We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's NOT ice cream!?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Annie's Banannies - CLOSED

Annie's Banannies
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Bear, Delaware
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It's NOT ice cream!?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

I had NO idea upon entering or exiting with my "ice cream" that it was in fact not ice cream! I ordered the Banannies Foster and it was fabulous! I then read the story brochure that I had picked up while in the shop and found out it was not ice cream at all but actually a frozen banana! I LOVE that they have the Gluten-Free options listed on each menu item! It probably would have been a very healthy dessert had I not ordered one of the specials with nuts, butterscotch sauce etc... So delicious!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GuatemamaDana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    5
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waynesboro, Virginia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great lactose-free treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

What a nice surprise! My husband and I stopped by Annie's after he noticed that the store was promoting an alternative to ice cream. Since I am lactose-intolerant, I got excited.

After going for a long walk, we stopped and I got a nutty sundae,which was the puréed frozen banana and peanut butter and peanuts. It was delicious! I have two more days in Rehoboth Beach and I will go back to Annie's.

Helpful?
Thank Oriolezgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“<3”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

we love Annie's Banannies so much!! we visit several times a day when we're in Rehoboth Beach. it's once a year, but totally worth it. we love you Annie!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beth Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Best dessert ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

I don't eat dairy or white sugar, so I was very excited to find Annie's Banannies last summer. The frozen banana treat is delicious, and there are so many toppings options from which to choose. We are headed out again very soon, and Annie's Banannies is at the top of the list for my son and me!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude, unaccomidating staff member”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Having had Annie's for the first time last summer on vacation, my family was looking forward to enjoying this treat this summer. We stopped in and first noticed the layout had changed. We approached the register attendant who abruptly told us she "had nothing to take our order with" and directed us over to the ordering attendants, the only people that seemed to be professional. My daughter wanted a simple cherry only on top of her kid size treat. The girl taking the order was just going to accommodate that when the rude cash register girl rushed over and said "oh no, we can't do that"...only if my daughter got whipped cream too. WHAT??!! You can throw a measly cherry on top for a 6 year old? I had already ordered for my son or I would have walked out then. So then I ask for a kid size, and again, the unprofessional employee steps in to say "you can't...have to be under 12". I get it, but it's all in how you say it and it just added to all the negativity. So at that point, Annie's lost out on my mom's, husband's, and my order. I paid for the kids and we left knowing that that would be our last trip there all due to the horrible customer service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisamarbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Annie's Banannies also viewed

 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing