We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection in the mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Munduk Moding Plantation
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Perfection in the mountains”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We initially booked for one night then we increased it to two - what a good decision!

The experience was fantastic from the outstanding food, the guided walk round the estate and the chance to experience living in the mountains often above the cloud layer giving a mystical quality to the panoramic views.

Don't expect wall to wall sunshine you are at 1200 meters and the air is colder and wetter than the coast.

The pool is heated although it is still a little bit of a challenge to get in but what a pool! It redefines Infinity pool.

On the minus side the dining room in the evening is a little drab and it took a request to get the dead flowers in the room replaced but these are very minor when balanced against the total experience. The staff are outstanding from the Manager downwards.

We have stayed in 5 hotels this holiday this is one of the two we will be definitely coming back to.

Room Tip: The Villa rooms are really nice but I think man of the others are also
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmm010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gede S, Executive Assistant Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear jmm 010,

Thank you for staying at our resort recently and sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. It was a real pleasure for me to have an opportunity to meet you personally during your short stay at Munduk Moding Plantation.

I am glad to know that you had an opportunity to experience living in the mountains. In addition, I am delighted that you found the food and staff from Manager downwards were outstanding. Moreover, I am happy to learn that you will definitely come back in the near future.

However, I sincerely regret to learn about the dead flowers in the room. Following your constructive feedback, we have put in place a system to double check to ensure that the dead flowers in the room is removed and then replaced with the fresh one. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Finally, on the dining room, every effort will be made to ensure that it is no longer drab especially in the evening. Thank you for pointing this out.

Best regards,
Gede Suparwata
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    80
    17
    1
    0
See reviews for
126
339
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
264 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

What a contrast to the heat of the coast and the bustle of Ubud! We stayed here for just two nights in Villa no 1 which was a delight. The bedroom had a polished wood floor, four poster bed and floor to ceiling windows and the bathroom had a full bath tub as well as a separate shower and his and hers wash basins. Set in a pretty, secluded garden with a pond and loungers and lovely views, it was also very close to the main building. There were chocolates for us at evening turn-down and a fruit bowl in the room.
Breakfast was not the usual buffet but a choice of different menus depending on your taste. We ate dinner both nights in the restaurant and both were good. I particularly enjoyed my tuna buah starter and the chicken sate served over hot coals which I think was the best I had in the whole month we toured Indonesia.
It is certainly much cooler here than elsewhere in Bali - be prepared for the afternoon mists and rain - which sadly meant we didn't take advantage of the beautiful infinity pool and jacuzzi.
We appreciated the half-hour tour round the plantation as well as the free shuttle service to Tamblingan Lake and Munduk Waterfall.
Our travel company described this as a simple boutique hotel and we think that sums it up perfectly.

Room Tip: Other guests advised against a garden suite room which they said was extremely cramped. Go for vill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gede S, Executive Assistant Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Jinty27,

Thank you for your kind review and your friendly words about MMP.

Our Chef is very proud to hear that you liked his chicken sate so much that you consider it possibly to be the best you sampled during your tour of Indonesia. It is a pity that during your stay you experienced the tail end of the rainy season at MMP. Normally, we don't have this type of rain from March onwards even though the mist rolls in and out - leading to spectacular sunsets.

I realise that you have been staying at some very luxury establishments during your stay in Bali as a result of which you qualify MMP as a simple boutique hotel - as indicated by your tour company. It is worth bearing in mind that while we don't (yet) quite offer the services of a Chedi club in Ubud, we aim at providing affordable luxury in a part of the Island where this simply didn't exist some years ago - correspondingly, our rates are about half those of the established five star resorts in Ubud and the South. However, we strive to continuously increase the services and quality of our offer, while largely working with local staff who train at some of these establishments.

Best regards,
Gede Suparwata
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Recently stayed with the "MMP Nature and Culture Package (3 nights/4 days for two)" package at $900 USD, and had an overall lovely time. It's worth a visit for 1-2 memorable nights, but perhaps not ideal for extended stay. I'd definitely recommend for 2 nights for others on honeymoon or relaxing adult vacation.

Pros

1. The view from the infinity pool is EXACTLY as advertised. It's brilliant. Only issue is that due to location of being so high on the mountain, you are literally in the clouds. A lovely notion, but a reality that means garunteed rain from 2-3pm each day, and often a clouded over view. This was fine for us, as it's NATURE. The pool itself is also not heated, making it VERY cool (refreshing yes, but you can't really stand to stay in it for more than 10 or so minutes).

2. Rooms - very nice. The 3 suites are quite small though, upgrade to the villas if at all possible (or ask for free upgrade if they are not at capacity)

3. Complementary tea and treats daily during 4pm tea time. Great to warm up by the pool with this each day, and the tea choice is pretty impressive and baked goods change daily.

4. Romantic dinner included in our package was lovely. They have a pre-set menu which you can adjust (just ask to see the menu and advise of requests by that morning at the latest). The staff were very accommodating at helping us to book the night/time we wanted the dinner.

5. Traditional Balinese massage included in our package was nice - staff checked that the pressure was good on several occasions and it was very nice. But still a bit of room for improvement - we had 6:30pm massages and it was getting dark but lights along path to the spa was not on yet, so quite dark and confusing to get there. And then we arrived (late) we had to wait a few minutes as they cleaned the bathroom for us (thought they would have been ready for us). Finally (as was the case with many massages in south east Asia) there was a clear lack of modesty from the staff - my mother and I were expected to just get totally naked in front of each other and staff. I had to ask for a sarong, which was provided.

Cons

1. The restaurant is good, but not great and it's the only option you have (unless you coordinate 20-30min drive into town where there are not too many choices). As such, you could get bored if staying for several nights.

2. Our package included planting a tree on the property - nice gesture for the environment. After a short walk through the grounds the staff brought us to an area where the saplings had been prepared for us, waiting. We were told to basically 'dig' our own holes to put the trees in. Sorry we expected shovels??? instead we had dirty hands and confused looks on our faces. They try to put a cute laminated sign with your name on it beside the trees, but they mis-spelt our last name (although it was correct in earlier email and billing exchanges with them). Overall great idea, just poor execution.

3. Make sure you review the set menu they have for you if you have a 'package' with them. We didn't at first and then were slightly disappointed with the repeated dessert (exact same one planned 2 meals in a row) and chicken (different dishes but same protein 3 meals in a row). They were happy to change things for us, as long as they had sufficient notice.

4. The value of the packages is somewhat questionable - as there didn't seem to be any discount when we looked at the various tour options they had and added up those in the package with 3 nights of accommodation. Without a discount, it means you paid full price to have them plan your entire itinerary - what's the point???. While the massage and lake hike/canoe ride and visit to the waterfall that were part of the package were absolutely worth it and recommended, I don't know if I would have planned everything that was part of the "nature and culture" package.

Overall, would go again, but it's pretty costly (relative to other villa offers in Bali) so would not see added value in packages.

Room Tip: Get a villa (there are 7) vs. a smaller suite (3 of them).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madeline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gede S, Executive Assistant Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear vacation_girl_canada,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor, which we highly appreciate and take very seriously.

We are glad to know that you like the view from the infinity pool, the upgrade to the villa, the daily afternoon tea, the lake hike/canoe ride, the visit to the waterfall; in short most of what MMP could offer during your stay. In addition, we are delighted to know that you would consider to revisit us in the future which would be a great opportunity for us to award you with a better service.

On the other hand, we sincerely apologize for some mishaps. It is true that during your stay the main pool was rather cold. The heater was not functioning properly due to a technical problem (in fact, a leak in the circulation system). The supplier’s maintenance team had been working on this for some time, but could not fix it – despite clear assurances to the contrary. We then decided to order a spare part which will be installed on Wednesday, June 11,2014 to bring the pool temperature back to its habitual 24 degrees Celcius. We have meanwhile had a preventive check carried out at all our pool and Jacuzzi heaters at the plantation to avoid a similar incident from reproducing itself.

On the tree planting, as you remember, it started after it had rained a bit. Therefore, our gardener and activity team thought that it would be easier to use bamboo instead of shovels to dig a hole and plant the trees – in fact, this is the traditional way in which we plant saplings in humid earth at our plantation. We did not realize that this was inconvenient for you and would, obviously, have supplied you with shovels had you pointed this out on site. There clearly was a communication problem, for which we apologise. Following your feedback, our activity team will in the future always discuss these matters with guests. We have also put in place a system to double check that no mistakes are made in spelling guests’ names – we sincerely apologise for the mistake.

On the menu, we served brownies twice to meet your request. As you are aware, we also have Misty MiMPi and Crepe Normandy on top of it. On the main course, we entirely take your point and we have discussed intensively with our Chef to ensure that a larger variety of main courses is offered for long staying guest like yourself.

On the massage, after having waited for some time, our spa therapist decided to give the bathroom an extra wash to make sure it is clean at all time. Obviously, she should not have done this and we have asked her to double check the situation with the front desk in future cases of late arrivals of guests. I have also discussed with the Spa team regarding “the lack of modesty” issue to avoid such incident from repeating itself in the near future.

We take the point that the “culture and nature” package is not much cheaper than a combination of accommodation and individual activities. However, it does entail a price reduction of the activities taken of some 20% and the package features a number of activities that are not on offer separately (such as the tree planting) while it can be tailored entirely to guests’ wishes. Given the number and variety of activities, it is also an excellent option for guests who chose to stay a number of days since the timing of the activities is very flexible – we have many guests who like to combine a couple of days lazing at the plantation with some more active days.

Finally, on the personal note, I must admit that, whilst we had some pleasant chats during your stay here, you never raised the points you complain about in the review, thereby making it difficult for us to address them in a timely manner.

Best regards,
Gede Suparwata
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A beautiful place to relax & get away from the hustle & bustle of Kuta & Seminyak. Hotel is set high up the mountains so temperatures are much cooler, (15 degress C in February). The hotel is built on a coffee plantation and contains breathtaking views overlooking hills, rice paddies and north and west coastline. The best views I've experienced in Bali so far. The mist and the sunset were magical. The villa rooms were large, light filled & private, surrounded by gardens. Food was excellent. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LotusGirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gede S, Executive Assistant Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear LotusGirl33,

On behalf of the whole team,I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for writing a positive review.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed staying at MMP.
In addition,we are delighted to learn that you had an unforgettable experience.

Hopefully we will be able to host you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Gede Suparwata
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We spent 3 nights here and can thoroughly recommend it. It's a lovely break from the humidity of Bali and the views down to the coast were heavenly. The walks around the plantation, the bike riding and the Balinese dancing were brilliant. The staff were very attentive and a credit to the management and great traditional Balinese food. We had a garden room which was lovely but because it was in the garden it was very musty and damp. It would be good if there was some ventilation apart from the door to air the room a bit, even if the sky light opened in the bathroom, with a mosquito net over it, that would make a difference. However this was only a minor point and didn't spoil our stay. The pool was very very cold but jacuzzi was lovely.

Room Tip: Avoid the garden rooms and treat yourself to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathMacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gede S, Executive Assistant Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear KathMacca,

I,on behalf of the whole team,would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying at our resort for 3 nights recently..

I am glad to know that you like walking on our coffee plantation,cycling and watching Balinese dancing.In addition,I am delighted that you found the traditional Balinese food was great and our staff were attentive.More over,thank you for the credit to the management.

On the other hand,we sincerely regret to learn that the garden room was musty and damp.Thank you for pointing this out.We will install the ventilation in the sky light this week.

We do hope to have an opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future.This way,you will witness the fruit of your brilliant suggestion.

Best regards,
Gede Suparwata
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Just returned from a trip to Bali - of which 6 nights were spent at MMP. WOW!!! we still cannot believe how fortunate we were to be treated to the special hospitality of the MMP staff. Special mention of Gede who looked after our family for our stay.
The plantation's grounds are a spectacular setting to spend our time. Wonderful vistas of mountains and down to the Bali Sea. Wandering the garden pathways, magnificent pools and hot jacuzzi, activities with the locals such as engaging with dance students and local musicians. We found we were spellbound by the beauty of this place. The food surprised and delighted us each day....
The weather was perfect, allowing us to experience the subtle warmth (after Legian), clouds rolling in in the early afternoon and then just as quickly clearing for stargazing at night. The fire lit at night is just one of the little touches that makes this place unique.
We are pinching ourselves that we really had stayed there. It was our very own Mimpi.
Would definitely like to return ( and stay longer).
Thank you Gede and all of the staff for providing a very personal holiday experience in your beautiful resort.

Room Tip: We stayed at two bedroom villa with pool with three children. The villa rooms are separate to the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanninefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gede S, Executive Assistant Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Jeanninefamily,

Thank you for your kind words. I am delighted to know that you and your family enjoyed staying at our resort recently and arrived home safely.

I am glad to learn that your contact with Gede is memorable one. I already shared your comment and thank him personally for his hard work. He is an absolute asset to the team.

As a small scale boutique resort, we have been doing our best to award all of our guests with personalized service since the very beginning. It is very rewarding for us that it is actually appreciated.

I and all of the team member are looking forward to welcoming you and your family back to our resort in the near future.

Best regards,
Gede Suparwata
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We spent three nights in the pool villa (free upgrade- the coffee villa was not finished yet but we certainly did not mind). Gede, the staff member assigned to take care of us exclusively when we were there, was friendly, helpful and efficient. The pool villa was lovely- the food was good, the views incredible and the setting so beautiful we didn't even mind the rain that settled in every afternoon. We highly suggest taking some of the walks described in the activities book- really a highlight for us. Would definitely recommend to others, will come back if ever in Bali again and have wonderful memories. Thanks to Munduk Moding, Gede and the manager who asked for honest and constructive feedback. What a great attitude and sense of obvious pride in a job well done!

Room Tip: Pool villa! Worth the extra money and then you also get Gede!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gede S, Executive Assistant Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Erica T,

I,on behalf of the whole team,would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us and taking time to write positive review on Trip Advisor.

It is a great honour for us to have an opportunity to host you and your family.I am pleased to learn that you don't mind with the upgrade and the rain in the afternoon.In addition,I am glad to know that you have been well taken care by Mr Gede.I pass your kind words to him personally. More over,I am happy that you found that the pool villa is lovely,the food was good and the views is incredible.

Hopefully we will have another opportunity to host you and your family in the near future.

Best regards,
Gede Suparwata
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gobleg
4.4 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 23 in Lovina Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
23.3 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
21.8 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#11 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
22.8 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sanak Retreat Bali
Sanak Retreat Bali
#1 of 1 in Kayuputih
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munduk Moding Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munduk Moding Plantation

Property: Munduk Moding Plantation
Address: Jl. Asah Gobleg Banjar Dinas Asah | Banjar Buleleng Singaraja, Gobleg 81152, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Gobleg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Gobleg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Munduk Moding Plantation 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Munduk Moding Plantation Nature resort & Spa (MMP) is the only boutique hotel in Bali located on a working coffee plantation producing its own specialty coffees.MMP has some of the best views on the Island as well as an award winning infinity pool. Spread out over 5 hectares and nestling in luxuriant gardens full of tropical flowers and plants, our villas offer unparalleled privacy. Guests can enjoy a beautiful Jacuzzi, a unique Bamboo Spa and Hall, a gym, a tennis and badminton court, horse riding, a sky lounge with a comprehensive library and games room while the MiMPi restaurant serves food made with fresh ingredients from our vegetable and spice gardens. Free Internet, an extensive activity program as well as a shuttle service to nearby places of interest are available on a complementary basis for in house guests. Strategically located near Bali's central lakes and Munduk hill station, this European-Indonesian partnership works to preserve the natural environment in unison with the local community, which it supports through its Munduk foundation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Munduk Moding Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munduk Moding Plantation Hotel Gobleg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing