We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Root Gourmet Rocks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Root Gourmet - CLOSED

Root Gourmet
Price range: US$9 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Baltimore County, MD
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Root Gourmet Rocks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Root Gourmet has something for everyone - dine in or take out and a menu offering meals and sides for carnivores, vegetarians and vegans.

My family and I opted to stay at Root and eat. We had the Chicken Flatbread with spinach, roasted tomatoes and chili cheese, the Quinoa & Root Salad with beets, carrots, watermelon radish, spinach, and the seared mahi with peach sauce and roasted veggies --added a pasta side salad and green tea and we were in heaven. Oh, and the homemade chocolate chip cookies were a nice end to a fabulous meal.

The staff was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the meal so much we came back the next day for our carryout lunches - falafel sandwich, chimichurri chicken wrap and roast beef with vermont cheddar.

This is our new go-to spot when we visit. The quality of food is exceptional, and the prices are reasonable. This is a wonderful option before heading to the beach for the day or to take back to your room or if you live in the area they offer numerous 'Gourmet To-Go' options--just heat and eat.

This is a wonderful establishment and deserves your business!!

BTW--Check out the very cool bathroom :-)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BerkeleyGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    7
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always a surprise...in the BEST of ways!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Where do I start? The selection of food here is amazing. Great for a full meal or something to snack on. A-MAZ-ING desserts and breads. It's certainly for a discerning person, not your average far at all. It's culinary perfection.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DMaio114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gourmet at Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

My favorite restaurant, Nage, has a sibling, and it's where I visit when I need my gourmet fix to go! Great food with knowledgeable counter servers. Tastes are cheerfully given and there is a free pamphlet with directions for re-heating. Party in your future? Cant' get in to Nage? Want gourmet food on your porch in your bathing suit? This is where you go!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank llgetman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good for carry out dinners when you don't have time to cook”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Great carry out dinners at Roots. You can either buy individual entrees with two sides or their dinner for four which comes with two sides, plus a salad and bread (fabulous bread). The dinner for four is $44 and a great value.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank hhoart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“excellent take away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

This is a spin off from Nage...great idea...fresh homemade take away dinners...an upscale fast food take away...lots of choices and dinner for four I believe is like $44.00....you can also eat in

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennisnrehoboth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Root Gourmet also viewed

 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing