We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Indian River Life-Saving Station Museum at Delaware Seashore State Park
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Indian River Life-Saving Station Museum is a historic site located within Delaware Seashore State Park. Self-guided tours of the museum are offered year round and provide visitors with the opportunity to learn about the history of the United States Life-Saving Service, precursor to the current day U.S. Coast Guard.Not only is the Indian River Life-Saving Station open for tours, it also acts as the "hub" for all educational and recreational programs held within Delaware Seashore State Park. Programs cover a wide range of topics and activities from local maritime history to guided kayak tours.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Different type of Museum”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Great place to stop in if you want to learn about the lifeguards when the beach first had them. From the bracelets they wore to the suits and the difficult conditions it was a great learning experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank fabover40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    16
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Serf Men”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

While on our two-week motorcycle trip this fall we found the government had shut down most of the museums we had wanted to visit. So we had the opportunity to stop in at the Indian River Life-Saving Station Museum that was still “OPEN” for business. This was probably one of the best stops on our trip. I personally learned so much about the “Serf Men” as they were called back in the day. I loved the fact that they always set the table for dinner in advance so even when the men we called out into the storm they knew there was a place for them at the table upon their return. It ended up being an emotional visit for my partner. He had been on a ship that unfortunately sank at sea and was rescued by the Coast Guard. For him it was an honor to visit this museum. Put it on your bucket list, it is worth the stop.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank EMoonDance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Delaware, United States
1 review
“Awesome docent!”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We took our 8 year old grandson for "something to do local" on Friday, Sept. 20th and WOW! The docent, John told us he had just transferred from Assateague (MD) National Park to this site. He was absolutely terrific and made our outing a wonderful visit. We would highly recommend this site to anyone who has any interest in the seashore history - we will definitely return.

There was also a great gift shop - not just typical souvenirs! Something for all ages and interests, most very affordable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean View, Delaware
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun Time”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The Museum tells a tale. We had visit during a demo, which was very interesting. There is a lot of things to explore, check out the activities.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teigh9060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“What to do on a rainy day?”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This little museum was a lot of fun for our two boys. There's an informational video and small museum showing how the brave lifeguards lived at the turn of the century . They were fascinated by the tools, especially the small canons. The audio tour available on your phone is really helpful, especially with impatient boys.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Muriel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Indian River Life-Saving Station Museum at Delaware Seashore State Park also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Indian River Life-Saving Station Museum at Delaware Seashore State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing