We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Friendliest”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jolly Trolley of Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Jolly Trolley is a privately held company that was established in 1970 as the original tour and transportation system for Rehoboth Beach and Dewey Beach, Delaware. Unique worldwide, we take great pride in our offering of the most complete and proffessional transportation service in our local area with exceptional service through the use of colorful, fun, and unique transportation services. Our Exceptional and Professional Charter Service operates YEAR ROUND and provides transportation for small to large groups, for Nights out on the Town, trips to All Major Airports and Train Stations, and Weddings large to small, our vehicles do it all!
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Was in Rehoboth taking pictures of street scenes at the end of Rehoboth Ave. One of the Jolly Trolley vehicles was in one of the photos. The driver approached me and, quite aggressively, asked why I photographed "his" trolley. He said something about my stealing the idea or design of the trolley. Does the driver do this to the many thousands of visitors who photograph the trolley?
Considering the number of tourists using phones with cameras or carrying cameras the trolley is in many of the photos taken every day. If the driver had any sense he would offer to pose with visitors next to the trolley to promote business, not threaten anyone who is taking an innocent photo.

5  Thank Panaphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for Jolly Trolley of Rehoboth Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 101 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

OK, if you are an adult and act like an adult, this is not for you. Call the cab company, get the driver's name and tip well, and use that. The Jolly Trolley is open, exposed to the hot summer and cold fall/spring air, it creaks along as a trailer behind someone's SUV. There's no real communication with the driver so unless you know exactly where you are going, it's "convenience" is debatable. We used to stay at the Surf Club Hotel/Condos in Dewey to save a few bucks and then bike or Jolly Trolley or taxi into Rehoboth Beach for the restaurants and shopping. I got there all sweaty and dusty, and it just wasn't worth it for me. That said, biking wasn't all that much better, especially in the heat, and the cab bill got to be about 30 a day, so it ate into the so-called hotel savings. Add in that Dewey Beach is where college kids go to get alcohol poisoning and run wild and we gave up on the whole idea and now stay in Rehoboth Beach itself. It's true as another reviewer said, only tourists ride the Jolly Trolley, and as the cab driver told us, "After the bars close, and they take the Dewey Beach people back to their hotels, sometimes the fights get so bad on the jolly trolley that they drive it straight to the police station." It's much more civilized staying in Rehoboth, where there are tasteful drinkers as opposed to Girls-Gone-Wild antics. Not that I'm being judgmental...

4  Thank MyLifeInYur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turner H, Owner at Jolly Trolley of Rehoboth Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review Writingandtravel cabbie.

Facts:

- For lack of a nicer way of putting this, this review is slanderous and patently false regarding the Jolly Trolley and the Town of Dewey Beach. The Town of Dewey Beach certainly has a college student population but the overwhelming majority of that market are young to middle aged proffessionals from the surrounding metro zones, ie; NYC, PHL, DC, etc.. The issues directed at The Jolly Trolley are addressed below.

- The primary reasons people vacation in Rehoboth Beach and Dewey Beach are to breathe in the open sea air and enjoy the sights and sounds of a seaside resort. Outside. In extreme heat and cold The Jolly Trolley makes every effort to accommodate sensitive individuals with relief through air conditioning, by offering seats in our climate controlled Jolly Trolley pull vehicles, buses and vans'

- In over 20 years of Jolly Trolley fixed route operations, carrying millions of riders, there has been an average of less than 2 altercations per year, always late night and alcohol related. The Jolly Trolley has never gone 'straight to the police station' with riders on board, and to characterize The Jolly Trolley as a 'rolling wrestling cage match when the bars close' is someones fantasy.

- Conversely, The Jolly Trolley is inherently safe, partly due to the way we screen riders before they get on and partly due to the fact that such a large portion of The Jolly Trolley and beach market is frequented by vacationing CIA, FBI, local police, and other law enforcement individuals, all of which if caught creating disturbances can lose their jobs. Therefore, The Jolly Trolley has been historically one's safest option for transport in this market. Granted, like any late night vacation market with a vibrant bar scene, being out late in that scene is not recommended for children or overly sensitive individuals. In Rehoboth and Dewey Beach it's usually just Fridays and Saturdays, late night. Although it should be noted that many families, especially regulars and locals, have no problem entrusting their precious ones with us at any time because of our upstanding reputation.

Best regards and Travel Safe,

David, Christine, and Turner Hastings
Jolly Trolley owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

It's a nice trolly...but I'm from Delaware, and I just don't want to be seen looking like a tourist.

1  Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turner H, Owner at Jolly Trolley of Rehoboth Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thanks for your review Kate. Although I am sure you may be well intentioned, our Jolly Trolley fixed route system has never operated in February. Are you sure you were in Rehoboth Beach or Dewey Beach riding The Jolly Trolley in February 2012? Also, tourists and locals alike have loved The Jolly Trolley for over 40 years,... come give it a try! It's really fun!!!

Best regards and Travel safe,

David, Christine, and Turner Hastings
Jolly Trolley owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

The Jolly Trolley is a fun, safe and cheap alternative to driving between Dewey Beach and Rehoboth Beach. And on a weekend night, it's like a party on wheels.

2  Thank mrdcs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turner H, Owner at Jolly Trolley of Rehoboth Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thanks for your honest and accurate review mrdcs 1. Cheers!

Travel safe and Best regards,

David, Christine, and Turner Hastings
Jolly Troley owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

I was staying with a group of friends in Dewey Beach this past weekend (July 2011) and we decided to spend some time in Rehoboth a couple of nights during our stay. Most (if not all) of the parking near the Rehoboth boardwalk is metered, and we found that it was quite pricey to pay to park ($0.25 per 10 minutes, I think). On our second trip over to Rehoboth, we decided to take the Jolly Trolly to avoid the hassle of meters. The trolly was $5 per person, round trip, and stops in several places along the main road in Dewey Beach. The trip over to Rehoboth from Dewey on the open-air trolley was pleasant, and perhaps even a little jolly. Our return trip, however, was an entirely different experience. We decided to return to Dewey around 11pm on a Saturday night. We didn't have any problem finding the trolley stop, but as soon as we boarded, the driver informed us that she wasn't feeling well and couldn't drive us so we had to wait for another bus to come pick us up. Fortunately, it wasn't too long of a wait, and so we were soon on our way back to Dewey. Halfway through the short ride back to Dewey, the girl sitting in front of us vomited on the floor. If your goal is to avoid drunk people, be wary of the trolley in the evenings.

2  Thank LindsA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turner H, Owner at Jolly Trolley of Rehoboth Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write your honest review Lindsa. I remember that night. Your first driver was my wife who came down with a stomach virus but waited with you until the next vehicle arrived a few minutes later before she went off route. We are pleased you had a 'pleasant' and 'perhaps even a little jolly' trip into town. Wow, what a hot summer we had in 2011.

As you may be aware the Rehoboth Beach-Dewey Beach area is a very popular seaside resort that attracts all types of vacationers from around the world. What may surprise you is that weekends tend to attract a 'party crowd' along with families, and that occassionally people over do it consuming there favorite beverage. The person vomitting in front of you was certainly unfortunate for you and The Jolly Trolley vehicle, and whether it was due to alcohol or just a hot day on the beach eating too many fries, cotton candy, and pizza, these things do happen when tens of thousands of people congregate in one place. Please give the The Jolly Trolley fixed route service another try and I think you'll find your experience was an isolated one, and do keep in mind that 11pm on a Saturday night in July is the busiest time to ride, just like travelling to cross the Chesapeake Bay Bridge from Baltimore is on a Friday at rushhour. A little earlier or later is less busy normally although it is a fact that many people really enjoy peak time travel!

Best regards and Travel safe,

David, Chrisitne, and Turner Hastings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jolly Trolley of Rehoboth Beach also viewed

 

Been to Jolly Trolley of Rehoboth Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing