We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and beautiful mountain setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Munduk Moding Plantation
Certificate of Excellence
Berne
Level Contributor
323 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Peaceful and beautiful mountain setting”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I stayed at Munduk Mountain Plantation for 3 nights in september and can only confirm the previous posters - its a lovely place to stay at, in a beautiful mountain setting.

I was upgraded to the wonderful pool villa, and as said below, what an amazing place ! the only negative point (the missing steps or ladder to get out of the pool) seems to have been taken care off, so now its even better (the missing steps stopped me from using the pool untill the last day, I was travelling alone and nervous about getting out of the pool on my own).

I very much enjoyed the nice moutain weather, warm and sunny during the day, and at night still okay, with tempartures around 18 to 20 degrees. I come from Switzerland so used to cool weather, and was still okay in T-Shirts, but a warm sweater would be advisable for most. Air-Con is not needed, and I didnt miss a fan either, but I left the door of my bedroom open during the night (to allow for some air circulation), and it would be nice to have a "mosquito-net" door / screen to stop insects and other animals from getting in (or to give you the "security" of them staying out).

Wonderful sunsets to be enjoyed from the pool villa, but even better from the main pool / jacuzzi area. The food in the restaurant is very tasty, good atmosphere, and on 2 of the 3 nights I stayed, local girls gave a balinese dance performance, which was great. On one evening Gede took me into the village to watch the local woman getting a Gamelan lesson, that was really a fantastic experience !

Overall, I had a great time a MMP. If you want to see "another side" of Bali (besides beaches and Ubud), go for it (but stay at least 2 nights).

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank nathalieyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    80
    17
    1
    0
See reviews for
126
339
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The hotel is set above the clouds within a coffee plantation. The setting is serene and calming and the service was excellent. We enjoyed hiking around the area and the complete lack of tourists...just us, our guide, and local farmers. The hotel itself is very nice with an infinity pool that while spectacular, is very cold. Our villa was very private and nicely appointed...the mildewed shower curtain was unpleasant and I did ask for it to be washed or replaced but that unfortuantely didn't happen. My only other suggestion is that the hotel either install screens to keep the bugs out or add fans as the room got quite stuffy when we kept the doors closed to keep the bugs out. We borrowed bikes and rode around the local area which we enjoyed very much. Those minor complaints aside, a lovely stay in a wonderful setting.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasper25rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gede S, Executive Assistant Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear jasper25rocks,

On behalf of the whole team, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying at MMP recently. We are delighted that you found the setting is serene and calming and we are thankful that you found the service is excellent. In addition we are very happy to learn that you enjoyed hiking around the area, which is something many of our guests engage in – as we do ourselves…

On the other hand, we sincerely apologize that the shower curtain wasn’t immediately cleaned when you signaled this to us. This should not have happened and we have discussed the matter with our housekeeping team who will from now ensure that the curtains are clean at all times.

The water in our swimming pool is indeed less warm compared to the pools situated in the lower areas in Bali because we are located at 1200 meters. However, following advice received from guests, since June 2013, we have installed pool heaters to ensure that the temperature of the pool water is 25-26 degrees Celsius. We believe this is sufficiently comfortable for swimming and it fits well with the environment of a hill plantation. As you know, there is a large Jacuzzi which is heated at 40°C with a view that is very similar to that of the infinity pool.

We would also like to thank you for your suggestion to introduce a fan in the rooms: we will follow it up by purchasing some portable fans, which will be placed in the rooms during particularly hot and dry periods.

Hopefully we will have an opportunity to welcoming you back in the future to allow you to witness the progress made and to enjoy the nature around the plantation.

Best regards,
Gede Suparwata
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Julian's, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had a fantastic stay in munduk moding plantation, beautiful resort, superb views & pool areas, lovely rooms and friendly staff. Enjoyed every minute, spend a few days there one day definitely will not be enough.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room, they are all in great locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
298 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I recently stayed at MMP for 2 nights and do wish it had been longer! What a wonderful place to relax and breathe fresh air, be amongst really friendly, helpful staff and have a great break from the south!
We were 2 couples and stayed in the 2 bedroom pool villa which was just gorgeous with our own beautiful infinity pool with fabulous views. I was intending to be active as the website suggests but when you see those pool lounges, that pool and that view, you just want to make the most of it!. I do suggest though, that somehow some steps be built in order to be able to get into and out of the pool easily as it is quite difficult to do so and would be almost impossible for children to use.
The garland of marigolds and welcome drink were just lovely as were the marigolds all over the bedrooms! Breakfast was great too. Gede, who looked after us in the villa was extremely friendly and very helpful.
I do feel that some ceiling fans would have improved my night's sleep though. Air conditioning is not necessary but I do like some air movement! Gede did bring me a portable fan which was very thoughtful of him and it did help!
We ate in the main restaurant for lunch and dinner and the food was always very tasty, the service was great. The view, onto the main infinity pool was just breathtaking!
Thank you to everyone at MMP for making our short stay such a delightful one - we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gede S, Executive Assistant Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear Ilab,

On behalf of the whole team, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking time to write positive review. We are glad to know that you had a great break from the South and found our resort is wonderful place to relax, breathe fresh air, the staff is really friendly and helpful . In addition, we are delighted to know that you like the garland of marigolds, welcome drink and the food.

Thank you for suggesting the step in the pool. The installation has been completed. I fully agree that it will be very useful in order to be able to get into and out of the pool easily.
We sincerely hope to have another opportunity to host you in the near future. This way you will witness the fruit of your brilliant suggestion.

Best regards,
Gede Suparwata
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The MMP is a fabulous resort in the mountains, where it is still possible to experience authentic Balinese traditions without the hoards of tourists. The infinity pool is incredible and has views to the volcanoes on Java. The service was fantastic, rates reasonable and I loved the secluded villas dotted through the hillside. Dancers from the local village performed in the restaurant and it was a treat to view them practising on the tennis court during the day. At night the view of all the lights in the valley was truly amazing.There were lots of organised activities and afternoon tea was served around the pool. I stayed at MMP with friends but I think this would be a great destination for a romantic getaway. I will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: The pool villa will be my next choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leidschendam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Three years ago we visited this uniquely situated small authentic resort that cherishes nature, quality, freedom and development for the first time. It was then only a year in operation. We notice with pleasure that all these ingredients are still there and are constantly watched and revaluated. Its focus remains on doing things better. MMP has all the modern comfort, a good cook and service guests may desire. And yet you never forget to be in Bali through its committed local staff, the little schoolgirls from the neighbourhood who from time to time proudly demonstrate their Balinese dancing skills, only made possible through the support of the management and the little bedside notes one receives daily, drawn from the rich Balinese mythology. We shall surely return again to this little paradise.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joop_koopman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Munduk Moding Plantation is like heaven, you will never forget the stay there. Friendly hospitality, beautiful scenery... nice and relaxing..... walking along the plantation taking in fresh air is like heaven. This stay is something you wont want to miss in your lifetime. We had booked this 5 month in advance in order to get the room. I m sure we will be back again.

Room Tip: The Family Suite room are amazing as you will get the full view of the whole swimming pools and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricFrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gobleg
4.4 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 23 in Lovina Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
23.3 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
21.8 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#11 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
22.8 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sanak Retreat Bali
Sanak Retreat Bali
#1 of 1 in Kayuputih
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munduk Moding Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munduk Moding Plantation

Property: Munduk Moding Plantation
Address: Jl. Asah Gobleg Banjar Dinas Asah | Banjar Buleleng Singaraja, Gobleg 81152, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Gobleg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Gobleg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Munduk Moding Plantation 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Munduk Moding Plantation Nature resort & Spa (MMP) is the only boutique hotel in Bali located on a working coffee plantation producing its own specialty coffees.MMP has some of the best views on the Island as well as an award winning infinity pool. Spread out over 5 hectares and nestling in luxuriant gardens full of tropical flowers and plants, our villas offer unparalleled privacy. Guests can enjoy a beautiful Jacuzzi, a unique Bamboo Spa and Hall, a gym, a tennis and badminton court, horse riding, a sky lounge with a comprehensive library and games room while the MiMPi restaurant serves food made with fresh ingredients from our vegetable and spice gardens. Free Internet, an extensive activity program as well as a shuttle service to nearby places of interest are available on a complementary basis for in house guests. Strategically located near Bali's central lakes and Munduk hill station, this European-Indonesian partnership works to preserve the natural environment in unison with the local community, which it supports through its Munduk foundation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Munduk Moding Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munduk Moding Plantation Hotel Gobleg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing