We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home away from home!”
Review of Avenue Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Avenue Inn & Spa
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Manheim, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Feels like home away from home!”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My husband and I have been staying at the Avenue Inn and Spa for the last 15 yrs. for the Sea Witch in October. There is absolutely no where else you want to stay. The renovations @ the Avenue are fantastic but they also kept some of their more quaint sun rooms as well. The feeling you get when you arrive is-YOU ARE IMPORTANT! The staff @ the Avenue are courteous and professional-Jim, the manager, is very personable and makes you feel comfortable right from the start. His right hand girl-Mary Lou is an angel and goes beyond to make your stay an enjoyable one. Lisa Marks, is the lady in charge of your hot delicious breakfast. If you are lucky, you will have a taste of her warm biscuits and sausage gravy. Her egg casserole is light enough to float.
You will not be disappointed or hungry after this breakfast. Amenities galore-complimentary wine and chess, hot chocolate cookies later in the evening, plus a beautiful indoor pool with outdoor hot tub.
The Avenue Inn and Spa is centrally located in Rehoboth to the best seafood restaurants and sports bars. The rooms facing the ocean on Rehoboth Ave. offer the best view of the ocean and very busy yearly events. This Inn has been awarded the 2013 Trip Advisor Award of the Year. Life is short so enjoy this beautiful Inn and all it has to offer. You have tried the rest, now stay @ the Best!!!

Room Tip: King room with a balcony facing Rehoboth Avenue is what you want to ask for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greinerca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,563
    318
    58
    10
    10
See reviews for
723
718
40
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed at the Avenue II during SeaWitch Weekend. I actually thought I booked at the Atlantis (like we had in the past which is 1/2 block away) but learned when we arrived that we booked Ave II instead. The first floor and reception area of the Avenue part of the hotel was recently done and beautiful. The wine and cheese reception (for which we could still partake) was a nice gesture, however, it was awkward since they just put out a bowl of potted cheese with no utensil or plate to put it on to dip the crackers into it (after you open the crackers). The breakfast was awesome - love the egg bakes and all the goodies, as well as quality teas and coffees, fruit, etc. The downside to being at the Avenue II was that it is right next door to the Purple Parrot (loud, noisy) bar! So it wasn't conducive for restful sleep. The beds were supposed to be queen size but there is no way they were bigger than a double bed and a little uncomfortable. The room was large, the bathrooms really clean. Had a small microwave and frig - which was convenient. Was right on the main drag so no need to drive anywhere once you were there.

Room Tip: I would ask for room on the side opposite the Purple Parrot and not ground level. Better yet, stay a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

As first time guests we found the Inn to be a perfect getaway retreat in the off- season! We had a King Suite on the Avenue side of the building (best to request that side of the Inn) and although the bathroom was a bit small the main room was large, decorated nicely and clean!

The hotel staff was extremely accommodating and the location of the Inn on the main street provides easy access to shopping, dining and the beach.

A special shout out to Lew, the shuttle driver, who was so much fun! Playing the oldies while shuttling guests (their chairs and beach bags) back and forth to the beach was a wonderful guest service.

Although I spent most of my summers in Avalon, I am now a Rehoboth Beach convert. The restaurants are excellent and with so many choices we must return. And we will be staying at the Avenue Inn!

Room Tip: Request a room on the Avenue side and in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalliePhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I like the Avenue Inn especially with the beautiful, new renovations. It's conveniently located to everything. It's clean with a nice indoor pool if you like that. The continental breakfast is very nice. One block from the beach. Always my first choice. I try to go in the off season mostly, and during the week when the rates are cheaper everywhere. Gotta come down for The Seawitch Festival every October.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel months ago, in anticipation of the 24th annual Rehoboth Beach Jazz Festival! We were in Rehoboth back in April and had a chance to see the hotel pre-renovations. Because of the great location and proximity to restaurants, shops, boardwalk and the venues for the jazz concerts, we decided this was the place to stay.

The location of this hotel is prime for their jazz event because in addition to the concerts at the larger venues (convention center etc.) the local bars and restaurants also have live entertainment and this hotel is in the middle of it all. I think we used our truck 2x during our 4 night stay...

From check in to check out everything was great! The front desk staff were very welcoming, and nice to chat with.... I loved waking up in the morning, getting my coffee from the dining area and taking a short leisurely walk to the boardwalk/beach, sitting on the bench and just gazing at the ocean!

My husband was more adventurous, and took an even longer walk to spring lake which he said was not only gorgeous to see but the beautiful large homes were nice to see as well. I was being lazy!

The renovations are stunning compared to the old look. Not that the old look was bad, but what an improvement! Very cozy and inviting with just enough decor to remind you of where you are, at the beach! but not overwhemling.

The Avenue Lounge is a nice addition for a cocktail before and after hanging out on the town. We did not think the drinks were terribly expensive considering where you are; yes there are other bars that offer slightly cheaper drinks, but the convenience of having the lounge in the hotel is worth the extra buck.

Another nice touch was hearing the jazz music played throughout on the first floor. Very nice, considering it was Jazz fest weekend!

I especially enjoyed the lounge facing the dining area, with the cozy sofas, chairs and tables for lounging or reading, and there is restriction from 6am to 11am, for adults only, which I thought was a great plus! The outdoor seating is also quite nice with a open fire pit for those chilly, fall nights!

Breakfast is at a minimum in terms of what they offer, but adequate enough if you are not a big breakfast eater. I was fine with the cereals, muffins, bagels, coffee, and juice for a quick bite to eat, (the coffee was very good) but we did eat twice at Sammys Kitchen across the street; great pancakes!

There is a nice, heated indoor pool that my husband used, and an adjacent patio with hot tub.

Our room was quite spacious for a standard king! We are were pleasantly surprised by its size and there was also a small but cute balcony, that overlooked Rehoboth Avenue! Our room was cleaned daily including fresh towels.

The king bed was not the most comfortable (I am always critical of beds), but I slept fairly well, however the comfy pillows made it easier to sleep. Bathroom was clean, I just never liked hotel rooms with the sink outside of the bathroom..We will continue to chose the standard king for our future stays..Plenty of room for the two of us. We were hardly in it anyway, with so much going on around town.

Overall we very much enjoyed our stay, and look forward to staying here again in 2014 for the 25th annual jazz fest!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise71594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

We stay here once a year and have watched it through extensive remodeling and it keeps getting better looking. But the finest element of this hotel is the private ownership and amazing customer service. Since it's a beach hotel, to be allowed to park our car full of 'stuff' underground hours before check in is wonderful! They also have a golf cart with a super friendly driver to take you and your free chairs back and forth down the block to the beach all day. Breakfast is ok, and you are in the midst of every price and style of dining in downtown Rehoboth. Warning, if the poolside rooms get too loud from late night pool partiers, call the front desk! Even though their pool hours are until 11pm, management will ask partiers to tone it down if you let them know. You can ask for anything from these folks and they will do their best.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I must admit I was disappointed that I wasn't staying in the main building. The accommodations in the Avenue II were good, but we had to come back & forth for all amenities. Next time I will be sure to select the Main bldg. The breakfast, daily happy hour, gym and computer center were all very nice. I will stay again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay at Avenue main building and not Avenue II.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eunice747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#16 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#14 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn & Spa

Property: Avenue Inn & Spa
Address: 33 Wilmington Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2218
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#2 Best Value Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avenue Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A top rated hotel in Rehoboth for ten years, the staff at The Avenue continues to deliver the best hotel experience in Rehoboth Beach. With our newly renovated lobby, breakfast room, fitness room, business center, and spa in addition to our brand new lounge, no other hotel in Rehoboth offers as much at such a great value. Stay at The Avenue and see why our guests come back again and again making the hotel their own beach house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Avenue Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn And Spa
Avenue Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Avenue Rehoboth Beach
Avenue Inn & Spa Rehoboth Beach, Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing