We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth the Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here for a baseball tournament and the fee was pretty steep for being a group discount rate for a group of children. They only had Double Beds and a couple King Beds but no Queen size beds. There was no coffee or restaurants or breakfast food on site. You could see the ocean from your room which was nice and they did have a pool but it wasn't open.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

The hotel was actually booked to near capacity last weekend so, those who called and booked rooms before you (including most of your own team) had already reserved all the two-room suites which had two queen beds and separate living areas as well as the king bedded rooms. The rooms that remained available were ocean view rooms with two double beds. Mojo (our coffee shop, just off our lobby) was open from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. every day of your stay, serving fresh hot coffee, cappuccino, yogurt, breakfast sandwiches, cold drinks, pastries and more. Our outdoor oceanfront pool is not open in April when temperatures are typically in the 50’s and 60’s.

The Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center has 178 suites and rooms available on a first come-first reserve basis, our new oceanfront saltwater pool will open Memorial Day weekend, and our oceanfront Atlantic Boardwalk Grille restaurant and outdoor Sandcrab beach bar will also open in May. Your team, as most groups booking multiple rooms, was provided a discounted rate. We regret that you did not fully appreciate the value of your stay with us or the amenities provided. Perhaps an advance booking when warmer weather arrives might offer you an opportunity for you to enjoy one of our larger suites as well as the new pool, beach, and each of our restaurants. We would welcome your call.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

I am currently staying at this hotel. While the location is great, there is noisy construction underway at the pool and the tiki bar area.

It is the hotel's responsibility to announce on the website of such construction activities, so that consumers can make an informed decision. I would not have stayed here, had I known this. What is more is that, this wasn't even mentioned at check-in.

I came here to have a peaceful getaway, but now I have to bear this noise all day long, and put up with the messy construction view.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sanjay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

The Expedia site through which this guest booked a room states that the hotel is undergoing renovations in the pool and restaurant areas through May of 2014. While the guest had the opportunity to move to another room away from the construction, where no noise from it could be heard, he chose to remain in a room overlooking the pool that is being replaced. Construction was not underway throughout his entire stay and management was more than willing to take steps to make his stay a pleasant one. We hope that he’ll come back to enjoy the new oceanfront saltwater pool, Riviera style 3-tiered pool deck and Sandcrab beach bar when it’s completed next month!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The oceanfront views at the Atlantic Sands Hotel cannot overcome the overall shabbiness of this hotel with its maze of corridors, stairs and uneven floors. The rooms are small and the bathroom one of the smallest I've encountered. Our group encountered noisy heating units and noisier fridges that disrupted sleep. The breakfast buffet was good, but some of the waitresses were a bit abrupt. I had the feeling they were understaffed at this time. The Atlantic Sands? Never again.

Room Tip: There is a newer suites addition to the hotel - not oceanfront but much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

All reviews are shared with our entire management team who follow up as needed with their staff members so that guest satisfaction and hotel operations continually improve. Our hotel has 178 rooms and suites, some of which are modest and some of which are quite spacious. All are clean and include new Serta Perfect Sleeper beds and many have recently been upgraded with new floor and wall coverings, furnishings, linens and more. A number of others are currently receiving upgrades and improvements. We are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay, but are pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. We hope you’ll visit us again at another time to enjoy what so many others tell us has been a great experience and overnight stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The staff and the hotel accommodations were terrific! Everything was clean and working and it was wonderful to be at the ocean's edge. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Delaware! And I will have my family stay there when they come to visit. Just a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

We look forward to having your family members as guests at the Atlantic Sands! It pleases us to know that your experience as our guest was everything you hoped it would be. Whether vacationing or attending an event or conference, every guest's satisfaction is important to us.
Your vote of confidence is not taken for granted and we hope to earn it time and again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I attended a conference based at the hotel, taking over all the meeting rooms and the ballroom. In my experience, the staff were invisible worker bees making sure all things were in place, clean, and ready for us over the 3 days. I did not sleepover as I'm local and commuted to the hotel each day, so I cannot comment on those accommodations.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NateMetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

What an unexpected and nice review! Our banquet and meeting staff often works behind the scenes to help make conference planning and execution smooth and seamless. They quietly and efficiently transform rooms from one set up to another, clear tables after meals or between events, and work with conference leaders to make sure every detail of events are attended to with care and precision. It was so kind of you to note that our staff performed well during the conference you recently attended. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed here in the off-season for a winter weekend, getaway during a several-day power outage at our home. Our one-bedroom suite was recently updated, spacious and had a good ocean view with large balcony. The bedding was crisp, and pillows were abundant. The bathroom was very clean and had nice toiletries. Good heat/temperature control. The sitting room had a pull-out sofa bed. The room exceeded our expectations, and truly had a superior feel.

The main reason that I am moved to take the time to write a review is the above-and-beyond service and work ethic of, Alexandra, the head of housekeeping.
Once we heard our power was coming back on, we rushed and packed up and check out a day early. In our haste, and only after we were home and hours away, my daughter discovered that she couldn't find her stuffed animal, bunny. This bunny has been with us for 11 years, and has traveled through 10 countries. The next day we called the Atlantic Sands and spoke with Alexandra. She promised she would look everywhere and call me back. She promptly did. No bunny. Days went by and we had scoured our house, car, and everywhere we could think. No bunny. After many tears and prayers, we received a call at the end of the week from Alexandra - she found the bunny! Whether she searched in bins, interrogated her staff, or sorted through the laundry personally - I do not know how she did it - but she did it. She found the bunny that made a grown woman (me) cry (blaming myself). She not only found the bunny, but she packaged him up in the most delightful box, with a clear cover (so he could see out), and a sweet note, saying "happy to be back❤️❤️".
If this isn't service, I don't know what is. If this isn't renewed faith in the kindness of strangers and confirmed hope that we are all here to help eachother - I don't know what is.
Here I booked this hotel for the deep discount rate, expecting pure mediocracy. And, what did we get -- first-class service, personal attention like we've never received before! And, I've stayed at The Pennisula Hotels, the Beverly Hills Hotel, several Four Seasons Hotels all over the world, and numerous other 5-star, >$1,000/night hotels. But this: this boardwalk, beach town, understated hotel -- gave me (and our daughter) the experience of a lifetime. Our daughter learned a priceless lesson -- the kindness of helping others simply for the sake of helping them -- thanks to Alexandra. Alexandra (like many other employees) could have looked once, and having not found it, dropped the issue and moved on with her day, work, and life. But she made this her mission! And she succeeded! And, in that success, she made a little girl so happy!! Priceless!! Thank you endlessly, Alexandra!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Karrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

We’re so happy that Alexandra was able to reunite your daughter and family with that very special pink and blue bunny! We understand that traveling can be stressful and particularly when your stay was prompted by power outages at your primary residence. Our goal has always been to provide a clean, comfortable and pleasant stay for our valued guests. Helping to make sure ALL of you, including bunny, left our hotel in great shape is something with which we’re happy to assist. We hope all of you will visit us again under very pleasant circumstances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I spent this past weekend attending a conference at the Atlantic Sands Hotel. The hotel and all of the staff were top-notch!! The staff at the front desk were friendly and very helpful and the hotel staff that coordinated the meeting rooms were really great. Most surprising was the excellent food! this is not something thgat typically gets rave reviews -- especially off-season -- but every meal the hotel provided was fresh and amazing!

Well done and 2 thumbs up to the entire staff!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Pleasantly surprising guests, especially at conferences, with fresh, well-prepared and tasty food is something we enjoy! No rubber chicken is served here! In all seriousness though, your comments about the food and service you enjoyed is much appreciated! Every member of our staff, whether in sales, banquets, housekeeping or at the front desk, works hard to make sure you feel welcome and pampered during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
880 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
281 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
671 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#12 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
345 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
#18 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 101 N Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2160
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range: £86 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront and on the boardwalk, the Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center is centrally located within walking distance of a wide variety of restaurants, clubs, galleries, live theatre productions, arcade games and (of course) the beach! Our seasonal restaurant, outdoor oceanfront beach bar, coffee shop and outdoor pool are added bonuses! With over 10,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space too, the Atlantic Sands is host to weddings, conferences, meetings and banquets of all kinds. Our oceanfront rooftop patio can be reserved for cocktail events, wedding ceremonies and more. Complimentary Wi-Fi and parking for overnight guests, comfortable rooms, the friendliest and most capable staff in town, and a location that can't be beat has made the Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center many people's first choice for decades! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Sands Hotel And Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Rehoboth Beach
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center Rehoboth Beach, Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing