We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just booked third year at Avenue Inn”
Review of Avenue Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avenue Inn & Spa
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed for years elsewhere in Rehoboth Beach strictly for an ocean view but no more. We find this a better value, more affordable, with more care given to the rooms and the whole experience. We thoroughly enjoy relaxing in the lobby area, the wine and cheese afternoons there and fresh chocolate chip cookies too. We like the option to take a dip in the indoor pool. Clean, comfortable and welcoming, friendly staff and close to shopping and restaurants and the beach. We stayed in the main Inn with balcony and jacuzzi tub.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoffeeCupster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

apibi,

Many many thanks to you for being such a wonderful guest. We build our business on repeat guests and the good word they spread for us, so I am sincerely grateful to you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of the Avenue and especially for making the Avenue your home at the beach. We truly strive to make the hotel feel like your personal beach house by offering exceptionally friendly service in a comfortable environment. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to continuing to improve upon the experience every time you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,316 - 1,322 of 2,254 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We took a last minute weekend trip to Rehoboth Beach and were lucky enough to fall upon this wonderful gem of a hotel! From the moment we pulled up and were greeted by the friendly gent manning the "beach buggy" to our first impression of the beautifully decorated lobby and friendly staff it was apparent that we made the right decision! Everything about our stay made us feel special. We had a one bedroom suite which was more than ample for us and our daughter. Comfortable, clean and large! The decor of the entire property was perfect. We enjoyed the fire pit in the early evening after a day at the beach, while we enjoyed complimentary wine and cheese and chatting with other guests. The staff could not have been more helpful or gracious. We were only there for two nights but felt pampered and welcome. We truly enjoyed our stay at the Avenue Inn & Spa and are looking forward to returning. Perhaps this will become a yearly tradition. Thanks again for a lovely stay !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTLisaJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

CTLisaJo

Wow - thank you - "A perfect choice for a lovely stay!" Lew is definitely an asset for the Avenue and we appreciate you mentioning him in your comments. The fire pit has turned out to be a great place to meet other guests and to actually start new friendships. Our wine & cheese social was the beginning of this tradition and now has expanded to the outdoor fire pit. We have several guests who prior to staying at the Avenue didn't know other guests and now they book the same time every year. We hope that your yearly return will turn out to be exactly that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Avenue is by far the best hotel in Rehoboth. You can't go wrong with the location (1.5 blocks from the beach) and the amenities (great continental breakfast, pool, wine&cheese, fresh chocolate chip cookies, free beach chairs and towels, and a beach buggy to take you to the beach). It is one of the more expensive hotels, but it is so worth it. It's great for couples and families. The renovations are great too and the staff is super friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies facing Rehoboth Ave can be noisy due to the night life, but provides great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank athena a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

athena a,

Thank you for staying with us at the Avenue. Your business and the review are sincerely appreciated. Our goal is to offer a hotel experience that will be relaxing, enjoyable, and memorable every time. It is great to hear that we delivered as you and I both expect. I hope to have you as our guest again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Rehoboth Beach is just a few hours away for us and it's a great, long-weekend getaway. My husband and I always stay at the Avenue Inn. We love the suites with the hot tubs and fireplaces. The lobby has just been remodeled and it's amazing with a bar, breakfast room, and sitting area with a fire place. Let me qualify my review by saying that I have never found a 5-star hotel at the beach, and the Avenue is not one, either. It's a bit more upscale, however, than many of the other hotels in Rehoboth, but the room prices are still competitive with the other hotels. Also, we always get a massage when we stay and most of the time they are wonderful. My husband is a bit of a massage snob and I would say that he has been very happy with his massage about 80% of the time. My one complaint is that, at least in the hot tub/fireplace suites (those are the only ones we have stayed in), you can hear everything that is happening in the hallway. So I have to assume that folks in the hallway can hear everything that is happening in your room....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkr122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

bkr122

The renovations you mention in your comments have turned out to be everything we had hoped for. I am guessing by your comments that you stayed in one of our Jr. Jacuzzi rooms that is located right next to the elevator. (We do mention this on our website in the room descriptions). The Avenue staff takes pride in our "Cleanliness and Friendliness" mindset and that our guests recognize and appreciate. Thank you for reviewing the Avenue and we look forward to your return to the Avenue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Please take all of my comments about this property with the understanding that I am comparing this property with other beach hotels that I have stayed with in Rehoboth Beach. As an example - this property receives an overall excellent rating from me, but it is NOT comparable with the Plaza Hotel in NYC which I would also rate as excellent.

The hotel staff was very responsive to all of our needs. Breakfast in the morning was very good, we especially liked the way that they prepared individual eggs and french toast - fresh fruit was also exemplary. Complimentary wine and cheese at 5 pm was a welcomed daily must and the chocolate chip cookies before bed time was also very nice.

We stayed in the newly remodeled Avenue II building. We were in room 506, which was on the 3rd floor. The view from the balcony overlooking Main Street was definitely a highlight! The only (very minor) complaint that I may have with the room was that the water for the shower seemed to have a mind of its own and went from cold to hot and back and forth again several times during each shower.

Lew - the gentleman that drives the beach cart - was a godsend for getting to the beach (or wherever you wanted) during the day. I would highly recommend hitching a ride with Lew - he is highly knowledgable about the area and could not be a nicer guy.

Quite frankly, compared with other places to stay in Rehoboth Beach that are similarly priced, this place blows them away. I can see no reason to stay anywhere else, unless of course you just like spending money..........

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaelc876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

michaelc876,

It is with great pleasure to read your review and have you as our guest. You hit on so many of the things we focus on and work hard to present to our guests. Within our hotel group our motto is “Friendliness and Cleanliness”. While it is a very basic statement it truly is the base on which any successful hotel must be built. We try to take that base to the next level and beyond to deliver an experience that truly sets us apart not just in our markets but anywhere you may stay. We are not a Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton or Plaza Hotel property but we don’t charge their rates either. That being said we do deliver excellent customer service in a clean, comfortable, and relaxing environment and it’s at the beach! Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and especially thank you for choosing to stay with us, it is sincerely appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Wonderful Hotel - Excellent Amenities - Clean, comfortable & newer rooms. Fantastic "continental" breakfast, one of the best that we ever had. Very attentive front desk and close to beach, boardwalk & within walking distance to all the great restaurants.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor - Very quiet & near pool, spa, hot tub/jacuzzi, steam & sauna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grumpyfat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Grumpyfat,


Thank you for mentioning the cleanliness of the Avenue along with the great continental breakfast. Your kind words are the reward for which we work hard to achieve. I am grateful to you for taking the time to write the review and I sincerely appreciate your business. I hope to have you as our guest again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We love the new Avenue. One thing though. You have paid a lot of attention to making The Avenue the "go to" place in Rehoboth, but.... You forgot to get good mattresses. We were there 2 days ago and my back is still suffering! The mattresses on both beds in Room 225 were really bad!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donnawalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Donnawalt,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Avenue. With regards to mattresses - I have to say, it is one of the most difficult things for a hotel to get right. Most everyone has gotten use to a particular type mattress at home and that might be a firm mattress or a softer mattress or a medium mattress. When we purchase mattress (which we try to replace on a regular basis), we try to get mattresses that will suit the majority of people. We also will try to do everything we can to make your bed as comfortable as possible. We could have switched out your mattress had we known. Again thank you for letting us know how we are doing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rehoboth Beach
0.2 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,924 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rehoboth
Hotel Rehoboth
#7 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
587 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#20 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
698 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 13 in Dewey Beach
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn & Spa

Address: 33 Wilmington Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2218
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#2 Best Value Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range: £106 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avenue Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A top rated hotel in Rehoboth for ten years, the staff at The Avenue continues to deliver the best hotel experience in Rehoboth Beach. With our newly renovated lobby, breakfast room, fitness room, business center, and spa in addition to our brand new lounge, no other hotel in Rehoboth offers as much at such a great value. Stay at The Avenue and see why our guests come back again and again making the hotel their own beach house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Avenue Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn And Spa
Avenue Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Avenue Rehoboth Beach
Avenue Inn & Spa Rehoboth Beach, Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing