We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All about location”
Review of Sandcastle Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandcastle Motel
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is in a great location-right on the main street surrounded by shops and restaurants. And stay for the location...NOT the accommodations. The place is in serious need of some upgrades. I'm pretty relaxed about beach hotels but this one was definitely interesting, decor-wise. However, the parking garage was a great perk, and the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Tip for anyone with a decent amount of hair-bring your own shampoo and conditioner. All they have is a bar of soap and "moisturizing shampoo" which does nothing to help untangle beach hair.

Also, the bar downstairs has live music every night. You need to keep the A/C on to drown out the noise. FYI if you're a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Houlamom915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Sandcastle Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

This place is run down and much overdue for some upgrading. We booked last minute and didn't have many options. The rooms were ok and not as bad a some reviews suggest. We found the desk staff to be helpful. If you have options I would look elsewhere first for the price here. Location and free parking are the only positived about this place.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank daffymkrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had a maid that took our daughter's skirt while we went for bkfst. she claimed it was on the floor next to the trash can , No it was on the chair which was about 8 feet away,. Second a maid is never to take anything unless a guest would instruct them to take care of an item. When confronted she lifted the skirt off of her cart . Management did not seem overly concern. In fact Sun as we were packing the car the maid and another maid snickered at us. in the parking garage. Also for the price was a little taken back at the condition of the overall appearance. The plus side it is close to everything. I hope Managements reads this and does some overhaul.on conditions and personnel . NEEDED ASAP.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank walters934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Just came home from a 2 night stay . The staff is super friendly and bend over backwards for you. The location can't be beat. We walked to everything. And having garage parking was awesome. They even let us keep the car parked on our last day after checkout.

The hallways in the motel were a bit dark, but not unsafe. The room was your typical beach motel. It was mostly clean but dated and worn. The carpet was worn in places, the ceiling tiles in the bathroom were peeling. A few things we mentioned after check-in were immediately taken care of. But we had clean beds, linens, towels, etc.

Would I stay here again? Maybe. I think they have stiff competition from The Oceanus across the street.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank maxsmom599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We started our trip at the Oceanus Motel across the street, but we had a horrendous experience (they called us at 10:30pm and then again at 12:30am saying we were being too loud- the first time we were watching TV quietly and the second time we were asleep; when we complained, the owner made us feel disrespected and uncomfortable)

We found the Sandcastle Motel across the boardwalk, and immediately we could tell that the customer service was infinitely better. The staff is sweet and helpful- they treated us like we were family.

Personally, I value customer service over anything else, which is why I feel the need to give the Sandcastle Motel five stars. This is not the place for you if you'd like a ritzy hotel; it has typical motel rooms with two double beds and a small balcony. It was perfectly comfortable for my girlfriend and me, but neither of us are too high maintenance. I would most definitely stay at here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ayy-Oh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The Sandcastle is located on the main drag in Rehoboth close to everything in town. Unfortunately, the place has not been updated in any way in a good 40 years. The lobby is minimal, soda and ice machines are in the basement parking garage. One great perk- free covered parking for guests.

The rooms are minimalist. Ours had a microfridge under the kitchen type sink in the bedroom (made out of furring strips and studs with a coat of paint). The carpets are badly worn and stained throughout the hallways and in the guest rooms. Our bath vanity was cracked and repaired with caulk- I can't imagine there is any way to find a replacement for a circa 1970 vanity. Unfortunately the door didn't fully close to the bathroom either. There was a small patio with a plastic chair- no screen door though. The beds were not the nicest, nor were the linens.

There is an indoor pool, but we did not use it. It was raining while we were there, and there were buckets in the hall by the pool catching the water leaking through the roof. While the covered parking was great, a few of the floor drains from the upper deck parking lot had broken or missing drain pipes in the lower deck casing a few waterfalls.

The service was friendly, though basic.

Overall not a great place, but the location is fantastic. Set expectations appropriately.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monkeybleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Is so convenient, staff friendly, free covered parking that staff extends before and after arrival/departure if space available (it was in September) which was VERY helpful and appreciated. Not upscale, but acceptably clean... shows wear as a beach hotel, Quiet, even right next to elevator. I would stay here again, use the money you save for a good dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tractor3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
#17 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#20 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
341 reviews
2.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#18 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
392 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#21 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Motel

Address: 123 2nd St, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2283
Region: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range: £74 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandcastle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sandcastle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Sandcastle Motel Rehoboth Beach, Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing