We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, poorly maintained”
Review of Sandcastle Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandcastle Motel
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, poorly maintained”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The Sandcastle is located on the main drag in Rehoboth close to everything in town. Unfortunately, the place has not been updated in any way in a good 40 years. The lobby is minimal, soda and ice machines are in the basement parking garage. One great perk- free covered parking for guests.

The rooms are minimalist. Ours had a microfridge under the kitchen type sink in the bedroom (made out of furring strips and studs with a coat of paint). The carpets are badly worn and stained throughout the hallways and in the guest rooms. Our bath vanity was cracked and repaired with caulk- I can't imagine there is any way to find a replacement for a circa 1970 vanity. Unfortunately the door didn't fully close to the bathroom either. There was a small patio with a plastic chair- no screen door though. The beds were not the nicest, nor were the linens.

There is an indoor pool, but we did not use it. It was raining while we were there, and there were buckets in the hall by the pool catching the water leaking through the roof. While the covered parking was great, a few of the floor drains from the upper deck parking lot had broken or missing drain pipes in the lower deck casing a few waterfalls.

The service was friendly, though basic.

Overall not a great place, but the location is fantastic. Set expectations appropriately.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monkeybleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    55
    38
    17
    18
See reviews for
55
50
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Is so convenient, staff friendly, free covered parking that staff extends before and after arrival/departure if space available (it was in September) which was VERY helpful and appreciated. Not upscale, but acceptably clean... shows wear as a beach hotel, Quiet, even right next to elevator. I would stay here again, use the money you save for a good dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tractor3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This motel is in a great location-- walking distance to all the shops and the beach. However, it left a lot to be desired. My husband and I stayed here with his parents for a night in September. The place did not feel clean and was very dingy looking. The beds were absolutely terrible-- small double beds that were not comfortable at all. The room was tiny for 4 people. The balcony was so small and there was what looked like blood stains on the curtain. The price for what we got was ridiculous, especially in September. It was so unappealing that we decided to get our own room at a different hotel for the rest of the weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikkielynn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rehoboth Beach hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here for Labor Day and had a very average experience. It was WAY over-priced but felt safe and was a 5 minute walk to the board walk and beach.

Pros:
-Like 0.3 miles to the beach so a quick walk
-Free covered parking in their garage so you don't have to worry about your car on the street or feeding the meter
-Super friendly front desk staff
-Had 2 full sized beds that were pretty comfy
-No bed bugs (we checked)

Cons:
-WAY WAY WAY over priced - paid $250 for a night that should have been about $75/night.
-Hotel was old and dingey - it was clean but old carpet that was pulling up, old paint on the walls, old decor, chipping tile
-Have a mini fridge in the room without a microwave, which would be nice.
-The rooms have a "balcony" that overlooks a parking lot. So nothing lovely.

Also has an indoor pool that is small but clean, but like the overall hotel it was dingey.

So it's fine - perfectly adequate. But so over-priced for what you get!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nld99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We paid $250 a night because of labor day weekend and we wanted to be close to the beach. The location is great but the rooms are old and dingy with a mildewy smell. The housekeepers didnt come to clean the room until after 2pm and they didnt even change our sheets which were sandy from the beach. The receptionist was really sweet but I dont think I would stay here again. The price was outrageous for what we got.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We paid $225 a night for our average room and were disappointed with an unnecessary mix up at the front desk, dirty rotting bathroom floors, black mold or mildew at the top of the shower, rust on the door, filthy carpets, and a tiny balcony. All of this would be acceptable for $50-75 a night. I even wore my flip flops in the shower. see photos.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My friend and I recently stayed 5 nights at the Sandcastle motel. Having traveled many years to near beach locations, in many cities and states, this was one of the worst. The carpet in our room was filthy, no microwave, no coffee machine, dark creepy hallways and stairwells, no refill on soap shampoo, etc.Daily cleaning of the room was making the beds and providing clean towels. I myself cleaned the fingerprints off a picture that was hanging in our room. Worst of all was the lack of security. Anyone could walk off the streets and enter the hallways ( however if we could see them would be questionable).I took great care to secure my my cosmetics and medications however upon returning home and unpacking, I discovered that a full prescription of an anti anxiety medication was missing. I did notify the motel and was told they would let the supervision know. The positive was definitely the location and the staff where helpful and polite. This hotel was was not worth the money we paid by any means.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
#20 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#15 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#11 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
333 reviews
2.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#18 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Motel

Property: Sandcastle Motel
Address: 123 2nd St, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2283
Region: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandcastle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sandcastle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Sandcastle Motel Rehoboth Beach, Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing