We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people to work with!”

Jolly Trolley of Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Jolly Trolley is a privately held company that was established in 1970 as the original tour and transportation system for Rehoboth Beach and Dewey Beach, Delaware. Unique worldwide, we take great pride in our offering of the most complete and proffessional transportation service in our local area with exceptional service through the use of colorful, fun, and unique transportation services. Our Exceptional and Professional Charter Service operates YEAR ROUND and provides transportation for small to large groups, for Nights out on the Town, trips to All Major Airports and Train Stations, and Weddings large to small, our vehicles do it all!
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great people to work with!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Recently I used the Jolly Trolley service in order to provide transportation for my guests to and from my wedding reception. The people at Jolly Trolley were wonderful to work with, very professional, very nice, and very prompt. The day of the wedding the drivers were very friendly, and everyone talked about how great it was to be provided transportation and how fun it was. I highly recommend using them for wedding transportation - it's a such fun way to let people enjoy themselves and not have to worry about driving. I couldn't be more pleased with my experience working with them.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    31
    8
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not jolly at all”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

The drivers and owner are arrogant and rude. I've watched them yell at customers who are waiting for the trolley and when there's too many people waiting they tell them to walk. I'm sorry I wasted even a couple dollars riding this trolley. Avoid it at all costs and just take a cab!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank sunshine482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“JT+++”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Great value great fun and you don't have to worry about driving.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank nutsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not the Friendliest”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Was in Rehoboth taking pictures of street scenes at the end of Rehoboth Ave. One of the Jolly Trolley vehicles was in one of the photos. The driver approached me and, quite aggressively, asked why I photographed "his" trolley. He said something about my stealing the idea or design of the trolley. Does the driver do this to the many thousands of visitors who photograph the trolley?
Considering the number of tourists using phones with cameras or carrying cameras the trolley is in many of the photos taken every day. If the driver had any sense he would offer to pose with visitors next to the trolley to promote business, not threaten anyone who is taking an innocent photo.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Panaphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Boston, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Cab Driver Called It "A Rolling Wrestling Cage Match When Bars Close"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

OK, if you are an adult and act like an adult, this is not for you. Call the cab company, get the driver's name and tip well, and use that. The Jolly Trolley is open, exposed to the hot summer and cold fall/spring air, it creaks along as a trailer behind someone's SUV. There's no real communication with the driver so unless you know exactly where you are going, it's "convenience" is debatable. We used to stay at the Surf Club Hotel/Condos in Dewey to save a few bucks and then bike or Jolly Trolley or taxi into Rehoboth Beach for the restaurants and shopping. I got there all sweaty and dusty, and it just wasn't worth it for me. That said, biking wasn't all that much better, especially in the heat, and the cab bill got to be about 30 a day, so it ate into the so-called hotel savings. Add in that Dewey Beach is where college kids go to get alcohol poisoning and run wild and we gave up on the whole idea and now stay in Rehoboth Beach itself. It's true as another reviewer said, only tourists ride the Jolly Trolley, and as the cab driver told us, "After the bars close, and they take the Dewey Beach people back to their hotels, sometimes the fights get so bad on the jolly trolley that they drive it straight to the police station." It's much more civilized staying in Rehoboth, where there are tasteful drinkers as opposed to Girls-Gone-Wild antics. Not that I'm being judgmental...

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank MyLifeInYur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turner H, Owner at Jolly Trolley of Rehoboth Beach, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review Writingandtravel cabbie.

Facts:

- For lack of a nicer way of putting this, this review is slanderous and patently false regarding the Jolly Trolley and the Town of Dewey Beach. The Town of Dewey Beach certainly has a college student population but the overwhelming majority of that market are young to middle aged proffessionals from the surrounding metro zones, ie; NYC, PHL, DC, etc.. The issues directed at The Jolly Trolley are addressed below.

- The primary reasons people vacation in Rehoboth Beach and Dewey Beach are to breathe in the open sea air and enjoy the sights and sounds of a seaside resort. Outside. In extreme heat and cold The Jolly Trolley makes every effort to accommodate sensitive individuals with relief through air conditioning, by offering seats in our climate controlled Jolly Trolley pull vehicles, buses and vans'

- In over 20 years of Jolly Trolley fixed route operations, carrying millions of riders, there has been an average of less than 2 altercations per year, always late night and alcohol related. The Jolly Trolley has never gone 'straight to the police station' with riders on board, and to characterize The Jolly Trolley as a 'rolling wrestling cage match when the bars close' is someones fantasy.

- Conversely, The Jolly Trolley is inherently safe, partly due to the way we screen riders before they get on and partly due to the fact that such a large portion of The Jolly Trolley and beach market is frequented by vacationing CIA, FBI, local police, and other law enforcement individuals, all of which if caught creating disturbances can lose their jobs. Therefore, The Jolly Trolley has been historically one's safest option for transport in this market. Granted, like any late night vacation market with a vibrant bar scene, being out late in that scene is not recommended for children or overly sensitive individuals. In Rehoboth and Dewey Beach it's usually just Fridays and Saturdays, late night. Although it should be noted that many families, especially regulars and locals, have no problem entrusting their precious ones with us at any time because of our upstanding reputation.

Best regards and Travel Safe,

David, Christine, and Turner Hastings
Jolly Trolley owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jolly Trolley of Rehoboth Beach also viewed

 

Been to Jolly Trolley of Rehoboth Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing