We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay...”
Review of Sandcastle Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandcastle Motel
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great place to stay...”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I just came back yesterday from a long weekend at Rehoboth and stayed at the Sandcastle for the second year in a row. Unfortunately, I only spent one night last year because we were evacuated by the hurricane, so I couldn't really write a review. As with the other reviews, the Sandcastle could use some renovation, but it is far from falling apart. The rooms are adequately sized and clean. The bathroom is clean and there is plenty of hot water for the shower even at 6:30 on a Saturday night! What puts it at the top of my list is how accommodating everyone is. We got there several hours before check-in time, but our room was ready and we were able to check right in. At check-out, we were able to leave our car there for the day and use the bathroom and shower by the pool. A big shout-out to Nicole and Lorena (I'm sure I didn't get the spelling right!) who couldn't have been more helpful and friendly and nice!! The location is good - a short walk to the beach and right on Rehoboth Avenue.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MsRondette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    54
    38
    17
    17
See reviews for
52
50
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I've read some previous reviews and agree that a renovation is needed but other than that it was clean, cheaper than other motels, and the location is perfect. One of the biggest perks that makes it the perfect beach motel is that on the day of check out you can leave your car parked all day and still use their pool which has a shower and bathroom to change for the trip home. That wins my business.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

This was our first stay at the Sandcastle Motel, its the height of the summer season and we just wanted a night at the beach, so choice was limited. On arrival the guy at the front desk was friendly and efficient with our check in. Thats where the smiles stopped. We went to the room and on entering it smelt of Bleach (ok it was clean) but the decor was grubby, carpet was filthy and my 11 year old daughter, just looked at me! the look said it all and to be honest I felt the same way. But we were only there for 1 night and the location of the motel was ideal, a couple of blocks from the beach, had free parking and free Wifi. We didnt venture to the pool, to be honest I never used the shower, not because it wasnt clean, but it just felt unclean. Such a shame, a little attention to the paint and decor would lift this motel into the 21st century.

Room Tip: Its a lucky dip
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jimmish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rehoboth Beach hotels

Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This hotel would be a great candidate for the Hotel Impossible TV show. The location is awesome, and the coffee bar and front desk are great, but the awesome stops there. The hallways are scary, dimly lit with paint chips peeling. The elevator area by the parking area is in disrepair and dirty. The room was ok, with a dated bedspread, seemed pretty clean but taking a closer look there was a lot of dirt at the hair dryer. It looked like the cord hadn't been wiped in months. I used a towel to hold the dryer. The pool area looked nice and it was nice to be able to use the bathroom there to shower and freshen up before the drive home. All in all I wouldn't stay there again, since the room was nearly $200 and the overall ambiance of the hotel wasn't nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holly_Traveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Traveled here this weekend with my husband and daughter for a lacrosse tournament. We just needed a clean place to stay for two nights that was close enough to the tourney site while allowing us to sneak in some beach time. The Sand Castle was in the perfect location and was cheap, comparatively speaking. The decor was non-existent and the elevators and hallways down right scary. This being said, I would stay here again. The rooms are outdated with simple white walls and no real decorations to speak of. But the beds (1 King and 1 Single) were incredibly comfortable, the a/c very efficient on 94 degree + temps, and the bathroom had all the basics needed. All of this being said, it was incredibly clean and that was what was most important to us in the long run.

Would I spend a week at this hotel? Absolutely not. Would I spend another weekend here? No doubt about it.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank RJCurran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

This was absolutely the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. The room was dirty and there was a nasty stain on the inside of the comforter on our bed. The bathroom had dirt on the floor and the carpet throughout the room was overall filthy. When it was time for us to leave, the elevator was broke so we had to carry all of our luggage down the steps. We will never stay there again!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 694Sherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This hotel was part of my first experience with Rehoboth 2 years ago, during Memorial Day Weekend. I wanted to spend very little on accommodations, to allow more to be put towards libations and such; but, enough about my budgeting practices.
The Sandcastle Motel is conveniently located, just across the street from Aqua and a block from Blue Moon, you are sure to be able to find your way back after a night at the parties. The staff is friendly, when they are available, and I don't ever remember hearing the knock of a housekeeper, though they did come by. They came by to clean the rooms which are utilitarian, small, and as I have experienced on multiple occasions: somehow broken. One room had a broken sink and faucet, the other a broken screen door. The motel could do with a renovation.
The pool is not maintained very well, and would recommend not taking a dip in it. The suntanning deck however, is perfect, and a great spot to people watch the streets below.
So what is a good summary? Sandcastle Motel: When you care enough to spend the very least.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BRelaxinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
#20 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Henlopen Hotel
Henlopen Hotel
#18 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#16 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
2.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#14 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#21 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Motel

Property: Sandcastle Motel
Address: 123 2nd St, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2283
Region: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandcastle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandcastle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Sandcastle Motel Rehoboth Beach, Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing