We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of The Whitson

The Whitson
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Whitson
Bristow, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This Guest House has been a favorite of ours for more that 17 years. We have raised our children here for the summer and we absolutely love the place! It's our opportunity to "unplug" the family with no TV/Phone/ipads/etc. We read, walk the boardwalk together, walk the shops on the Boulevard, eat at all of the local places and go to the beach. We rent a surry as a family and the kids will also ride the individual bikes. The Guest house is CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN and that's our #1 preference. The price is always good for the area and the A/C's are real cold on those hot summer days! We spend a lot of time on the porch having a glass of wine, eating meals that we "took out" or playing cards or board games... Real quality family time. We travel and stay at resorts, but this is the simple vacation and our family favorite.

Room Tip: There is a rooom for every type of traveler. Verna, the General Manager, will assist you with detail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mari Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    6
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Not sure what theBfamily2014 is talking about. We stayed there twice last summer and our stay was just what we expected for an older beach house. It was clean but bare bones. The beds were decent, small refrigerator in each room, ceiling fan, and air conditioner. It's the beach - we don't spend time in our rooms except to sleep and change. For the price, you cannot beat it. Verna has always been a pleasure to deal with, and I just spoke with her on the phone to make my reservations for this summer. She was just as sweet and accomodating as I remember her. Looking forward to our upcoming visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tucwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

You think the lady is a little cranky? Wait to speak with the new "owner". The deposit for reservations for next year's summer used to be one night's fee. Around February, a card was sent to request the deposit. What was our surprise when this winter we got a card 8 times higher than expected. Usually I just write the check but because of the unexpected amount I wanted to call before sending the check. I was sick the months of February and March and missed the April 1 deadline (which has never been a problem in the past). When I called, the man proceeded to tell me how he found out after his father’s death that the place has been mismanaged. From his ranting, it seemed like he wants to get rid of all the previous clients and make the most money possible before he sells it in the near future. The location is great but the new management is very unfriendly so we are not staying there anymore. The rooms are very dated, no amenities to speak of but the homey atmosphere was appealing to our family in the last 10+ years we have been staying there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theBfamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rehoboth Beach hotels

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I've stayed here numerous times and it is a good location. That being said this time turned me off completely. The old woman yelling" Your not getting your money back" even though she rented our "room" which I use slightly because it was on the porch, minutes after I told her we had a minor emergency . we just booked it late the previous night. I will never stay there again! The ol' bitty really needs to retire!

Room Tip: Look elsewhere, going down hill fast,
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Camry2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skopelos, Greece
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We stay here every summer. It's clean, it's within walking distance of beach. Like Mareya1 mentioned, barebones amenities. The woman owner can be a bit cranky, though all the reviews on here say they were very friendly. Maybe I came at the wrong time. :) Overall, a great place to go to sleep in between walking around the beach and town. Cute litle building in a nice neighborhood, cute town. Worth every penny of the $85 or so.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank airmail_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Location is superb, rooms are clean and the folks are very friendly and welcoming. I stayed with my mom who's in her 80s, so it was perfect as its' so close to the beach and the town center. No TV or wifi, but our room had a mini fridge. There is a coffee pot downstairs for those of us who can't function without our early cup of Joe! We shared a bathroom/shower - no problem at all, but did have a wash basin in the room. Rooms 1 & 2 on the top floor are large with their own bathrooms. Bike rentals next door and coffee shops & Lingo's Market are just a block away. They also provide a parking pass, which is really handy. As long as you're not looking for the lap of luxury, this is a gem.

Room Tip: 1 or 2 are large and have private bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stay at The Whitson for a few days nearly every summer. This year marks the thirty-fifth year. It's a homey, unpretentious guest house. In our younger days we'd get a room without bath and share facilities down the hall. This year we have three generations staying. Everything is within walking distance.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#16 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
580 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,658 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Henlopen Hotel
Henlopen Hotel
#18 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
2,007 reviews
0.1 mi away
Admiral Hotel
Admiral Hotel
#7 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whitson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whitson

Property: The Whitson
Address: 30 Maryland Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2129
Region: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Rehoboth Beach
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Whitson Rehoboth Beach, Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing