We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hated Breakers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Douglassville,PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hated Breakers”
Reviewed 7 August 2005

My husband and two children stayed at Breakers for nights. The dirtiness of the hotel completely ruined my trip. My children are 2 and 5 and I did not even want them to walk on the carpeting barefoot. If you could even call it carpeting. We booked a suite and could not believe the price for such an unclean, uncomfortable room. The furniture was old and shabby looking. The bathroom was dirty beyond words. The musty smell was overwhelming. It is the worst room I have ever stayed in, not to mention one of the most expensive. The furnishings were unacceptable- they looked cheap and worn. The "continental" breakfast consisted of wrapped muffins in a musty conference room. The hotel staff was unhelpful and rude. I could not wait to go home. I would defintely not recommend this hotel under any circumstances.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank familyvaca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    78
    51
    26
    35
See reviews for
82
70
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2005

Loved the location of the hotel, walking distance to the beach and in downtown, near restaurants and shops. Hated the continental bkfast and to us the room had that beachy, musty odor. Nice size though and staff was very nice. We're trying something new this year.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank laurie1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 July 2005

Every year we look forward to spending a fun, relaxing week at the beach in Rehoboth, DE. Because of our work schedules this year, we decided we could only spend 4 days at the beach, so we booked a hotel room rather than renting a place for the week. We chose the Breakers after looking at their website, liking the location, and noticing that they were "pet friendly" (we liked the idea of bringing our small dog along on the trip rather than putting him in the kennel for the week).

We easily booked the room using their online reservation system, noting that we'd be bringing our pet along. Upon arrival, my wife and I were greeted by a rather unfriendly front desk staff, but we brushed it off thinking perhaps they were having a busy/bad day. We went up to our room on the 2nd floor. The room was a comfortable size, with 2 beds, and a terrace that looked out onto Lake Gerar across the road. There was a small refrigerator and coffee maker in the room, which was nice, but there were very few other amenities. There were 2 dresser drawers for the whole room and no closet. no hairdrier. no iron. no extras, etc. We unpacked what we could into the dresser drawers and left the rest of our things in the suitcase.

I took a walk upstairs to check-out the rooftop pool and workout room. It was a hot, 85 degree day; there was no one in the pool. The pool is on the top floor and is enclosed in a greenhouse-like glass room, where the air temperature was easily 100 degrees. Next door was the workout room with a treadmill, elliptical machine, and universal press. That room, too, was extremely hot and empty, with no A/C. I decided that was fine, since we were there to go to the beach, and not the pool.

When I got back to the room, I found my wife packing-up the things from the dresser. She said that the front office had called to inform us that they made a mistake, and that we needed to move to a "pet friendly room" on the first floor.

The room downstairs was unacceptable. It was the same size, but it smelled terrible -- like a damp, musty dog, and it had not been updated like our room upstairs. Some of the TV controls did not work, the A/C was an older, noisy unit, the bed blankets were old and matted, and there was loose dirt on the inside of the dresser drawers. The first floor room was also very dark and quite noisy from the cars on the street, in the parking lot, and from the recycle dumpsters that were only 50 feet away from our door. It was hard to believe that the hotel was charging $15/night extra to stay in a "pet friendly" room that was obviously not cleaned or updated like our previous room.

My wife and I quickly called the kennel in Rehoboth and made arrangements to put the pooch there for a few days so we could move back upstairs to the much more acceptable room.

Unfortunately, there are not too many hotels in Rehoboth that will accept pets, so it is nice that the Breakers provides that option for people who REALLY need it. But if you're not desperate to stay with your pet, I can't recommend the Breakers.
Overall, we had an OK stay, but for the money ($195 + tax / night) you can find more friendly and comfortable hotel options in Rehoboth Beach...

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rehoboth Beach hotels

maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2005

Clean and comfortable rooms, nice location. Comp breakfast (doughnuts, muffins, cereal, juice, coffee, etc...) in upstairs conference room. Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jayy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#16 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
2.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#14 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Hotel & Suites

Property: The Breakers Hotel & Suites
Address: 105 2nd St, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Region: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Breakers Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Breakers Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel And Suites
The Breakers Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Breakers Hotel Rehoboth Beach
The Breakers Hotel & Suites Rehoboth Beach, Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing