We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, But?”

Just In Thyme Restaurant
Ranked #82 of 279 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
314 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Pleasant, But?”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My wife and I met friends down from NYC last week and chose just in thyme for our dinner. We did this because we have often passed the restaurant and it was always closed. We found that Just in thyme only opens at 5pm for dinner so we made the reservation for our party at 5:30 They have a nice bar with inexpensive happy hour small plates. Their dinner menu is diverse, but the preparation is not consistent. I had excellent mussels and a decent seafood fettucine and my wife had a pork chop which was overdone and covered with a flavorless gravy. Our friends had similar experiences in that the seafood dishes were much better than the meat or poultry dishes.. Service was perfunctory but good, the room itself is a very pleasant the the prices were quite reasonable. We may try again but if so will stick to the seafood entrees.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    29
    11
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Finksburg, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Early Bird Dinner”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Just had an early bird dinner by a lovely fire on a cold and rainy Friday night. Mixed green salads were great--generous portion with a nice house dressing and warm rolls. The early bird menu runs 5-6:30 and is roughly half price of normal entrees. It is heavy on seafood items. We had the beef stroganoff which was tasty and something we would not prepare at home. We passed on dessert but wished we hadn't when we saw the tray being presented to the neighboring table! Service was very good too.

Helpful?
3 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Salad with fish = $23 per person”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I am a local, and have frequented this restaurant before, but last night influenced me to never go back. We tried to get stuffed mushrooms as an appetizer, but they were out of mushrooms! So we opted for crab quesadilla, it was OK. We only wanted salads with a blackened fish on them, they were OK, but when we got the bill, they were $23.00 each! $48.00 dollars for 2 salads? I don't think so, we will never be back! We sat at the bar, bartender left a lot to be desired. I left no tip, which I never do.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank c21wil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JON O, Owner at Just In Thyme Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Our pricing on all our offerings are based on cost and value. The mentioned meals are not offered on the menu so we charge for a dinner portion of fresh fish( 9 oz portion) currently $23.50, which is exactly in line with local restaurants and then don't charge extra for the a la carte salad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great overall experience”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My husband & I visited this restaurant for our anniversary. We enjoyed the food, service, and ambiance of the restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selbyville, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and seasonal specials in the bar”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stopped in "Just in Thyme" in October and stayed in the bar area for drinks and dinner. The bartender made the experience special. Since there were four of us and we arrived in three shifts, he had to recite the evening specials three times. They ranged from veal and pasta to fresh red snapper and poached salmon. All of us raved about the food. The house wine was better than most places and the drinks were priced right. Will definitely recommend and return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank jdudine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Just In Thyme Restaurant also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Just In Thyme Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing