We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best in Rehoboth or ANYWHERE!”
Review of Avenue Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avenue Inn & Spa
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have been going to Avenue Inn & Spa for almost 10 years now. We found it after trying no fewer than 8 other hotels in Rehoboth but once we found it, we knew we were home. The owners and staff have always made us feel welcome by going above and beyond. The rooms are spacious and varied so there is the perfect size/set up to accommodate our family of 5 as well as one for just my husband and myself. Recent changes have only bettered the experience. There is now a lovely bar, more lounge/seating areas, upgraded rooms, an exercise room, bigger dining room and more. You still get an amazing breakfast each morning as well as complimentary wine and cheese and homemade chocolate chip cookies. The hotel is a block and a half from the beach and if you don't feel like walking, you can be driven up there in a golf cart, complimentary beach chairs and all! Best of all is the staff;always friendly, accommodating, helpful and caring.

The Avenue Inn is the best hotel for all these reasons and more. We always look forward to our stays and now so do friends and family! There's no need to look anywhere else. Rehoboth is more beautiful when you stay at the Avenue Inn & Spa!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Sandi M

Thank you very much for your comments and for taking the time to review the Avenue. Also thank you for being such a loyal customer. Your experience is what we strive to deliver for all of our guests as we work hard to offer a hotel stay that is unique in its friendliness of staff and the charm of the property. We hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,326 - 1,332 of 2,254 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

We spent the week at Avenue Inn after an amazing wedding weekend, so I admit that our expectations were high. The hotel staff here was very nice & personable. We think they left us complimentary champagne to celebrate our wedding, but there was no note to let us know that the champagne in the refrigerator was for us. Sweet gesture, but a note would have been helpful.

Our room faced Rehoboth Avenue, and if we ever stayed here again, we would request to be anywhere BUT in a room facing the main drag. The weather was nice, but we couldn't leave the door open for fresh air because it was so loud. There was drilling across the street, motorcycles revving their engines, and drunk girls yelling. All of this was going on at all hours of the day and night. It was disappointing. There's nothing Avenue Inn could have done, but it would make us question whether we stay there again simply because of the location.

We very much enjoyed the breakfast every morning, and appreciated the separate room for "adults only" from 6 - 11 AM. Also, loved the underground parking. It was nice not having that stressor. The hotel lobby is beautifully redone, and the rooms are nice (nothing spectacular). The sun deck on the third floor was a great alternative to the beach, since it was a tad cool during our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Wilmington Ave should be quieter than rooms facing Rehoboth Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Jenn,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We appreciate you letting us know how we are doing.

I looked at your folio and noticed the notes that accompanied your reservation. It states that you were on your honeymoon and that complimentary champagne was provided. Apparently our front desk clerk failed to mention that the champagne was in your refrigerator and for that I apologize and we will take your suggestion of a note in the future. Thank you. Also there was a note in your folio that you requested Rehoboth Avenue and to not move you. The room type that you booked was a King with balcony and those rooms only face Rehoboth Avenue. As you mentioned in your comments there is little that we can do about the street noise; however, we would have made every effort to move you to another room type had we been made aware of this problem. We are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and the sun deck and the underground parking. We hope that you will give the Avenue a second try. We know we can make your stay a pleasant one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Avenue Inn has additional rooms called Avenue II and they are less expensive than the main hotel because it is truly a less rewarding experience. These rooms are completely average and a bit over priced for what you get. We stayed on the 3rd floor -- there are only a 2nd and 3rd floor -- and there is no elevator. The room is large with a sofa and a 32" TV. It was impossible to get the temperature correct because the AC is at the end of the room and it is not adequate. The first night it will cool for a May evening and there was only one light blanket. We were cold all night until we got the heater up to 83 degrees just to get the rest of the room warm. They did drop off two more of the light blankets. We had to run the AC because it got up to 80 outside and the room then got too warm. The rooms are right next to two bars with outdoor seating so it is loud until about 2 am on Friday and Saturday. Also, the shower did not have consistent hot water, so midway through the shower it would get cold then within a minute be very hot.

On the plus side is parking is right next to the rooms, and it is easy access to Rehoboth Avenue. We walked everywhere. You get the free breakfast, wine, and cookies at the main Inn. The staff is very nice.

These rooms are more suited to younger people that plan to go to the beach during the day and bars at night. However, the AC problem and fluctuating water temp still are drawbacks.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emgsoccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

emgsoccer,

Thank you for your review of the Avenue II. With regards to being next to the bar and the noise, we make every effort to inform every guest about this prior to their making a reservation. It is on our website as well as every front desk clerk will describe in great detail the location of the Avenue II, the fact that their is no elevator, and that it is not the Avenue Inn. As for your problems with the A/C our maintenance department would have taken care of that problem immediately upon being notified that their was an issue. Same situation with the fluctuation of hot water and cold water. We want every guest to experience a great stay and when maintenance issues interfere with this expectation, we will make every effort to fix the problem or move you to a different room based on availability. Thank you for choosing to stay with us while visiting Rehoboth and for taking the time to share your experience while staying at the Avenue II. While there were a few items I also believe we can work on and improve I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you had a pleasant time in our area and that you will return again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Over the last several years, we have visited Rehoboth Beach at least 2-3 times a year. Each time, we choose the Avenue Inn. Not only is it a convenient location (just park the car -- so much is within walking distance or the Jolly Trolley), but the hotel staff continues to make each stay so enjoyable. We prefer rooms with a balcony facing the Avenue -- having our own "happy hour" on the balcony, people-watching. This visit we enjoyed the steam room, sitting on the sundeck, and love the warm chocolate-chip cookies in the evening. I continue to marvel at the completed renovations and the vision to build on what was already pretty wonderful. Once again, our expectations (which are high based on past experiences) were exceeded!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terpMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

terpmd,

Thank you so very much for being such a wonderfully loyal customer. While we want every guest’s first stay to be the first of many to come, it is awesome to know you are staying with us so frequently. We will work hard to make sure every time you stay with us is equally as enjoyable if not better each time. Your time in placing the review to let others know about the Avenue is sincerely appreciated as this is how we have become so popular. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We stay for our 4 year anniversary and it was so wonderful!!! I love there pool it is so cool never seen anything like it! And the room was wonderful we had a junior jacuzzi suite!! And the fire place was a added bonus!! The staff there is so awesome!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erics A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

EricsA,

Happy Anniversary and thank you so much for choosing the Avenue as your place to celebrate such a joyous occasion. We are a family owned and operated hotel which I believe is what sets apart from the normal hotel stay. We take a great deal of pride in the product we deliver to our guests as we want the first stay with us to be the first of many to come. We recognize we can not be successful by only having you stay with us once and go away unhappy looking for another option the next time you visit the beach. All of our staff lives by our credo 'Friendliness and Cleanliness', it is the backbone of any successful hotel. Thank you for business, your kind words, and for talking the time to review our hotel, it is sincerely appreciated. Again, happy anniversary and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Hi Alex Moore,
I just wanted to tell you, and everybody else reading, how pleased I was to have the opportunity to stay at the Avenue Inn recently. The lobby and all additional spaces such as the new adult lounge, breakfast room, and work out room are splendid! Also, you made sure all occupants have adequate signage to navigate about the building. Lastly, you made sure there were hand rails installed by the former "Night Owl" door. We who are regulars at the Avenue Inn will miss "The Last Room" yet we know it is now the behind the scenes base of operations for the new and improved Avenue Inn. As an added bonus, I was happy that the price of rooms had not skyrocketed as a result of all the improvements. To Jim and the whole gang, thanks so much for a wonderful, peaceful stay. I look forward to our next visit!
Best Regards,
TeacherAtVA

Room Tip: Ask what your rooms are located near such as the pool, ice/snack room/ and custodial work base room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeacherAtVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

First I want to thank you for your continued business. We are sincerely grateful to you for choosing The Avenue when staying in Rehoboth. We are just as excited about the improvements we have made to the hotel as the response has been overwhelming positive and appreciated by old and new guests alike. Thank you for taking the time to review The Avenue, we will look forward to seeing you again soon.
Cheers,
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Incredible is all I can say...friendly staff, clean rooms, the bed was the best we have ever slept on, in fact we are calling the Inn to ask what brand it was....the wine and cheese are a nice touch. The breakfast was out of this world, so much to choose from....and since it was a chilly weekend we loved hanging out with our friends by the fire pit ...can't wait to come back...I'm hooked..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Donna,
We are a family owned and operated hotel which I believe is what sets apart from the normal hotel stay. We take a great deal of pride in the product we deliver to our guests as we want the first stay with us to be the first of many to come. We recognize we can not be successful by only having you stay with us once and go away unhappy looking for another option the next time you visit the beach. All of our staff lives by our credo 'Friendliness and Cleanliness', it is the backbone of any successful hotel. Thank you for business, your kind words, and for talking the time to review our hotel, it is sincerely appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rehoboth Beach
0.2 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,924 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rehoboth
Hotel Rehoboth
#7 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
587 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#20 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
698 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 13 in Dewey Beach
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn & Spa

Address: 33 Wilmington Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2218
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#2 Best Value Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range: £106 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avenue Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A top rated hotel in Rehoboth for ten years, the staff at The Avenue continues to deliver the best hotel experience in Rehoboth Beach. With our newly renovated lobby, breakfast room, fitness room, business center, and spa in addition to our brand new lounge, no other hotel in Rehoboth offers as much at such a great value. Stay at The Avenue and see why our guests come back again and again making the hotel their own beach house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Avenue Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn And Spa
Avenue Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Avenue Rehoboth Beach
Avenue Inn & Spa Rehoboth Beach, Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing