves. I would understand if they wanted to turn the table if they were busy with people waiting, but that wasn’t the case. It was a quiet night.
Our table was wobbly and so was the chair. The seating is crammed because they have too many tables. The lighting was poor. The bathrooms (both) were disgusting. I got a glimpse of the kitchen and storage areas and I wish I hadn’t. The place felt dirty the minute we walked in and from what I could tell it was. For the money we spent and for the quality of food we received we were not impressed at all. We won’t be going back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank buchanan913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    64
    32
    24
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Millsboro, Delaware
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I have taken several of our friends and family to Hobos because we enjoy good food, service, and friendly faces. Chef Gretchen, owner, always speaks with her customers to make sure they are enjoying themselves and the food is prepared to their satisfaction.
I admire her for this wonderful qualilty.
If you are a vegan, vegetarian, or a real meat lover there is a food choice for all appetites.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RescuedPets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food year after year!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I love going to Rehoboth Beach every year. I enjoy the restaurants in town and one of my favorites is Hobos. Their food is fresh, healthy, and delicious. Everyone who works there is friendly and want to make sure I have a great experience. I do...year after year!

Thanks Gretchen for serving up another year of outstanding cuisine!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MIKL_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just YUM”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Attended a group party here last weekend and was in awe of such a large menu where everything was still done well. I definitely recommend the buddha bowls. Really delicious and you won't feel guilty eating the entire thing. Thanks to our host, Gretchen, and her team!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cotler K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Airy, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding Vegan Meal”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My wife and I are vegetarian and strive to be Vegan. It is so very difficult to find a restaurant while traveling. We recently experienced an outstanding vegan lunch at Hobos in Rehobeth Beach. The owner, Gretchen, and all the staff are a special treat to talk to. The service, the food, the decor are all fantastic. Gretchen even was familiar with our favorite local Vegan restaurant, Great Sage in Clarksville, Maryland.

It is such a treat to meet and talk to like-minded people. Go to Hobos, you'll love it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stewart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hobos Restaurant + Bar also viewed

 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing