We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great experience!”

Nicola Pizza On the Avenue
Ranked #37 of 281 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
PA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Always a great experience!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Ate here during Jazz fest weekend. No mater what time of year we have visited, the food is always excellent. The pizza is awesome. This trip however, we tried the baked Ziti and a Nic-o-Boli. Both were excellent and came out piping hot and cheesey. We also asked for some long hot peppers in oil and they were quick to bring some of those out also. The staff is very friendly and attentive. Best place to end your night with after a night on the town! Can't wait to come back again in the summer!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vactioner05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    66
    38
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The Nic-o-Boli needs one thing....”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

After coming to Rehoboth for years, I finally surrendered, wandered into Nicola, and ordered a Nic-o-Boli. Good ground beef, with onion and extra cheese (I believe there's no such thing as "too much cheese"), and very tasty.

But two things. First, don't serve it on the aluminum foil it was cooked on - that just makes it difficult to cut.

Second, and this is the key.... What the Nic-o-Boli really, really needs is GARLIC! I'm not talking about a hint of garlic. I mean, it needs a boatload (to be polite) of garlic. That would put it over the top. Without that, it's good, but not something that would inspire a return trip.

Good service, Dogfish Head on tap, good "local bar" atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jGromit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Italian Pizza and Service!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

When you've grown up near an Italian neighborhood, you are spoiled by always having access to great pizza. When you move away, the only thing you can think of is having a slice of pizza - just like you used to have at the shore.
Well, Nicola pizza fits the bill. Our second night in, we decided to share a mushroom/cheese pizza at Nicola's. It was heaven - and exactly what we were looking for - authentic Italian pizza - great tasty sauce, fresh toppings, fragrant cheese and a dough that was just right! Top that off with a pitcher of great beer and we were well on our way to a great vacation at Rehoboth Beach.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Iberostar9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burke, VA
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointed This Time”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I eat at least one meal at Nicolas every time I visit Rehoboth, but my most recent visit was very disappointing. The order was incorrect and the service indifferent. I hope this was a one time occurrence.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AgostinoABurke_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Rehoboth”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Grotto pizza is good but Nicola pizza is still the best. Good crispy edge's with a chewy crust and very good sauce and cheese. The Nicoboli, a Stromboli like concoction is also very good and comes in a number of combinations. They sometimes have a Happy hour beer special. The view from the second floor is somewhat restricted by the high window ledges, but the window are open on nice days. A good value for your money but it can get crowded.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nicola Pizza On the Avenue also viewed

Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Nicola Pizza On the Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing