We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried it twice since I've been in the area and there WILL not be a third”
Review of Grotto Pizza

Grotto Pizza
Ranked #11 of 42 Restaurants in Seaford
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery
Bridgeville, DE
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tried it twice since I've been in the area and there WILL not be a third”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

When I moved to this area 12 years ago all I heard about was how "great" Grottos was so when I was on the boardwalk in Rehoboth I took my last money and purchased a slice of pizza.

I am from New Jersey/Philadelphia area so my expectations were high; never in my wildest dreams was the I expecting such sloppy soupy mess on a very thin bottom they called a crust.

There particular style of pizza is to immulate the "Chicago" style pie in which sauce is placed on the crust and then slices of cheese, not shredded but slices of some type of cheese on top and baked until the cheese is melted. Only in Chicago they make a thicker crust which will withstand all of the pizza sauce (they got it right) but Grotto Pizza doesn't.

I know that they are known for their sports bar like restaurant style and serve other types of foods on their menu...I cannot comment on the quality. They have later evening hours and so I stopped by recently to get my pizza fix on, what a waste of gas and money...never again.

I only reflect on the fact that their reputation and name represent their "famous" pizza in which I am not a fan. I would rather eat an at home thomas english muffin pizza first!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank queen042002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    18
    16
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland, US
Level Contributor
139 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Pizza? Right”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I still cannot appreciate their style of pizza, it just sucks especially with all the pizza restaurant options (not that the Eastern Shore has caught on how to make real good pies)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JaysaTravelinMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven
Level Contributor
203 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed in the pizza”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Not quite the same pizza that I remembered from years ago at Rehoboth..... had a submarine sandwich, though and it was very good.... nice place to meet up with friends

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sdjones33881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurlock, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service!”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Every time I've eaten here I am quickly seated and waited on by friendly waitresses. Their pizza is excellent and their prices are reasonable.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kneesinthebreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, Delaware
Level Contributor
131 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Consistent pizzera”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

The Grotto chain is well run with good staff and good food. There doesn't seem to be much variety but what they have is always consistent across their many inland locations in DE and the beaches

Helpful?
Thank roy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grotto Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Grotto Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing