We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - quick and reasonable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cracker Barrel Old County Store

Cracker Barrel Old County Store
Ranked #85 of 269 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bound Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food - quick and reasonable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Great place for breakfast. The staff was attentive and nice. There is a store with some interesting shopping options, and it's really fun to visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CBombdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    54
    21
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sea Girt, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Dinner - ordered the entree that included three free sides. I had the steak for just $9 and wife had chicken dumplings ($8). Dumplings were excellent, but my steak was actually pressed Salisbury steak, breaded, fried and covered with a white slightly spicy hollendaise sauce. It wasn't bad, but would have preferred the sauce on the side. All the sides were better than expected, and deserts tasty. Very good value! Service was as expected. Will return, as I'm from NJ, where Cracker Barrels are rare and far away.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Spencer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
179 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Right next to the”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

hotel we stay out while down in Rehobeth so is usually a once a visit stop and we have not been disappointed yet. Usually get breakfast there once while we are there to get a break from the hotels free breakfast and we enjoy it everytime we go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bobertb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Better than most Cracker Barrels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Seems silly reviewing a Cracker Barrel. since they are nearly in all 50 states that have interstate highways.

We have two near where we live and they are not very nice - filthy bathrooms, dirty parking lot and less than friendly wait staff - then we get to Rehoboth Beach and enjoyed two excellent breakfasts in of all places Cracker Barrel.

Every wait person we saw had 4 stars on their apron, several waited on us for various things to ensure our meals were fresh and hot, and refilled fresh OJ and coffee and were sincerely interested in our satisfaction.

This company has a reputation of discrimination against people of color, and same sex issues, which we never felt was any issue at this location, In Virginia, oh, yeah, big time.

Where we live the general store has crappy stuff, not so in tis one, real top rate items for sale.'
We have enjoyed many Cracker Barrels across the country, most - not all - very good, this one, tops of the tops!

By the by - wild Maine blueberry muffins were special this visit, and we wanted to take some to go, and they had never had the request for that, and they broke the price down, boxed them and we brought 6 back home with us. That was the extra mile for keeping a happy customer!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kencruisetaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
253 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Cracker Barrel Breakfast Time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

I have to comment that my home does not have the Cracker Barrel concept, so for us, coming here (or other locations in MD and PA) have been for the novelty.
Food: Portions are generally good and prices are competitive with other sit down, casual breakfast joints. Lately, I have noted that the food is starting to loose its appeal. The scrambled eggs seem more similar to overdone, small pieces of blubber. The breakfast meats have been sitting pre-cooked for too long such that they have become dried out husks. Perhaps they are relying too much on the biscuits and gravy and grits side orders volume to make up for the quality of the mains.
Atmosphere: From the pictures of other reviewers, you can see it has that old country store setting. Inside the restaurant the theme continues with old advertising and kitchen items as decoration. The furniture is the older, roughed wood on tile flooring. Before coming in, customers are greeted with 'store' portion which specializes in mining the past with candy, soda, novelty toys and DVDs from your childhood. Interesting to walk through if you have to wait for a table.
Service: Has been variable. Sometimes the wait is long, sometimes it is a modest wait, it just depends on the day.
Oveall: Meals on average are fair and prices are still reasonable. I would return again, but not often.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank synToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cracker Barrel Old County Store also viewed

Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Cracker Barrel Old County Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing