We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Munduk Moding Plantation
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We planned a 6 night trip with our family of 5 (kids 8, and almost 6 yo twins), slightly off the beaten track in Bali. We came from Mengwi just before lunch and we had to wait until our Family Sky Suite was ready. Two large rooms with a huge balcony on top of the restaurant (no kids meal but plenty of options, especially if you don't have picky eaters like ours), overlooking the pool, the mountains and the sea. Very very pretty. Food was excellent and reasonably priced. Room was in good working order with plenty of space. However, do think that room could do with a few small upgrades here and there, especially in the bathroom (shower screen, ceiling, bit of paint, etc.). No a/c needed, comfy beds, no complaints, except that curtains are quite light, so not very dark in the room in the morning. Breakfast outside overlooking the mountains, service fine, not great, but very willing. Nice bread and a few other options for those who want eggs, pancakes, etc.

We booked the family package and they took us on trips to the lakes, the waterfall, Munduk, lunch at a restaurant, and the kids went horse back riding, we had a massage, all very relaxing. They have some kids games, they had Balinese dancing in the evening. Super friendly staff. Environment is very pretty with lots of things for (city)kids to look at. They had a great time and so did we. Can highly recommend if you want something different. Pool is cold, but it didn't stop our kids, but agree, they would be able to stay in longer if temperature was slightly more comfortable. It does get "fresh" in the evening, so a light sweater should be on your list. The location, the service and the food makes this a great way to experience a different side of Bali.

Room Tip: Family Sky Suite is great for families. If you have young kids (toddlers) you may want to bring a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1andTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

281 - 287 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2012

It's a wonderful, boutique, secluded place!

The already existing reviews there are basically correct:
- it is a very beautiful setting, the really is as nice as the pictures show
- we stayed in a villa, they are beautiful. We could stay with 3 kids in the same room, which was very nice.
- the pool indeed is a bit chilly. It's in the mountains, so naturally cooler than the beach areas
- it's on a plantation, so indeed secluded, if you want to be in centre of nightlife, you're obviously in the wrong place
- it's 20m from Munduk by car, but the ride is provided for free and there is not much too see in the Munduk village, so I would rather stay in MMP than in Munduk itself
- staff and service was very helpful (we were with 3 little kids, so everything does not go as you would want it to go ...)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gede S, Executive Assistant Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

November 4,2012

Dear Mr.Gert Bijnens,

Thank you for your comment. It is very rewarding to receive compliments from guests like you who have enjoyed their stay. Your feedback will surely motivate us to always strive and do better in the future.

Best regards,
Gede Suparwata
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

MMP was the second place we stayed in during our trip to Bali for our honeymoon, and it was wonderful! In fact, it was the most beautiful room we have ever stayed in. Villa 1 was our abode for 3 nights and days and we enjoyed every minute of it...from the outside shower, to the giant stone bathtub, to the breathtaking view! The staff was so accommodating and friendly; and Gede, the manager, made sure that our every need was taken care of. We enjoyed a 2-hour horseback riding trip through the village where we enjoyed the fields of orange groves, clove trees and hydrangeas. From MMP, we hired a driver (at a very affordable price) to take us to Lovina beach, the Banjar Hot Springs and Brahma Vihara Arama Buddhist Temple...this was only a 45-minute drive down the mountain. While at MMP, we dined at MiMPi (Balinese for "Dream") and the food was very yummy! We were also entertained by young Balinese girls dancing in the traditional style, and it was absolutely charming. The daily breakfast in the garden was also a highlight; as well as our massage, dipping in the gorgeous infinity pool and the lesson on making traditional Balinese "offerings" with palm leaves and flowers. We would DEFINITELY come back to MMP as well as highly recommend it. Be sure to try their homegrown Luwak coffee. It is actually one of the best cups of coffee I've ever had! One note: it does get chilly so come prepared with a wrap or sweater for the cool mountain nights. But all in all, it is a peaceful, serene retreat far from any hussle and bussle.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gedeuli, General Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Dear Carolina,

Many thanks for your feedback which we all appreciate very much at MMP. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we will be able to serve you again in the future.

With best regards,
Gede Uliadnyana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We went for dinner here as decent resaurants in Bedugel area are hard to find. This is a beautiful resort, and their restaurant is superb. I understand that they have a Balinese Chef ..he should be congratulated, as the food is world class, beautiful presentation, delicious blend of flavours and very reasonable priced. Staff lovely. The resort is a little tricky to find, especially if you are driving yourself, but it is well worth the effort. Well done...we will return!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moondogy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gedeuli, Executive Assistant Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Dear Mr/s.Rowley,

Thank you for these kind comments - we are very happy to know that you found the food is world class, beautiful presentation, delicious blend of flavours and very reasonable priced.

Hopefully we will have another opportunity to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future.

Best regards,
Gede Suparwata
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I found this hotel on trip advisor and am so pleased that we decided to stay for two nights on our way up to the North of the Island. All my correspondence with Gede, the General Manager were courteous and all my queries answered truthfully. They arranged the pick up from our previous hotel and it was a smooth journey to this breathtaking part of the island. Our villa room was sensational and we were in awe of the spectacular views. We didn't swim in the pool as it decided to rain whilst we were there but the water didn't seem too cold, the complimentary tea in the afternoon was very welcome and we thoroughly enjoyed the food on offer. We took the complimentary walk around the plantation , bud couldn't go any further as I had twisted my ankle at the previous hotel so enjoyed a very relaxing massage .
They also said that the water was cold in the bathroom but we found both the shower and the bath amazing.
There are also little extra touches, they provide you with a mobile phone so if you want anything from reception you can contact them and also you can take it when you are walking around the plantation for emergencies, they also provide a torch( which we didn't use as found the lighting up the paths sufficient).
The staff are all so happy and we loved chatting to them all.
This is a hotel we would put on top of our list to go back to, if anyone wants to go on to the north of the island please bear in mind the Santi Sari Hotel, which is approx 1.5/2 hrs away in Goris, which is about 10 minutes from Permuterean, this is again a very special place to stay, we stayed here for 7 days after MMP and loved both hotels.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Villa and I think I would prefer this to the rooms above the restaurant, there are qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brown5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012 via mobile

The good was breakfast in garden on hilltop, looking at stars from outdoor fire, trekking in area, spa massage and everything reasonably priced.

The not so good were the garden rooms which were not pleasant to spend time in and the bathroom which had very poor
furniture and a really unpleasant dirty plastic roof light over shower. There is also nowhere nearby to go even Munduk itself is a 25 minute drive away and it is not very interesting.

The food was mixed with some good dishes (chicken) but the rijstaffel was not at all good.

There is a fine pool which no one used while we were there because the water was too cold. The hotel is very high up and it was never warm outside in the day and too cold by far to eat out in the evening. It may be Bali but it feels like the far north not the far east up there.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DSRdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gedeuli, General Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2012

Dear Jane,
I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not entirely successful. On the other hand, I am pleased to hear that you did enjoy much of what MMP has to offer: the breakfast in our tropical garden at the edge of the pool, the daily evening bonfire, our spa and many of our dishes.
To be very honest, we normally have a very positive feedback on the three issues you raised critically: our little village of Munduk, the Rijtaffel dish and the decoration in the garden suite bathroom.
Munduk has been visited by Westerners since 1901 (the year in which the Dutch established a hill station here) and the number of visitor increased year after year because the beauty of the landscape, the cooler evenings and the friendliness of the people.
On the decoration: the fact that we are using a giant old coffee tree as a washbasin base, the option of a teak “deck” or natural stone to stand on in the shower and the use of the random Palimanan stone on the wall are generally liked by our visitors. However, we have asked housekeeping to improve the removal of leaves from the transparent roof over the bathroom area on a daily basis.
The same also holds for our Rijstafel dish on which we normally receive good comments and in fact it has been ordered almost every day since you left – it is a genuine North Bali Rijsttafel and I appreciate that it isn’t really comparable to the more standardized Indonesian fare in the south of the island.
Finally, I understand that your travel agent has chosen our hotel for you. I am not completely sure, therefore, that you were well informed beforehand about our plantation and hillside location, focused on the natural environment of this part of the Island – we are offering a different experience from the busier beachside locations elsewhere on the island. It is true that this isn’t Kuta or Ubud, (no exquisite shopping venues, big cafes, fancy restaurants) as the experience is more one of the real Bali – warts and all.

With best regards,
Gede Uliadnyana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This is a truly unique find and we were sorry to leave. We stayed for just two nights on a whirlwind tour of Bali, but enjoyed the peace and tranquility of the hotel and all the wonderful facilities on offer. The pool is not big, and slightly too cold but is a stunning feature infinity pool overlooking the most spectacular countryside views, which we further enjoyed whilst enjoying superb breakfasts in the garden both mornings. The rooms are comfortable and rustic - and not quite up to the top notch standards of the city hotels we stayed in - but spacious, clean and truly charming. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the two tour guides for our treks from the hotel were superb and the experiences outstanding. This is well worth the drive into the hills - our only slight criticism was the limited menu given there were no other restaurants available in the immediate vicinity. That being said, the food was of a very good standard, and the staff were very accommodating of any changes we asked for.

Room Tip: We took the two suites above the hotel itself which were spacious and had a whole private balcony ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gedeuli, General Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear Caroline,
Thank you for these kind comments - we are very happy that you found MMP so relaxing and that you found our staff were available to assist. Concerning your thought on the pool temperature, we are now working on a system to heat it - should be up and running in the coming weeks. I certainly looking forward to welcome you back .
With best regards,
Gede Uliadnyana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gobleg
4.4 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 25 in Lovina Beach
838 reviews
23.2 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
216 reviews
21.8 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
22.6 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#42 of 199 in Ubud
1,042 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sanak Retreat Bali
Sanak Retreat Bali
#1 of 1 in Kayuputih
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munduk Moding Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munduk Moding Plantation

Address: Jl. Asah Gobleg Banjar Dinas Asah | Kecamatan Banjar Kabupaten Buleleng Singaraja, Gobleg 81152, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Gobleg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Gobleg
Price Range: £109 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Munduk Moding Plantation 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Munduk Moding Plantation Nature resort & Spa (MMP) is the only boutique hotel in Bali located on a working coffee plantation producing its own specialty coffees.MMP has some of the best views on the Island as well as an award winning infinity pool. Spread out over 5 hectares and nestling in luxuriant gardens full of tropical flowers and plants, our villas offer unparalleled privacy. Guests can enjoy a beautiful Jacuzzi, a unique Bamboo Spa and Hall, a gym, a tennis and badminton court, horse riding, a sky lounge with a comprehensive library and games room while the MiMPi restaurant serves food made with fresh ingredients from our vegetable and spice gardens. Free Internet, an extensive activity program as well as a shuttle service to nearby places of interest are available on a complementary basis for in house guests. Strategically located near Bali's central lakes and Munduk hill station, this European-Indonesian partnership works to preserve the natural environment in unison with the local community, which it supports through its Munduk foundation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Munduk Moding Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munduk Moding Plantation Hotel Gobleg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing