We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss Silver Lake Extension & Park!”
Review of Silver Lake

Silver Lake
Attraction details
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't Miss Silver Lake Extension & Park!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Many other reviewers have captured the beauty of Silver Lake, but sadly seem unaware that if they just keep walking away from the ocean and follow the lake, they will come to a beautiful park, complete with a footbridge over the lake. The "Silver Lake Tot Lot" is really so much more than a tot lot. It's the best place to go and hang out, watch nature, etc.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnParris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    15
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
197 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Stunning, do not miss this on your visit to DE Beaches”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This lake is in the area between Dewey and Rehoboth. I believe it is Bayard Avenue. You cannot see this from Rt 1 you have to travel between the two towns to see it. This is a good sized lake and there are gazebos and numerous luxury homes across the street from it. It is kind of confusing to know where the private property begins and the public property ends. You could probably manage a picnic blanket lunch there, but at a minimum drive by bike by or walk by. It is so pretty!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DEBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Silver Lake”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Before I came to Rehoboth Beach I saw Silver lake on the map and decided to walk there. It was a mile and a half away. I walked down Bayard ave and as I approached it, I was not disappointed. The lake was gorgeous and there were benches and gazebos around the Lake and I was told, by someone who was passing, that the property was private. So I stood on the public road and just admired it. It is a beautiful walk.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cmdwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Small lake just a few hundred feet from the Atlantic”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

There's a small, very slow road that runs beside Coastal Highway for awhile. Look to the east and you will see a lake that's home to geese and ducks and high-priced "cottages". It's lovely. This is not a spot for anyone who is in fast-paced mode. It's for bicycles, runners, people on a walk with children or dogs or just for the peace of it. Even drivers have to slow down to 25 mph and breathe in the calm. When dusk arrives, you see how the lake got its name. The gently rippled water begins to gleam like liquid silver. Most of the shore is privately owned, so it's not a place you can camp out for the day. But you may linger a bit, take pictures, sneak down to the water's edge and toss in some bread for the lake's inhabitants. It is truly lovely and a nice break from the noise and business of the local, highly popular beaches.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“No public seating”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I rented a bike to ride to Silver Lake. There is a public road, but no place to just sit and relax to enjoy the lake. The homes are nice. It was a little hilly and/or I was out of shape. It's can be very humid.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ercelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silver Lake also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Silver Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing