We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG! The name has recent changed but the food!! WOW”
Review of Old Bay Steakhouse - CLOSED

Old Bay Steakhouse
Price range: US$14 - US$25
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Rehoboth Beach
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“OMG! The name has recent changed but the food!! WOW”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Have the prime rib rolls! AHHHMAZING!!! The name has since changed but the food is incredible, we always try something new here but always get the Prime Rib Rolls, they are fantastic, the strawberry shortcake, MMMMMMM...this is a great place to bring a group or a romantic night away from the crowds!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank quikdriv55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    10
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food with great service”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

My girlfriend and I went to old bay last night. This was our first time here and we loved it! Our waitress was very helpful and fast. We got the black and blue salmon, and Mac-n-chesse trio. Both dishes were perfect! We will definitely be back in the future.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jontheillest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nasty!”
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

This is a very sad story of a long time restaurant that is now the worst place at the beach. The food is gross the staff is rude and I saw wait staff eating off plates before they take it to the table. Do not eat here!! Someone should call the health department.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billnheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caln township, pa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fair to midland”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

On being seated we were informed that the restaurant will be changing it's name and theme. That never bodes well when preparing to look at a menu. The food was good but not spectacular. Portions were rather small for the price. My crab cake diner consisted of two approx. 2 oz. cakes with a small baked potato. My wife's "tilapia" was really catfish. I am not sure if it was a cooks error but my wife is not a fan of catfish. My wife was in the mood for a craft beer that was light and not so heavy, the bartender suggested "Miller lite" as the lightest. That in itself seemed to culminate an underwhelming meal.
One positive, our service was very good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vlapinski19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Eh...”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I ate here back in November with my boyfriend and some friends of ours. The atmosphere is ok. It's a typical steak house, nothing too special. Our server didn't seem to know exactly what he was doing at first, but I thought maybe he was new? He seemed pretty nervous. Throughout the night, we only saw him maybe once, except to take our orders and to drop off the check and bring back our cards. The service could be alot better.

We all ordered, and it did take a while to get it. I think we overpaid for what we got. I ordered one of the specials, a pork shank, I think it was. Half of it was delicious. I say half because the first half was very, very good. The second half, however, had a funny taste to it and I could not finish. I'm not sure if it was spoiled or what happened to it, but it was disgusting. The mashed potatoes I got were very good, though. Everyone else said their food was "Okay."

With the poor service, possibly rotten food, and high prices, I will not go back for dinner. It's more of a casual drinks place than a restaurant, even though that's what it markets itself as. Don't waste your time or money.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Bay Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing