We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally Best Accomodation in Munduk !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Munduk Moding Plantation
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We moved to MMP n stayed for 3days(15-18June) after had lots problem at previous villa we stayed. They pick up on time, driver was good, greeting staff with smiles, warm n friendly, flower neclakes, wet towel, wellcome drink, small things that actually a good sign that we will not gonna be abandoned like at the previous villa. They take us to Garden Suit 3, which give more than we expected... one bedroom beautiful design villa with sunset view from our bedroom, the location was amazing! its new building, good scent, super clean, comfort bed with mosquito net (good sleep guarantee), spacious bathroom with fresh color, marbel n wood, standing shower n bathtub, 2 wardrobe, n i like the wastafel rock+table from the big root was so preety. The room hv modern equipment, big flat tv, nokia cellphone provided if u want to call front desk n others, and wifi internet connection in the room realy make u feel save n secure! The bfast was exelent, dinner as well, i like the desert Kolak Pisang they made so delicious. The pool was beautiful n hd a great lanscape view from there, good spot also for take sunset pics, or just get lazy n drink coctails (mohito was good, long island was exelent!). Just small thing about the Spa, we booked for 1hour aromaterapy massage at 5pm. After walk abit we arrived at simple room with 2 spa table n theres one bathroom. Unluckyly i did not hv a good therapist, massage was terreble, the towel they put arround my face wasnt smell good, n i felt cold/uncomfortable so after 20min i decided to go back to my room n made hot tub for relaxing, my husband was fall sleep n said massage was good, but when he wake up to get massage on his shoulder he feel also cold n cant wait to hv hot shower. Hope MMP management can provide a heater so the spa can be really comfort n relaxing. Overall, we had pleasant stay, Munduk Moding Plantation is the best choice if u want to spent holiday in Munduk!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gedeuli, Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2011

Thank you for your comments which are very much appreciated. We are very happy that you liked your stay at MMP, we will check what happened at the spa. At the end of the day, in the dry season temperatures drop a bit, this is why we normally provide an electric blanket at the spa at that time and we ensure that guests are properly covered with pool towels. Our therapists normally check whether guests are comfortable and the feedback we receive is very positive. Following your comments, we will, however, pay extra attention to this point. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.

Gede Uliadnyana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

308 - 314 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2011

Friendly, helpful assistance (even before final booking) - pool rather on the fresh side - great base for unguided and guided walks - superb food and service - must stay at least 3 days. Overall impression: excellent small quiet retreat we love to return to.

Room Tip: 2 rooms (suites) above restaurant, sharing balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrenkerZug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We've been to Bali quite a few times - but nothing beats the Munduk Modeng experience.

The service is excellent, friendly and feels genuine. We spent 6 days in Munduk with our two young kids: our son who had just turned four, and my daughter who celebrated her 2nd birthday in Munduk. The cook even baked a chocolate cake - which we ate under the tiny thatched roof with a spectacular view of the area.

The hotel is situated on the side of a mountain and the view from the terrace is stunning: the clouds and the sun playfully paint the sky and the mountains in the distance. A little closer by one can see a valley with some villages and part of the ocean. At sunset in particular the ocean looks smashing: like glittering gold. Even closer by the nearby terraced hills and the green forrest and plantation offer a habitat for a variety of singing birds, frogs, bats, crickets.

The accommodations are clean, stylish and offer all comforts one can wish for. Munduk is the perfect staging area for daytrips to a wide variety of interesting things - pretty much anything north of Ubud - such as waterfalls, Hindu and Buddhist temples, local markets and villages, nature treks, the lakes of Nothern Bali, its coastline and a natural hotsprings. Around the plantation there's plenty of tracks for hiking and biking and even horseback-riding.

The menu is not the biggest in the world - but the dishes are all quite good and served with the gracious friendliness people admire so much of the Balinese.

Room Tip: Bring good hiking boots!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bastiaan_van_de_Werk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

When you drive to this hotel you just keep going up and think you will never be there BUT this hotel has a great location on the top of the mountain. From time to time you will find your self in the clouds, which is a bit cold - so remember a sweater for the nights.

The pool area is quite small, but the infinity pool and the view is fantastic. Also the hotel is still very small and you will not feel crowded.

The food is good but not great and the price is somewhat higher than what we experienced other places.

The hotel want to a luxury resort using only local staff and ask for their guests' patience with staff and functins. It worked well but it will take some time before they get 100%. But they will be there.

The villas are large and great. And again; the panorama view is fantastic.

Remember to take the guided tour of the plantation and the waterfall.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OnlyTheBest-Lux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We stayed 4 days in this wonderfull small hotel - located in the middle of an plantation. It is truly a magnificent place and the view from the hotel is breathtaking! The place is small and very quiet, the villas are fantastic and the food is excellent! (we recommend the "Todays Specials). The staff is very friendly and will make all efforts to give you a wonderful stay. Our 2 children aged 6 and 9 had a fantastic stay doing horse riding & trekking as well as visiting the beautiful waterfalls and hot springs! Unfortunately they don't have cycles for smaller kids hence we failed to explore the area by bike but I am sure it must be great also! We can only recommend this place and will for sure come back. As chances of rain are high, we recommend that you bring rain coat and some warmer clothes for the evening.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DortheS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

What a beautiful memory we have of Munduk Moding. The resort is off the beaten track with gorgeous views and the hospitality and professionalism are first rate. Mr Gede and all the staff are quietly efficient. We stayed over Nyepi and that was a wonderful experience as we learned more about the Balinese people and their traditions. We felt very pampered with the turn down service, the afternoon teas and the umbellas produced magically for our trips.
Luxurious, marvellous food and caring staff what more could one ask for?

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank glmurraylea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

this is my second stay at munduk moding, and it remains one of my favourite places to stay in bali. certainly off the beaten track, but in a location blessed with cool temperate weather and a view to die for. Add to this all the creature comforts that can be expected of a hotel in bali, and you have a combination that is certainly hard to beat.

There is something magical about this place. In the evenings the setting sun stains the sky orange with a tinge of purple, and on clear days you can see all the way to the northeastern coast of bali (permuteran/menjangan) with the mountains of eastern java as a backdrop. And all this is reflected in an elegantly designed infinity pool... Even when the skies are cloudy, the mists roll in and shroud the whole estate in a thin mysterious veil...

there are currently only 4 villas and a few suites at this place, so personal service is guaranteed. More villas are being built which we were told will be ready middle of this year. I sure hope the wonderful service and attention to detail shown by the staff will continue to be a hallmark of this place.

can't wait to return...

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thelittleprinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gobleg
4.4 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 24 in Lovina Beach
825 reviews
23.2 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
211 reviews
20.4 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,221 reviews
22.6 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#11 of 199 in Ubud
1,084 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sanak Retreat Bali
Sanak Retreat Bali
#1 of 1 in Kayuputih
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munduk Moding Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munduk Moding Plantation

Address: Jl. Asah Gobleg Banjar Dinas Asah | Kecamatan Banjar Kabupaten Buleleng Singaraja, Gobleg 81152, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Gobleg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Gobleg
Price Range: £104 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Munduk Moding Plantation 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Munduk Moding Plantation Nature resort & Spa (MMP) is the only boutique hotel in Bali located on a working coffee plantation producing its own specialty coffees.MMP has some of the best views on the Island as well as an award winning infinity pool. Spread out over 5 hectares and nestling in luxuriant gardens full of tropical flowers and plants, our villas offer unparalleled privacy. Guests can enjoy a beautiful Jacuzzi, a unique Bamboo Spa and Hall, a gym, a tennis and badminton court, horse riding, a sky lounge with a comprehensive library and games room while the MiMPi restaurant serves food made with fresh ingredients from our vegetable and spice gardens. Free Internet, an extensive activity program as well as a shuttle service to nearby places of interest are available on a complementary basis for in house guests. Strategically located near Bali's central lakes and Munduk hill station, this European-Indonesian partnership works to preserve the natural environment in unison with the local community, which it supports through its Munduk foundation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Munduk Moding Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munduk Moding Plantation Hotel Gobleg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing