We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to be active”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Munduk Moding Plantation
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A great place to be active”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We spent 2 nights at MMP in July 2013. At first we were a little bit disappointed to leave behind the sunny, warm coastal area of Lovina to arrive in the misty and rainy mountains of Munduk. However, at MMP we were greeted with a smile, a flower garland and a welcome drink and - as we arrived before check in time - we were taken on the complementary tour around the plantation first. The guide was lovely but the paths were quite slippery and the plantation seemed a little bit neglected in the areas away from the villas and from the main building. We also came by the tennis court which looked more like a parking lot and was not very well maintained.

After the tour we were taken to our villas (one for the adults and one for our two sons). The villas were wonderful : spacious, clean and very well decorated. The four poster beds with mosquito nets were very comfortable. Lovely in- and outdoor showers, bathtub, two sinks, writing desk, sitting area with a stunning view (as we noticed the next morning when the clouds were gone) and outdoor sitting area. WIFI was adequate but we always lost connection at some point during the evening and we only got it back in the morning after getting a new password from the reception.

There were quite a bit of slippery steps from the villas (3 & 4) to the reception so you need to be careful and in good physical condition. If you are not then we think you should ask for the room above the main building or the 2 bedroom villa. We have seen a golf cart in the parking lot but we think it can only be used on the road towards the newly built 2 bedroom villa. Everywhere else there are stairs.

The staff is friendly and the guide that took us out on the waterfall-trekking was great. The surroundings of Munduk are very lush and you get great views everywhere.

The main building and the pool area are quite small but cosy. When the sun is out (when we were there it was sunny from morning until about 2 pm) you can sit outside on loungers or at tables by the pool or on the grass or by the jacuzzi. Great views from there. The pool was quite cold and not many people seemed to use it. Our children did but they retreated to the jacuzzi quite quickly.

We found that there was not enough sitting area when it rained. The tables in the dining area were usually already set for lunch or dinner and the bar area had only 2 small tables and 4 chairs. So when it rained we had only our rooms to sit. It is nice that you can borrow books, DVD's and board games from the reception area and take them to your room.

The food we had for breakfast and dinner and the lunch that was offered to us during the trekking were excellent. Nicely presented and excellent taste. Cocktails, even though as expensive as everywhere else in Bali, were hit and miss. Don't know what happened to the cocktails we ordered but they were very wrong and we could not finish them.

When we asked how we could get from Munduk to Bedugul to visit the botanical gardens and Bali Tree Tops we were offered a free shuttle. Excellent service.

We found that the spa was good but not exceptional. Again there were quite a bit of slippery stairs to get to the spa.

In short : We found that the lodging, service and food at MMP is excellent. However, you need to be active. There are lots of walks and excursions offered by the hotel to keep yourselves busy. Don't go there if you want to spend time lying in the sun or by the pool or if you are looking for evening entertainment. The surroundings are lovely but there is a price to pay for being high up in the Bali mountains. Be prepared to see some rain or fog even in the dry season. Take a sweater to wear in the evenings.

Room for improvement :
- clean the slippery steps between the villas even though I realize that this is difficult to keep up in a damp and tropical environment;
- explain the trainees (?) at the bar how to make cocktails :)
- provide more sitting area near the main building for when it rains

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gede S, Executive Assistant Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear HBelgium,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your helpful suggestions. We are happy to hear that you found the villas, the service and the food at MMP of excellent quality.

We have indeed noticed that the further out paths on the plantation can be a bit slippery in some months during the rainy season. For that reason, we have installed some concrete blocks at the slippery areas; this project was completed last week. As for the access to the villas and the Spa, the moss is scheduled to be removed every two months – we will increase this frequency if we observe that it needs to be done more regularly. The short grass around the tennis court is always maintained by our gardener and we are now working to clean the surface and repaint the lines of the court itself.

We have followed up on your WiFi advice by introducing a permanent log in and password so that our guests can stay connected permanently in a very convenient manner. In fact, this should have already been the case with the old system since the password offered (always for all devices guests bring) should have been valid for 24 hours anyway. We do not fully understand what actually happened in your case as we did not hear any feedback related to this issue beforehand.

We apologise for the mishap with will your cocktails have discussed this with our restaurant colleagues to prevent this from happening again.

Finally, we will be opening a larger sitting area soon to provide more indoor space for our guests. This will also allow us to host indoor performances, show movies and install a larger library. It will offer our guest further space to relax and enjoy themselves when the weather is poor.

The team and I are looking forward to be given another chance to serve you again at MMP so that you might sample the fruit of your kind advice.

Best regards,
Gede
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    80
    17
    1
    0
See reviews for
127
345
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Lovely laid back relaxing hotel, we were just very unlucky with the weather. We did manage to catch sight of the wonderful views on a couple of occasions and at other times we were sitting in a cloud watching the hotel disappear before our eyes. The pool looked amazing but was a little too cold for me although my husband ventured in for a swim. The staff, room and food were very good and one evening we were treated to a visit by local dancers. It's worth going on the plantation tour, it's very interesting. A nice touch was the packet of coffee from the plantation that we were given as a gift when we left.

Room Tip: We were in Garden Room 1. Think there may have been larger rooms but we found ours nice enough, huge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gede S, Executive Assistant Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Kitty52,

Thank you for your positive review which we appreciate.

It is a bit unfortunate that this year the rainy season was longer than it normally should have been and I regret that you experienced this during your time at MMP. It affects the whole of Bali, but obviously, MMP being located in the central hill area was more affected. We have frankly not experienced such weather during the dry season since MMP was opened back in 2009.

The water in our swimming pool is indeed less warm compared to the pools situated in the lower areas in Bali because we are located at 1100 meters. However, following advice received from guests, since mid June 2013, we have installed pool heaters to ensure that the temperature of the pool water is 25-26 degrees Celsius in stead the 19 to 20 degrees Celsius which would otherwise be the case.

We hope that we will have a chance to welcome you back and serve you at MMP at your next visit to Bali.

Best regards,
Gede
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

MMP has always been on my list of “Must Stay Hotel in Bali” since it’s opening. This is my 3rd trip to Bali and first time visiting the highlands where the weather is cool in the mornings and evenings. MMP picked us from Villa Patal on time and as the drive takes about 3hrs, we requested to have lunch at Ibu Oka (Ubud). There was a slight jam into Ubud as it’s a popular area with tourists. I am so grateful to the driver for his patience & flexibility. We were starting to get restless in the car when the scenery changed (we were on higher grounds as the car was going up the hill) and eventually the lakes caught our eyes.

We were welcomed by friendly & upbeat staff (I never fail to see a smile on their faces) who presented each of us a flower garland upon arrival. Check in was a breeze and we were brought to our 1 bedroom Villa after a brief introduction of the property. Villa was huge and has everything we could wish for eg. bathtub, indoor & outdoor shower, double sink, deck chairs, sliding doors with glass panels so that we can enjoy the lush greenery which surrounds us, mosquito net, hairdryer, safe deposit box, bathrobes etc. Every night, staff would do night turn down service and leave a bedtime story on the bed. One evening, it was a sad story but it was accompanied by a piece of palm sugar sweet which tasted great. WIFI was slightly frustrating in the room as my handphone would logout and I have to sign in several times a day. We took a walk around the plantation and had afternoon tea (available daily at 4pm) by the infinity pool. You can request to have your afternoon tea & snack by the Jacuzzi. Pool water is cold but don’t fret, there is a hot Jacuzzi tub with spectacular views of the coast as well as 3 volcanoes (Ijen, Merapi & Raung). View is incredible especially in the morning when it’s sunny and skies are blue. I love seeing the reflection of clouds in the infinity pool. Having breakfast with such views is a rare treat.

We went on several tours (Lake Buyan & Tamblingan, Off the Beaten Village Tour, Sekumpul Mystery Waterfall & Waterfall Bonanza) during our stay. All drivers and guides are patient and accommodating. I would like to thank all for that as we stopped many times to take pictures. It was a 3hrs walk in the forest form Lake Buyan to Lake Tamblingan. The lakes are beautiful but we could only see it once in a while throughout the walk. We enjoyed the dugout canoe ride which we helped to paddle at Lake Tamblingan. We visited bamboo weaving, Pedawa village, Gesing (giant banyan tree) & Munduk waterfall during the Off The Beaten Village Tour. At Pedawa village, we bought some Palm Sugar which tasted natural with a nice aroma. Sekumpul waterfall was beautiful. Easy walk initially then came the 350 steps (steps are quite high at certain parts) down followed by crossing through 2 small rivers to get there. It was great seeing the waterfall at such a close distance but beware, you would be all wet. Bring a towel. We saw 3 waterfalls (Golden Valley, Empelan which is also known as Munduk & Melanting) on the Waterfall Bonanza tour.

Food, in my opinion, was slightly disappointing as some of the dishes like Seafood Belado (gravy diluted), Pumpkin Soup (taste of pumpkin is weak – may be better if it’s a cream soup version), Ikan Pepes (not so aromatic – insufficient spices or coconut milk), Tuna Sambal Matah (tuna is dry) were average. Dishes which I liked: Timbungan, Satay, Chicken Confit & Chicken Paprika. I appreciate the variety available for breakfast and my request for a pot of strong coffee every morning.

MMP supports the nearby villages and every Sunday, about 50 girls would be learning traditional dance at the tennis court. We had the privilege to watch the dance on 2 evenings during dinner. A Huge Thank You to the staff who accompanied us to the nearby shop to purchase stationery for the 50 girls. I would also like to take this opportunity to thank MMP for assisting me to sort and distribute clothes (65kg) to the under privileged families.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funtraveller76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We recently stayed at Munduk Moding Plantation Resort and loved it. Beautiful villa which comfortably accommodated our family of 4 (2 Adults in the large bed, 2 children on mattresses on the floor and we still had room to spare), offering stunning views over the bay. Very private villas, nicely decorated, modern bathroom and outdoor shower as well as large indoor shower and bath, TV and DVD worked well, no problems with access to wifi either, we received a complimentary massage (adults) and horse ride (kids) which was very much appreciated. We also were offered complimentary afternoon tea, which was a nice touch.
The resort is in a lovely location, tucked away on the side of a mountain with attentive and friendly staff and beautiful scenery. It's definitely kid friendly, but would be equally nice for couples as each villa is very private and there is a cabana for romantic dinners for 2 if you want to be removed from the main dining area.
There's not much to do in the immediate vicinity(walks and plantation tours/ horse rides/ spa treatment or exploring nearby villages), but that's part of the attraction, and the hotel offers plenty of tours to keep you occupied if you want. We had a driver for the day who was able to take us to nearby lakes & temples, waterfalls, rice fields, etc. We'd love to come back one day and explore the north west from Munduk Moding. Thanks for a great stay!
(Some advice: be prepared to walk lots of stairs when staying at Munduk Moding: the resort is built on the side of a mountain and as each villa is set back from the main part of the resort, there are lots of stairs & steps to negotiate going to and from your villa. It can also get a bit chilly in the evenings, so bring a cardigan and long pants

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellebee42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

As my boyfriend is not a fan of hot weather, we are searching of other parts in Bali that has a cooler climate.
We also are looking for places that is not too packed with tourist or all the hoopla surrounding it.
We decide to pick this hotel based on the positive reviews, and boy we did not disappoint!
If you are driving by yourself, there is no clear big hotel signage leading to the hotel, so drive slowly when you are already in Munduk to avoid missing it. (if you come from south Bali, passed temple Ulun Danu Beratan, passed 3 lakes and one stop area on the left, you are close, go right on the first intersection.)
The hotel is like a quiet paradise among the mountain. We choose the 1 bed room villa, it has direct view to the mountain. Nice wood floor, standing bath tub, big bed, outside shower.
Staff are polite, you can join their plantation tour, get a massage or you can just lounging in the infinity pool adoring the view and serenity.
For the price, we thought it is a great value, we will surely come again here! The downside it is raining every day and not much going on outside the hotel.
Do come here on day light, because the road will be pretty dark and no street sign, it tends to rain at night and you don't want to miss out the (if it's not foggy) sunset.

Room Tip: choose villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoldyWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gede S, Executive Assistant Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Woldy World,

Thank you for staying at our resort recently.It is very rewarding to receive compliments from you who had a pleasant stay.We are delighted to know that you found our resort is like a quiet paradise in the mountain,staff is polite,the price is a great value,the villa has nice wooden floor,standing bath tub,big bed and outdoor shower.

However,we sincerely apologize to know that it was raining during your stay.It was supposed to be the dry season in early May 2013.Unfortunately,as you are aware,the rainy season was extended.

We would very much hope that you might wish to return in July or August.It will allow you to experience dry season at our resort.Even though it is dry season,it is nice and cool up here.In addition,should you wish to explore more the area,one of our staff will take you to visit nearby waterfalls,Beratan,Buyan and Tamblingan Lakes,terraced rice field and the biggest banyan tree in Bali.

Best regards,
Gede Suparwata
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Set in a beautiful location high up in the mountains. Main building beautifully designed. The villas are set amongst the stunning gardens. If you are lucky to sty in a villa, you get a huge cleverly designed space full of light and comfort. The bath tub s massive, the walk in shower huge and with an added bonus of an outdoor shower. Views are spectacular. Television and DVD player ad movies provided, though the view is all you need. The four poster bed, huge, very comfortable. No aircon, not needed.

The infinity pool is beautiful and the hot tub a lovely bonus, views outstanding from both.

The place is wireless with a login system. Food is served in the restaurant, no room service which is a slight shame as the rooms and views are so beautiful you would want to make full use of the privacy as much as you could. Afternoon tea is served as complimentary. A spa is available.

Staff attentive with good service, happy to help.

We arrived to late to goon the tour of the plantation, but you can explore for yourself.

All in all a delightful beautiful hotel, well worth a stay.



Tayfun

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 1. Very private. Outdoor table, loungers available. Massive space. Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tayfun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gede S, Executive Assistant Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Tayfun,

I,on behalf of the team, would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying at our resort recently and taking time to write positive review on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy to know that you found the infinity pool is beautiful, the Jacuzzi is lovely, the view is outstanding and the accommodation is excellent. In addition, we are delighted to know that the staff is attentive and happy to help you.

On the other hand, we sincerely apologize and regret to know that the room service is not well informed to you. In fact, on daily basis we have been offering 15 hours room service to all of our guests from 07.15 a.m. to 10.15 p.m. since June 2009. To response the issue you have raised, we have discussed intensively with our front office and restaurant team to ensure that all guests are well informed to avoid the same case occur in the future. Thank you for the brilliant suggestion.

We very much hope that you will return to our resort in the future to experience our room service to allow you to enjoy the full use of the privacy as much as you could.

Best regards,
Gede Suparwata
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

It is not just a lovely and place with a fantastic pool and Jacuzzi. The whole team there was more than friendly all the time. Don´t miss the tour through the coffee, fruits and flower plantation. A paradise in the mountains on Bali.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Axel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gede S, Executive Assistant Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Dear Axel K,

On behalf of the whole team,I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us recently and taking time to write a positive review on Trip Advisor.We are very happy to know that you found that our resort is a lovely place with a fantastic pool and jacuzzi,all of the team member are more than friendly at all times and you enjoyed walking through our coffee plantation.Your words are inspiring and make all of us want to do even better.

We would very much hope that you might wish to return at some point in the future.

Best regards,
Gede Suparwata
Executive Assistant Manager
Munduk Moding Plantation Nature resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gobleg
4.4 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 23 in Lovina Beach
780 reviews
23.3 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
174 reviews
22.6 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 198 in Ubud
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,083 reviews
17.2 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 9 in Payangan
589 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sanak Retreat Bali
Sanak Retreat Bali
#1 of 1 in Kayuputih
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munduk Moding Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munduk Moding Plantation

Property: Munduk Moding Plantation
Address: Jl. Asah Gobleg Banjar Dinas Asah | Banjar Buleleng Singaraja, Gobleg 81152, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Gobleg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Gobleg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Munduk Moding Plantation 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Munduk Moding Plantation Nature resort & Spa (MMP) is the only boutique hotel in Bali located on a working coffee plantation producing its own specialty coffees.MMP has some of the best views on the Island as well as an award winning infinity pool. Spread out over 5 hectares and nestling in luxuriant gardens full of tropical flowers and plants, our villas offer unparalleled privacy. Guests can enjoy a beautiful Jacuzzi, a unique Bamboo Spa and Hall, a gym, a tennis and badminton court, horse riding, a sky lounge with a comprehensive library and games room while the MiMPi restaurant serves food made with fresh ingredients from our vegetable and spice gardens. Free Internet, an extensive activity program as well as a shuttle service to nearby places of interest are available on a complementary basis for in house guests. Strategically located near Bali's central lakes and Munduk hill station, this European-Indonesian partnership works to preserve the natural environment in unison with the local community, which it supports through its Munduk foundation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Munduk Moding Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munduk Moding Plantation Hotel Gobleg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing