We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly place !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Munduk Moding Plantation
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heavenly place !”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We just spent a night at this heavenly place, unfortunately just one single night. We had booked a package trip around Bali and I wish we could have stayed longer at this wonderful place ! We will have a serious word with our tour operator, they MUST change the programme....
We had booked a one bedroom pool villa - and were given a dream !
Words cannot describe this magic place, you have to go yourself, see, feel, experience.... !!
All the very positive reviews are simply true.
We would very much like to thank Gede and his team for a wonderful time.
Hope to be back !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilySwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    80
    18
    1
    0
See reviews for
133
353
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valkenswaard, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Our honeymoon stay at MMP was superb.
The memories of the villa, the pool, the restaurant, the plantation, the surroundings… everything was so incredibly fantastic…
If you go to Bali and you want to stay in The most peaceful and breath-taking place, do not look any further…

We stayed in many places, but this hotel is well balanced between luxury and nature… nature is everywhere, but the luxurious villa’s, pool and high quality food make this place a never to forget experience…

People who are looking for modern entertainment, music and shopping should focus on different places, but still…you can’t dance/shop all day…

Go to MMP to relax and to revive your senses…

Room Tip: Take a villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wLeQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We have been to Munduk Moding Plantation 3 times now and I love it. Munduk is cool in the mountains and a great change from the hotter south. The pool is now heated and fantastic and the view amazing. The staff are very friendly and the food is more traditional which is fantastic.
There is not much to do there other than relax which is great , although there are many lovely walks if you want the exercise.
It is a great place to escape shopping and haggling , the drive there is glorious with coffee and cloves along the side of the road.
If you haven't been to Munduk, you haven't seen the real Bali.
I would really recommend the trip there to escape the south and the Moding Plantation is certainly the place to stay, a bit more expensive but well and truly good value for money.

Room Tip: The garden villas are beautiful for romance , all the rooms are great , room above pool great for gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank docrob_aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Although I had to select as the latest option, October 2012 as time of our travel, our family of 5 actually lived in Bali from 2009-2011 and stayed at MMP twice during our time there - once by ourselves and once with friends who were visiting. Both times we had an excellent experience. The service is impeccable and the staff all very friendly and professional. The rooms were gorgeous with amazing views out over the mountains and down to the sea - there were days when the clouds rolled in and we were above the clouds and - I kid you not - it felt like our own "Cloud City". The area is gorgeous and is a great change from the southern part of Bali which is suffering terribly from the concrete syndrome and overdevelopment. Instead, this area of Bali is still very authentic and very green and lush. Be aware that the infrastructure here is virtually non-existent so the roads are extremely treacherous. We experienced this first hand when friends who were not used to driving these kinds of roads ended up with their car almost falling into a ravine. The staff at MMP literally saved us and our friends' rental car from the villagers who probably would have happily shoved the car down the ravine. Instead, they were able to salvage the car without even a scratch. The manager and staff at MMP definitely went above and beyond the call of duty. If there were any negatives, my only criticism would be in the cost of the food in their restaurant which we found to be tasty & good, but quite high based on our experience having lived and visited other parts of the island.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaatTheBeehive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gede S, Executive Assistant Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear LindaatTheBeehive,

Thank you for writing a positive comment. It is very rewarding to receive compliments from guests like you who have enjoyed their stay.

On the price of our food, it has been adjusted accordingly.
Thank you for pointing this out.

Your feedback will surely motivate us to always strive and do better than ever … :-)

Best regards,
Gede Suparwata
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This location and facility is just superb. It really is as good as it looks. From the moment you arrive you are treated as a special guest. The villas are private, the outdoor shower (there is one inside too) was a favorite. The extras included were a delight, even chocolate coated strawberries on a plate on our bed when we returned from dinner on one occasion.

The setting and facilities are brilliant; the infinity pool, garden seating, the jacuzzi looking down at the coast, the bar, walks, birds and staff too.

It was nice to get up in the mountains and enjoy clean water, fresh air, cool evenings, luxury, the sounds of genuine rural Bali - and of course that view. On a clear day you could see down to the coast (from 1200m level) and across to a 3,300m inactive volcano on Java.

Room Tip: Villa 1 was closer to restaurant, pool etc and more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueChar37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gede S, Executive Assistant Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear SueChar37,

Thank you for these kind comments. We are very happy to know that you found our location and facility is superb, the extras included while staying here were a delight and the setting and facilities are brilliant. What is more, we are delighted to know that you enjoyed clean water, fresh air, cool evenings, luxury, the sounds of genuine rural Bali and the view.

We do hope that we will be able to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,
Gede Suparwata
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I stayed 5 nights in mmp in the summer of 2013. Some of my friends had been there and told me that this hotel is absolutely stunning and has something special and warm. Well, they were absolutely right!

Together with my family, I stayed in the 2 bedroom pool villa which is absolutely amazing and has a lovely view!!! The swimming pool is a mini version of the big infinity pool at the restaurant and, just as the big swimming pool, you can make really nice pictures of the sunset! The villa actually consists of 3 separate villa's connected to each other, which means you all have a lot of privacy. The villa is quite far from the restaurant but this isn't really a problem because you've got your own butler who can shuttle you up and down to the restaurant with the golf car. Personally, however, I just loved walking to the restaurant and looking around at the the beautiful nature. The gardens here are probably the most beautiful I have ever seen in a hotel! Everywhere flowers and all kind of different plants and trees. Also the path to the spa has got amazing flowers and trees at the side! You really have a feeling that your are in the middle of the nature and in the garden of Eden (that's how I have decided to call these gardens).

The food is delicious: enak (the Indonesian word)! I really like how they present it; the sate will be served on an actual little grill so that the steam still comes. One evening we ordered a ricetafel which was beautiful and so delicious but a little bit too much! :D

When it's a clear day you can see the mountains in java from the infinity pool which is really stunning! You really have a feeling that your swimming in the clouds. I disagree with some of the reviews that the pool is on the coldish side, my dive computer told me that the pool temperature is 25 degrees centigrade which is comfortable and refreshing. I also love the jacuzzi which has an equally stunning view - I could sit in it for hours.

I used the spa and the horse riding services extensively and found them excellent. I took a body scrub with a massage and an other day I took a manicure and pedicure - especially the body scrub was wonderful: they make it themselves and it's organic! I went for a ride for about two hours. The horses are really sweet, I was sitting on "boleh" and he was absolutely adorable! We went around the neighbourhood with beautiful nature and visited an orchard garden. Finally, I played a game of badminton with the staff who are amazingly good at it and great fun.

Other features I admired were the free daily activities (a comfortable hike around the plantation, coffee possessing, making offerings and even Balinese cooking demonstrations) as well as the traditional Balinese dance shows.
They have 50 children from the local neighbourhood (all girls from age 8-14) who come to mmp every week for a free Balinese dancing lesson which I enjoyed watching: the little ones really take it very seriously and seem very proud.

However, the key thing here is the staff. Like most reviewers I found the people here so so so friendly and helpful: they go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and the warmth is really genuine.

Overall this hotel was definitely the best I've stayed in Bali and one of the best I have ever stayed in generally. The hotel/design , friendly staff, delicious food, view, pool, garden and all the extra little things they provide make it an amazing hotel which definitely stands out!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jojo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gede S, Executive Assistant Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Jojo K,

I, on behalf of the whole team, would like to take this opportunity to thank you for dropping a positive review on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed staying at our brand new two bedroom pool villa. In addition, we are delighted to know that you found the food is delicious, the garden is beautiful and you like the pool, spa, horse riding, view and daily special events.

There is no doubt that your kind words will stimulate us to do better in the future.

Best regards,
Gede Suparwata
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We spent 2 nights at MMP in July 2013. At first we were a little bit disappointed to leave behind the sunny, warm coastal area of Lovina to arrive in the misty and rainy mountains of Munduk. However, at MMP we were greeted with a smile, a flower garland and a welcome drink and - as we arrived before check in time - we were taken on the complementary tour around the plantation first. The guide was lovely but the paths were quite slippery and the plantation seemed a little bit neglected in the areas away from the villas and from the main building. We also came by the tennis court which looked more like a parking lot and was not very well maintained.

After the tour we were taken to our villas (one for the adults and one for our two sons). The villas were wonderful : spacious, clean and very well decorated. The four poster beds with mosquito nets were very comfortable. Lovely in- and outdoor showers, bathtub, two sinks, writing desk, sitting area with a stunning view (as we noticed the next morning when the clouds were gone) and outdoor sitting area. WIFI was adequate but we always lost connection at some point during the evening and we only got it back in the morning after getting a new password from the reception.

There were quite a bit of slippery steps from the villas (3 & 4) to the reception so you need to be careful and in good physical condition. If you are not then we think you should ask for the room above the main building or the 2 bedroom villa. We have seen a golf cart in the parking lot but we think it can only be used on the road towards the newly built 2 bedroom villa. Everywhere else there are stairs.

The staff is friendly and the guide that took us out on the waterfall-trekking was great. The surroundings of Munduk are very lush and you get great views everywhere.

The main building and the pool area are quite small but cosy. When the sun is out (when we were there it was sunny from morning until about 2 pm) you can sit outside on loungers or at tables by the pool or on the grass or by the jacuzzi. Great views from there. The pool was quite cold and not many people seemed to use it. Our children did but they retreated to the jacuzzi quite quickly.

We found that there was not enough sitting area when it rained. The tables in the dining area were usually already set for lunch or dinner and the bar area had only 2 small tables and 4 chairs. So when it rained we had only our rooms to sit. It is nice that you can borrow books, DVD's and board games from the reception area and take them to your room.

The food we had for breakfast and dinner and the lunch that was offered to us during the trekking were excellent. Nicely presented and excellent taste. Cocktails, even though as expensive as everywhere else in Bali, were hit and miss. Don't know what happened to the cocktails we ordered but they were very wrong and we could not finish them.

When we asked how we could get from Munduk to Bedugul to visit the botanical gardens and Bali Tree Tops we were offered a free shuttle. Excellent service.

We found that the spa was good but not exceptional. Again there were quite a bit of slippery stairs to get to the spa.

In short : We found that the lodging, service and food at MMP is excellent. However, you need to be active. There are lots of walks and excursions offered by the hotel to keep yourselves busy. Don't go there if you want to spend time lying in the sun or by the pool or if you are looking for evening entertainment. The surroundings are lovely but there is a price to pay for being high up in the Bali mountains. Be prepared to see some rain or fog even in the dry season. Take a sweater to wear in the evenings.

Room for improvement :
- clean the slippery steps between the villas even though I realize that this is difficult to keep up in a damp and tropical environment;
- explain the trainees (?) at the bar how to make cocktails :)
- provide more sitting area near the main building for when it rains

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gede S, Executive Assistant Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear HBelgium,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your helpful suggestions. We are happy to hear that you found the villas, the service and the food at MMP of excellent quality.

We have indeed noticed that the further out paths on the plantation can be a bit slippery in some months during the rainy season. For that reason, we have installed some concrete blocks at the slippery areas; this project was completed last week. As for the access to the villas and the Spa, the moss is scheduled to be removed every two months – we will increase this frequency if we observe that it needs to be done more regularly. The short grass around the tennis court is always maintained by our gardener and we are now working to clean the surface and repaint the lines of the court itself.

We have followed up on your WiFi advice by introducing a permanent log in and password so that our guests can stay connected permanently in a very convenient manner. In fact, this should have already been the case with the old system since the password offered (always for all devices guests bring) should have been valid for 24 hours anyway. We do not fully understand what actually happened in your case as we did not hear any feedback related to this issue beforehand.

We apologise for the mishap with will your cocktails have discussed this with our restaurant colleagues to prevent this from happening again.

Finally, we will be opening a larger sitting area soon to provide more indoor space for our guests. This will also allow us to host indoor performances, show movies and install a larger library. It will offer our guest further space to relax and enjoy themselves when the weather is poor.

The team and I are looking forward to be given another chance to serve you again at MMP so that you might sample the fruit of your kind advice.

Best regards,
Gede
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gobleg
4.4 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 23 in Lovina Beach
790 reviews
23.3 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
180 reviews
21.8 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#1 of 196 in Ubud
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#6 of 196 in Ubud
1,036 reviews
20.4 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
3.0 mi away
Sanak Retreat Bali
Sanak Retreat Bali
#1 of 1 in Kayuputih
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munduk Moding Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munduk Moding Plantation

Property: Munduk Moding Plantation
Address: Jl. Asah Gobleg Banjar Dinas Asah | Banjar Buleleng Singaraja, Gobleg 81152, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Gobleg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Gobleg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Munduk Moding Plantation 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Munduk Moding Plantation Nature resort & Spa (MMP) is the only boutique hotel in Bali located on a working coffee plantation producing its own specialty coffees.MMP has some of the best views on the Island as well as an award winning infinity pool. Spread out over 5 hectares and nestling in luxuriant gardens full of tropical flowers and plants, our villas offer unparalleled privacy. Guests can enjoy a beautiful Jacuzzi, a unique Bamboo Spa and Hall, a gym, a tennis and badminton court, horse riding, a sky lounge with a comprehensive library and games room while the MiMPi restaurant serves food made with fresh ingredients from our vegetable and spice gardens. Free Internet, an extensive activity program as well as a shuttle service to nearby places of interest are available on a complementary basis for in house guests. Strategically located near Bali's central lakes and Munduk hill station, this European-Indonesian partnership works to preserve the natural environment in unison with the local community, which it supports through its Munduk foundation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Munduk Moding Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munduk Moding Plantation Hotel Gobleg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing