We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality ingredients, excellent food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Touch of Italy

Touch of Italy
Reserve with OpenTable
Touch of Italy is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 269 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Road 271
Description: Touch of Italy was born out of two Italian family traditions that trace back to the late 1800's. These two families trace their roots to the beautiful Marche and Abruzzo regions in Central Italy, where one can find rich cultural traditions and recipes passed down from generation to generation. Touch of Italy first opened in the fall of 2010 in Lewes, Delaware and proudly runs five locations in Ocean City, Lewes and Rehoboth Beach, serving fresh items like handmade mozzarella cheese, pasta, pizza, cookies and crispy bread, as well as high quality imported items from Italy. Touch of Italy is proud to bring the Italian tradition to costal Delaware and Maryland, and pay tribute to our ancestors, who imparted to us a love of food and family.
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quality ingredients, excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Do yourself a favor if you're in town for the Holidays or vacation and grab some lunch or dinner at Touch of Italy, you won't be disappointed. I've been eating here once a week for the past few months and everything I've ordered has been very, very good. The quality ingredients, generous portions, reasonable prices, and friendly staff all make for a great experience. The pizzas are cooked in a wood-fired oven and are delicious. My favorite is the Focaccia Robiola Deluxe which has prosciutto, tomatoes, arugula, white truffle oil, and robiola cheese (which I had never heard of before), all sandwiched between thin focaccia. Unbelievable. The chicken parm is usually my choice for dinner and there is always some left to take home. My wife's favorite is the shrimp, clams, and mussels that are tossed in a spicy marinara. The apps are all good, with the meatballs being our favorite. I haven't even touched on the the generous sized sandwiches, the deli with a nice assortment of meats, cheeses, olives, etc, or the fresh made bakery items (cookies, eclairs, cakes, etc). This restaurant has been a great addition to the Delaware coast, and long over-due.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    72
    30
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
90 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food, loud and poor service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The food was good although way too salty for my personal taste. Our server couldn't remember the 3rd special of the night and neglected to tell us about the items on the menu which were no longer available. He did say they were transitioning to a new menu so I guess he was confused. We enjoyed an arugula salad which was very good (large) and calamari which was lightly battered (although a hair was found in the dish?). The maitre d came over and said he would verify it in the kitchen. Verify? His word choice was odd. Anyway, the entree's arrived - pizza, chicken, ravioli, chicken parm. All were very tasty. They had live entertainment that night so in addition to the already loud restaurant we could not carry on a conversation without yelling across the table. We still enjoyed ourselves and were offered some yummy macaroon cookies at the end. I would not rush to go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cnpotluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Vibe, Doesn't Deliver”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stopped by with a friend of mine and we were immediately impressed with the decor, and the aroma of the deli. Friendly staff, we went to the bar for lunch. We asked the bartender for a recommendation and she said everything on the menu was excellent. A favorite was the meatballs. We ordered the meatball sandwhich and another sandwhich. Meatballs were dry and overwhelmed by the anount of bread. Needed more sauce but the bartender disappeared for a bit and that never happened. The other sandwhich was supposed to be hot soprasetta sharp chedder and roasted red peppers. Clumsy with an overwhelming amount of meat and not nearly enough chedder or red peppers. Frankly poor execution. One thing to say the food is great, another to deliver. Willing to give another chance but definitely needs improvement.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Delaware
Level Contributor
99 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Italian Gem on the Highway in Rehoboth Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Touch of Italy started as a small sandwich shop in downtown Rehoboth Beach and now has four locations in the area. To get to the point, their food is really good! Their array of delicious sandwiches, using fresh, flavorful meats, veggies and cheeses, plus crunchy semolina bread made in their own local bakery, can't be beat. Their newest venture, on Highway 1 in a strip mall in Rehoboth Beach, is a sure winner, open since the summer. Frankly, we couldn't get in during the summer because of the crowds, and finally made it in on a quiet October Wednesday night. It was worth the wait. We had a great sausage, pepper and onions appetizer, with a sauce so good we had to eat much more bread than usual to sop it all up. My partner's antipasto, usually an appetizer, made a fulll meal, and he had leftovers for lunch the next day. My chicken parm literally filled my plate and looked like a flounder - tender and delicious with a side of pasta coated with a delicious sauce, almost buttery in texture. (By the way, also finished for lunch the next day.) Let's not forget the nice wine list (we had a lovely bottle of a Tuscan Montepulciano) and a great selection of homemade pastries. (We had the sfogliatelle and a top-notch chocolate cookie made with cream cheese.) Our server, Mary, couldn't have been nicer. T of I also makes fresh mozzarella and there are large cheeses hanging all over the place, for every taste. All of the T of I stores appear to be doing well, and for good reason.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BKtheRetiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehoboth Beach
1 review
“Delicious Food Warm Atmosphere Hospitality Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

A local group of women from Rehoboth were guests at the restaurant even before the grand opening. The food was delicious and plentiful. The service was attentive, informative and responsive. A fantastic place to add to your dining list.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Touch of Italy also viewed

 

Been to Touch of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing